Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (83)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SO BEGINS THE SHIPPERS!!! :)
Ahhh so now here is where JAG really got its start!!! The chemistry b/w David James Elliott and Catherine Bell was the BEST!! When CB came on the show, she was so awesome as Mac-- first off what a cool TV character name; she was tough, strong, smart, beautiful, kick-a@# marine who gave her "flyboy" (a nickname she had for Harm)a huge run for his money. But the partnership...
Published on July 31, 2006 by Kristen Maloney

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars JAG Season 2
Although the extras are minimal and the episode commentaries are not especially informative, the episodes themselves are a must have for all Harm and Mac fans. This is Catherine Bell's first season with the JAG corps and the beginning of the nine year relationship between her character, Sarah MacKenzie, and David James Elliott's Harmon Rabb, Jr. This season was JAG at...
Published on January 11, 2007 by judy


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SO BEGINS THE SHIPPERS!!! :), July 31, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JAG (Judge Advocate General) - The Complete Second Season (DVD)
Ahhh so now here is where JAG really got its start!!! The chemistry b/w David James Elliott and Catherine Bell was the BEST!! When CB came on the show, she was so awesome as Mac-- first off what a cool TV character name; she was tough, strong, smart, beautiful, kick-a@# marine who gave her "flyboy" (a nickname she had for Harm)a huge run for his money. But the partnership is what was so special to watch... You NEED to buy this DVD--VERY WORTH IT!! :) It is the beginning of what people became known as "shippers" being for Harm and Mac being together. Also the rest of the cast ROCKED-- Bud was hysterical and Admiral was very entertaining to watch! Semper Fi JAG SEASON 2!!! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as I had hoped!!!!, August 7, 2006
By 
This review is from: JAG (Judge Advocate General) - The Complete Second Season (DVD)
YES! I am glad that they also publish the 2nd season so shortly after the first one, for the secnd season is where the series actually starts for me with the introduction of Sarah 'Mac' Mackenzie as Harm's third and final partner.

The only thing I am hoping for now is, that they will also publish the DVDs over here in Germany very soon. If the 1st season isn't at least announced here by November, I think I will go for the American DVD boxes.

I can recommend this series for all fans of action and military series (or movies).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank heaven they didn't make us wait 10 more years for Season 2!!, August 17, 2006
By 
Wolfepaw (New Orleans, LA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: JAG (Judge Advocate General) - The Complete Second Season (DVD)
I can't really review this DVD per se since it isn't released yet, but I just want to thank the powers-that-be for putting Season 2 out so soon after Season 1 was released. I am a huge JAG fan who still misses the show. I really enjoyed the Harm and Mac relationship, but since I didn't start watching JAG until about half-way through Season 2, I am really looking forward to getting Season 2 to catch up on the earlier episodes. I have Season 1 and I'm enjoying it immensely, but I won't be happy until they announce the release of the rest of the seasons. And I'll buy them all,too!

TV was rarely ever better. So, to the people who do the work of getting JAG onto DVD, I have one thing to say: BRING 'EM ON - AND DON'T DILLY-DALLY!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Significant improvement over Season 1, August 25, 2006
This review is from: JAG (Judge Advocate General) - The Complete Second Season (DVD)
I'll begin by echoing the comments of what a relief it is that Season 2 arrives so soon after Season 1. Season 2 showed great improvement over the first one due to a combination of better actors who play more extensive roles, a change in focus for the show, and seemingly greater logistical resources for Bellisario that translated into better television.

The Season of course continues its focus of Harmon Rabb (David James Elliot) but introduces Sarah McKenzie, played by the talented and beautiful Catherine Bell who, as some have alluded to, adds a romantic and sexual element to the show. But past that, Bell's character simply trumps that of Lt JG Austin (Tracy Needham) with personality and character. The fact that she's a Marine undoubtedly augments her role.

One could argue however that the show's change in focus was the saving grace. Season 1 was action outside the courtroom. Season 2 places the camera more inside the courtroom, depicting military law and illustrating just what it is JAG's have to do. This was a brilliant move. For one, it adds a level of realism to the show, as the audience no longer is left coming to terms with how a lawyer would end up so often in the trenches. And second, the focus to courtroom drama contributes to the development of Harm's character and others. It's like discovering a new favorite flavor.

There are other contributing elements--such as Bellisario being able to shoot scenes that aren't taken so much from Hollywood scenes--that make Season 2 and the following seasons great, but JAG's improvement can mostly be traced to the above reasons. The best part is Season 2 is only a taste of things to come; JAG's greatness has been embodied in the model Season 2 established and the following seasons carried on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great improvement over Series 1, May 12, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JAG (Judge Advocate General) - The Complete Second Season (DVD)
Catherine Bell, as Mac, with her multi-facetted character, brings the spice to this second series that the first series was missing. The relationship between Mac and Harm, played by David James Elliot, is of equals and so much more interesting than when his partner was played by Tracy Needham, who was more like his kid sister. In this series you can see the groundwork for the future series which became so great. With the introduction of the Bud, Harriet and Admiral Chegwidden characters, all of whom are just right, it is like having all the right ingredients in a recipe. The introduction of the court room scenes as well as more time spent at the Jag offices, serves as a balance to the tension in the adventure scenes and really allows us to get to know the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars JAG Season 2, January 11, 2007
By 
judy (Los Angeles) - See all my reviews
This review is from: JAG (Judge Advocate General) - The Complete Second Season (DVD)
Although the extras are minimal and the episode commentaries are not especially informative, the episodes themselves are a must have for all Harm and Mac fans. This is Catherine Bell's first season with the JAG corps and the beginning of the nine year relationship between her character, Sarah MacKenzie, and David James Elliott's Harmon Rabb, Jr. This season was JAG at its best, light hearted and fun, while at the same time exploring some serious issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good drama with some romance thrown in., August 4, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JAG (Judge Advocate General) - The Complete Second Season (DVD)
Recently purchased Jag the First Season, as did not know of this series at the time, but after that we never missed a show while it was airing on TV. I recommend this series for anyone who appreciates a good clean drama with a little romance thrown in here and there. I fully intend to buy each one as they come available. Enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Getting better and better..., November 27, 2006
By 
This review is from: JAG (Judge Advocate General) - The Complete Second Season (DVD)
I too missed the explanation to this cliffhanger, what happened to Harm after his arrest and it took a little time to get used to Catherine Bell, but she is really good. I also see the point now, Lt. Austin was very nice and beautiful but perhaps too smooth, so to speak. No tension.

Can't wait for the 3rd and 4th Season!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is an EXCELLENT show; from seasons 1-10... will change your perspective, March 2, 2009
This review is from: JAG (Judge Advocate General) - The Complete Second Season (DVD)
This is an EXCELLENT show; from seasons 1-10...

The following is my comment to a 2 star review for the 4th season; which I find an odd way to judge the series anyhow. Either you like it and watch all seasons possible, or you watch a couple of shows and you're done. This person doesn't seem worthy of writing the review if he started in the middle and watched a few episodes. I couldn't help but notice his HOBBY of writing so many reviews of everything.

I have to give HIGH HONOURS for this show; if only for others like myself who grew up constantly hearing of wars, had many relatives involved in many wars and services, and just took it as a part of life. This show, although glamorized, will change your perspective of what National Defense and patriotism mean...
............
I think you missed the whole POINT of the series; and couldn't possibly have watched the whole season, yet alone the full 10 years it ran, and come to the conclusion that you did. If so, you saw only what you wanted; "Politically Correct storylines with purty people flirting or otherwise fooling around. Good entertainment after a fashion, but not my cup of tea."

If this were true, I don't think the Navy and the Marines would have exposed themselves as much as they did. What JAG, the TV show did was show you, using actual scenarios from many different cases, much of the true heroism these men and women did and faced. Much was taken out of true files, as taught in one of the documentaries of Bellisario. As the show earned the respect from the "real life" Marines and Navy, they were invited to learn more about the actual protocols, happenings, receive real film footage, etc. This all began in Season 2 and continued through the complete series. I think the show has been a dedication to ALL those serving.

More important than the inner office workings (which seem to be what you noticed; this is a GOOD storyline if you follow it), is seeing how all the battle equipment looks & works, the ranks and roles of the people, protocols, etc. I have learned SO MUCH. This is real military footage; (and my husband backs up at least the Navy protocols/ rules, etc). There were also official Navy and Marine representatives on stage/scene/filming, making sure everything is as realistic as possible for the audience to follow.

Yes, it all seems to happen to this one, small, head of JAG unit, of dashing young men and women; but this IS a TV series and needs to keep the social dilemmas, histories, etc, "where they all came from to where they strive to get themselves to"; that is necessary to discuss the real social problems that remain the undercurrents of these special "grin and bear it" personalities. As many of the court cases show, it is an opportunity to take something to the public that needs to be rethought. A large variety of actual "truths" come forward in an investigation, that may not have been foreseen initially. There is a lot of "gray area" in the court room which leaves the viewer with something to think about for a few days; not just in the JAG court room, but also how it applies into their own lives.

Many of us have our own jobs that risk lives and careers within split seconds, and work hard to get to that highest of perfection; where we know that those who are counting on us have a very good chance of finding 'our best moment' in there. There are many people and occupations that reach that high, but this show is the ONLY SHOW I know of that gives you an inner look, as realistic as it can be, to those people who choose these careers, with so much at stake. I have learned such GREAT RESPECT for ALL THOSE involved in our military. I think we heard so much about it while growing up, that we never understood the true dedication, heartaches and misfortunes.

This IS a much better series than you rated it.
Perhaps you should have stopped watching it once it wasn't for you...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JAG SECOND SEASON, May 6, 2007
This review is from: JAG (Judge Advocate General) - The Complete Second Season (DVD)
this is a awesome coolection for any JAG lover to own awesome eye candy and all lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

JAG (Judge Advocate General) - The Complete Second Season
$22.99 $15.45
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.