Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Eli Paperboy Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 5, 2009
I've been using the LC2 for about a week and a half now, primarily for multichannel music listening, but also for a lot of movie watching too. It is a dynamic and very full range center channel compared to many on the mass market. I chose it specifically to mate with my L880s as FR and FL because they drivers are matched well (though the porting and cabinet volume contribute to significantly lower range on the L880s than the LC2). My Onkyo TX-SR606 crosses the LC2 over at 60 Hz (with its rated bottom end being 50 Hz, this is a reasonable roll-off crossover).

It seems ridiculous to have to say this, but it is not up to the task of being a full range tower speaker (thankfully *not many* expect it to be since it was clearly designed as a center channel for on-wall mounting), but if you're looking for a dynamic center channel, you'd be hard pressed to beat this one's capability for the price. It images well, as do all the L series speakers from JBL, and it has a distinct advantage over the LC1. Technically the LC1 is a two way MTM (midrange-tweeter-midrange) design, which is prone to lobing (overemphasizing some waves due to bolstering from both sides) and muddying the sound with the HF response in between the two mids. The LC2 is designed as a true vertical array through its midrange 4" transducer, with the bass transducers on the sides (which eliminates lobing issues). This is ideal center channel design.

Pros:
-Good musicality
-Very natural sounding dialogue (M and F)
-Excellent imaging
-Great dynamic range for movies and music (when properly amplified >=75 W RMS by test, not manufacturer spec)
-Handsome looks in cherry
-VERY well paired with L880s for soundstage transparency
-Vertical array design better for sound (see above)

Cons:
-Size may be an issue for some (not for me, but this sucker is big compared to your other mass market options; I'll post a photo for size reference)
-Biwiring capability more gimmick than real benefit
-Needs good solid power to sound its best (not really a con, but its honestly hard to come up with three)

In short, this is an excellent center channel for movie watching or music as long as paired with relatively good voice and timbre matches for front soundstage. These are your three most important speakers so don't skimp! Strong advantage in design over LC1 and other MTM designs.

If you're looking for a good looking, dynamic, and powerful center channel, look no further. Buy and enjoy! :)
review image
1111 comments|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2012
Installed this for my center channel, was hoping to improve ability to hear soft voices and it performs amazingly. Due to the incredible performance, I've ordered the L830's for Christmas, had no intention of replacing the side speakers before I heard this unit.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2015
The JBL LC2 is a fantastic speaker. The sound, particularly movie dialogue, is vastly improved compared to other speakers.

Some things to know about this item. It's uncharacteristically heavy for such a thin speaker; 29 pounds. Was able to hang it on a fireplace wall just fine, but be sure to use some expanding wall anchors. Not a great idea to have this wall-mounted in some place it might be bumped. Feels very well built, better than many more expensive speakers. The JBL LC2 is bi-amp-able if you happen to have a receiver that supports this for the center.

Paired this center with JBL L820 front speakers even though there was room for larger units. Wanted better family approval factor, to stick with matching drivers and the clarity offered by having a 4-way driver setup in the mains. This front setup is well matched and sounds exceptionally clear. There's a lot more detail in the small sounds coming from the front of the listening area.

The previous setup in the same space were enormous 1990s Klipsch KLF-20 3-way fronts with a matched KLF-C7. Klipsch horn drivers are intensely efficient and able to achieve amazing volume levels, especially when bi-amped. They were terrible with dialogue at family-acceptable evening listening levels.

This JBL setup (LC2 and L820) takes up vastly less physical space than my previous loudspeakers and sounds great at lower volume.

Receiver is Onkyo TX-SR876 - delivering 140-watts per channel. Decided not to bi-amp the fronts this time around and this seems to be working well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2007
The JBL LC2 is a great center channel. I have an Onkyo 7.1 receiver and have a BOSE 6.1 system. I was looking to add a center channel to my home theater and started looking for one. I checked out Boston Acoustics Horizon series, micro series and Bose VSC. The JBL LC2 beats them hands down, the sound is crisp. It is 29lb, but dont be fooled, it looks pretty slick and is only 5" thick. Love this center channel and am enjoying listening to the exceptional clarity.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2015
Awesome speaker, a little expensive, but for a speaker than can be wall mounted, I don't think there could be many better. Could make a system with one of these speakers for each channel and it would sound amazing, paired with even the cheapest of subwoofers and it would hit the entryway to audio nirvana. That being said, if you have the room to properly bring the speakers out from wall you can get by with some cheaper jbls that will sound as good. Probably not a finer sounding wall mount though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2014
My system has two JBL-L8400P subwoofers, a JBL LC2 center channel, JBL L820 left and right speakers, older JBL wall mounted bookshelf speakers for side surrounds, and Klipsch in-ceiling speakers for back surrounds. I'm powering things with a Denon AVR-X4000 receiver

I know there are plenty of audiophiles out there that look down on mass produced speakers that sell for reasonable amounts, but, as a former professional soundman, I think my setup sounds great. The tonal match is very complimentary; you just hear the sound move around the room without directional awareness of the speakers.

There are better speakers out there, but for me, given the appearance, dimensions, program material I listen to (mostly movies on Blu-ray), these are perfect. They were easy to mount, the finish is great, and I’m very happy. Highly recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2013
The first one I got stopped working after a couple days while watching a movie. I was in the middle of watching a move and the two speakers for high frequencies stopped working. After testing all other components and different content I determined it was the center channel itself.

There wasn't a lot of mention of this online so I figured it was a freak incident. Luckily it happened within the return period an Amazon swiftly replaced the unit.

Since then, paired with the L890 speakers I have it has been amazing. Great balance and full featured sound.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2012
I considered the LC1 and auditioned several other brands before ordering this speaker. I am completely satisfied with this purchase in every way. Although it may be bulky for some home theater arrangements the LC2 looks, sounds, and performs best when mounted on the wall just beneath a flat TV. Mounting was made very simple with the included brackets and a couple of 50lb drywall anchors. The box is completely audio shielded so it will not interfere with other nearby electronics. The four way sound is perfect for voices even when the audio is being mixed from an inferior source, and the dual 6" woofers provide ample bass for impact. Pair this center channel with any of the other L series JBL speakers and it is impossible to be disappointed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2014
I also tried the 3 way center (the LC1) and sent it back to keep this one even though its size created mounting challenges. You can easily tell the difference. This one just sounds better and makes it easier to hear the dialogue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2015
Great center channel. Opens up dialogue and makes it easier to hear and understand. I also have the LC1 in another room. That is an excellent center channel. The LC2 however, with it's slightly larger speakers and extra midrange really made the difference.

I have a very expensive older Legacy large center channel in a custom built cherry cabinet with Kevlar 8" speakers, midrange and tweeters.
The JBL LC2 sounds every bit as good and or slightly better for a quarter of the price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 10 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.