Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing clarity and value
Excellent clarity, detail, and off-axis performance. I'm using this center channel with the Studio 530s. The performance of these three speakers is an amazing value. I use this speaker for home theater exclusively. Dialogue is precise, and seems to have all of the intended character and inflections. The soundstage is convincing, and location of the voice on screen is...
Published 23 months ago by Adam S.

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be a lot worse.
After reading all of the glowing reviews, I was a little disappointed. Detailed but thin. I think if they had opted to use larger drivers vocals would have sounded much more natural. I wish there was a larger model to purchase like the other speakers in the lineup.
Published 12 months ago by abbazaba


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing clarity and value, March 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JBL Studio 520CBK 2-Way Dual 4-Inch Center Channel Speaker (Electronics)
Excellent clarity, detail, and off-axis performance. I'm using this center channel with the Studio 530s. The performance of these three speakers is an amazing value. I use this speaker for home theater exclusively. Dialogue is precise, and seems to have all of the intended character and inflections. The soundstage is convincing, and location of the voice on screen is portrayed with pinpoint accuracy. Whispers are heard effortlessly.

The compression driver is never harsh or fatiguing. The distortion which plagues the typical MTM configuration in a horizontal position is not noticeable in the 520C. A conventional driver center channel with the performance of the Studio 520 would likely be at least twice the investment.

I removed the grills and replaced them with the supplied covers. Efficiency is very good when bi-wired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful little dialogue box, March 25, 2014
This review is from: JBL Studio 520CBK 2-Way Dual 4-Inch Center Channel Speaker (Electronics)
Similar to the 530's that I purchased a year ago, the 520 sounded thin and flat at first. The tweeter tends to sound dry and grainy and woofers seem to be disconnected. Within 2 weeks however, this little guy comes alive with force. Vivid dynamic contrast and fantastic resolution. The tweeter is richly detailed and smoothly starts to roll off around ~12Khz or so. You do need to be careful about the volume once they're broken in however. With such low distortion and high power handling (courtesy of the over sized voice-coils and vented drivers), it's extremely tempting to crank them up and upset the neighborhood. You will hear police sirens before you hear any strain from these guys.

The box itself is has a nice weight to it and it's flat on both top and bottom. I love the fact the rear port actually angles into the cabinet. It's a thoughtful touch considering center channels typically aren't always allowed the best placement options. This means it's actually firing out at an angle of about 45 degrees rather that straight back. Very cool.

The 2014 models are now part of JBL's Synthesis line, so the Studio 5 series will no longer be available online after the 2013 stock has run out. If you've been sitting on the fence then I recommend jumping on them now. They really are the new reference for neutral sound at the moment. If you appreciate the importance of dynamic (micro, macro and contrast), yet crave something with state of the art refinement then give these guys a listen.

*Purchased from local JBL Synthesis dealer and not from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Try matching this amazing center channel withe Studio 590...WOW!, January 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JBL Studio 520CBK 2-Way Dual 4-Inch Center Channel Speaker (Electronics)
Without a doubt, the JBL Studio 590 is the finest speaker I have ever heard in my own home... or anyone's home for that matter. The horns reproduction of sound is so accurate and lifelike that I am amazed every time I fire them up. I purchased the JBL 520CBK center channel a week later- not only does my vinyl and CD's live and breath but my surround is incredible also!!
If you are in the market for a pair of floor standing speakers- look no further!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sounds great, August 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JBL Studio 520CBK 2-Way Dual 4-Inch Center Channel Speaker (Electronics)
Nice center channel and goes well with the bookshelf or tower jbls. I had it with the bookshelf speakers the 530s I think it was called. Movie dialog sounded clear and dynamic. I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great power and clarity in a small footprint., November 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JBL Studio 520CBK 2-Way Dual 4-Inch Center Channel Speaker (Electronics)
Great match to my pair of Studio 590s. Great dialog and vocal clarity. The footprint is smaller when compared to the JBL Northridge speaker this replaced so I can see my plasma display at wider angles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No brainer 5 star, December 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JBL Studio 520CBK 2-Way Dual 4-Inch Center Channel Speaker (Electronics)
For looks and super clarity.This is a superb center at a affordable price.I got this along with Studio 590.5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent soundstage and dynamics voices, January 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JBL Studio 520CBK 2-Way Dual 4-Inch Center Channel Speaker (Electronics)
this speaker use the compresion driver, what ? one complete speaker that use compresion driver for less 500 is a deal.
take it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, December 10, 2014
By 
Art in VT (Southern VT, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JBL Studio 520CBK 2-Way Dual 4-Inch Center Channel Speaker (Electronics)
Good size, looks great, sounds terriffic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be a lot worse., February 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JBL Studio 520CBK 2-Way Dual 4-Inch Center Channel Speaker (Electronics)
After reading all of the glowing reviews, I was a little disappointed. Detailed but thin. I think if they had opted to use larger drivers vocals would have sounded much more natural. I wish there was a larger model to purchase like the other speakers in the lineup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.