Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: JESUS THE CHRIST [Illustrated]
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 28, 2003
It took me two years to slowly get through this text because I wanted to cross reference everything and look up every word that I was not familiar with. The guy who wrote this is a pure genius and I really enjoyed this. It put me right in the moment down to the very detail of everything that was happening, and it did it with great dignity and accuracy.
0Comment|63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2002
The first 70 or 80 pages or so are somewhat difficult to get through, but the rest of the book is absolutely incredible. A must read for anyone wants to understand better the life of Christ.
0Comment|52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2011
Love the book! The problem is in the Kindle adaptation. Yes, it has a linked table of contents, but the links only list the chapter number, not the name or anything else about the chapter, so it is almost useless. There are better Kindle versions of this book, the one I've found to be best is actually free too.
33 comments|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2010
Anoyed by previous reviewer's ignorance of Mormon doctrine. They are not a cult and absolutely believe Christ to be the Son of God. The principles and attitudes expressed in this book are very much a part or the Mormom truths embraced by members today. This an amazing book when read will help one to form a better relationship with the Savior. It is well worth the time and effort.
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2009
Note that there are reviews here for two different books by the same title. They are the Talmadge (LDS) and Kasper (Roman Catholic) books. Just be sure you know which one you're looking at and you'll be fine.
0Comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2010
As a dedicated scholar of religions, this is arguably one the best books ever written on not only Mormon Christianity, but within the entire genre of Christianity as a whole. It would be nearly impossible for a non-member seeking to truly understand the tenants of the LDS faith without first reading this book. Talmage's book should be considered required reading for all Mormon scholars, both within and without the faith.

The LDS faithful will surely find inspiration in its pages that rivals only that of their scripture. Non-LDS who seek a better understanding of Mormon Christianity will surely appreciate Talmage's clear, concise, well-documented, yet comprehensive discussions on the viewpoints of the Jesus from the perspective of an often misunderstood, well-documented, and entirely Christian faith.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2001
Commissioned by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints to be an authoritative book on the Latter-day Saints view of Jesus Christ, "Jesus the Christ" is one of the classics in theology among the Saints. If you have any question about Christology among the Mormons, this book will answered any and every question.
Joseph F. Smith, the President of the Church, commissioned James E. Talmage, a member of the Quorum of Twelve Apostles, to write this biography on the life of Christ. The idea was to use this book as a home reference and a Church textbook. He more than met the challenge, and this book is still in print almost 100 years later, and is standard work for LDS Missionaries.
This book covers every aspect of Christ as best can be expected in one volume. It begins with Christ premortal existence, his mortal ministry in Palestine, his atonement, and finally his post mortal ministry in the Spirit Word (I believe . . . he was crucified, dead, and buried; he descended into hell) and among the Nephites as recorded in the Book of Mormon: Another Testament of Jesus Christ.
The only two drawbacks with this book are it size, and the verbiage. Elder Talmage was an Englishman, so he spoke with an Englishman's vocabulary. A dictionary solves this problem.
33 comments|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
James Edward Talmage (1862-1933) was a member of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (Mormons) from 1911 until his death in 1933. This book was originally written in 1915.

He writes in the Preface, "It will be readily seen that the author has departed from the course usually followed by writers on the Life of Jesus Christ, which course, as a rule, begins with the birth of Mary's Babe and ends with the ascension of the slain and risen Lord from Olivet. The treatment embodied in these pages, in addition to the narrative of the Lord's Life in the flesh, comprises the antemortal existence and activities of the world's Redeemer, the revelations and personal manifestations of the glorified and exalted Son of God during the apostolic period of old and in modern times, the assured nearness of the Lord's second advent, and predicted events beyond---all so far as the Holy Scriptures make plain."

Here are some quotations from the book (page numbers are from the 746-page 1983 Deseret Books paperback edition):

"'Mormonism' accepts the doctrine of the fall... but it affirms that none but Adam is or shall be answerable for Adam's disobedience..." (Pg. 29)
"That Child to be born of Mary was begotten of Elohim, the Eternal Father, not in violation of natural law but in accordance with a higher manifestation thereof." (Pg. 77)
"(W)e believe Christ to have been born in the year known to us as B.C. 1..." (Pg. 97)
"Among these extra-Biblical scriptures, the following may be named: ... a missing epistle of Paul to the Corinthians (1 Cor 5:9); a missing epistle to the Ephesians (Eph 3:3); a missing epistle to the Colossians, written from Laodicea (Col 4:16); a missing epistle of Jude (Jude 3)." (Pg. 113)
"It is possible that this woe (in Matt 23) was directed more against the effort to secure proselytes to Pharisaism than that of converting aliens to Judaism; but as the latter was thoroughly degraded and the former disgustingly corrupt, the application of our Lord's denunciation to either or both is warranted." (Pg. 515-516)
"Missionary labor among the dead was inaugurated by the Christ..." (Pg. 627)
"For many decades the Nephites retreated before their aggressive foes, making their way north-eastward through what is now the United States. About 400 A.D. the last great battle was fought near the hill Cumorah, and the Nephite nation became extinct. The degenerate remnant of Lehi's posterity, the Lamanites of American Indians, have continued until this day." (Pg. 689)
"The temple at Kirtland stands today, a substantial and stately building; but it is no longer in possession of the people who reared it by unmeasured sacrifice of time, substance, and effort..." (Pg. 718)
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2011
This edition (Jesus the Christ, Collector's Edition) is beautifully printed and bound. The cover and each chapter have prints of paintings of Jesus Christ. A large black ribbon bookmarker is attached to the spine. The book is large, preferable over smaller "pocket size" editions.

The scope of the book is to review all scripture given in relation to Jesus Christ, and is highly recommended for anyone who would undertake a serious study of Christ. From the book: "The treatment embodied in these pages, in addition to the narrative of the Lord's Life in the flesh, comprises the antemortal existence and activities of the world's Redeemer, the revelations and personal manifestations of the glorified and exalted Son of God during the apostolic period of old and in modern times, the assured nearness of the Lord's second advent, and predicted events beyond." The author reviews each phase of the existence of Christ by calling on the four standard works of scripture in the Mormon canon: the Bible, the Book of Mormon, the Doctrine and Covenants, and the Pearl of Great Price. This passage is an example of the language used throughout the book -- thorough, verbose, with a deep vocabulary.

This book has helped me better understand passages of scripture in the New Testament and other scriptures. It has caused me to reflect on who Jesus Christ is. I hope that you will find this book as beneficial to your study as I have.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon May 26, 2016
I finally finished this book! I took it slow so that I could enjoy learning more about the Savior from this book, and it was a blessing to me, because even though I've read the New Testament many times, I learned so much from reading Talmage's book. I enjoyed it so much, and all the consummate research he did, that I actually went and got some of the sources he got much of his material from and put them on my Kindle. This book is a must read for anyone who wants to understand more about not just Jesus' life but his pre-mortal existence and his importance in our own lives. Most of the scholarship which Talmage used was actually from non-Mormon sources (the ones I got to read were both Christian and Judaic). So this book is for anyone who has an interest in learning more about the Savior.

This is not a book you want to read quickly, or you will miss so many important concepts. I read all of the notes at the back of each chapter as well, and often there were little snippets of information in the notes that I did not know. I will have to read this book again, to extract as much information as possible, but it definitely made me more knowledgeable of Jesus the Christ.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.