Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: JFK --> LAX
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 13, 2012
I can't talk about this show enough. It's just genius. The dialog pacing is flawless and the humor timing is spot on.
Seriously, David Duchovny is Perfection! David Duchovny's delivery has the timing of a master comic actor and his portrayal of Hank is winning.

This show has it all. It has made me laugh, cringe, smile, cry, and yes, best of all, kept me thinking about each episode long after the credits have rolled.
This is a David Duchovny showcase and he is iconic but Natacha (Karen), Madeleine Martin (Becca), Pamela Adlon (Marcy) and Evan Handler (Charlie Runkle) are AWESOME too. And I'm in love with Stu too.:) Season Five is my favorite because this show is getting better and better each season. I loved RZA (Samurai Apocalypse) and Megan Good. I've never laughed so hard.

The soundtrack is epic.

Lots of gratuitous sex and drugs and rock and roll and hilarious situations. LOL
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2012
This show is so tantalizing, funny, naughty, and damn right ridiculous. Once again the writers have given the viewers a roller coaster ride of a a season, and boy what a climax in the last episode. I can't wait for season 6.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2012
It was the worst season yet. Tired and lazily written. Seasons 1 though 4 were edgy, funny and always seemed to have a creative direction.

This was chocked full of homie slang and thuggery, boring twists and lots of yawns.

Don't get me wrong... it had the potential for greatness when Hank got seated next to such a beautiful woman on the plane. Things could have progressed in a very different and interesting direction. But they didn't.

Later that day, they conveniently meet up at the thug rapper's mansion. "Oh, you again?" What a coincidence.

Yawn.

There are so many more story lines in which Hank's character could have been introduced to such a woman other than the tired "watch out for my angry, jealous, gang banger, criminal boyfriend who hired you". As if there aren't any other interesting black guy character types.

The ending was so terrible I couldn't believe I watched it completely.

Hey... it's just a show right? A premium show that I spent hard earned money to buy. I choose what I spend that money on and if Hollywood wants to keep getting that money... I'd recommend putting a little more thought and effort into this stuff.

Huge fan... but this season was a real let down. You feel me G?

Stupid.
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2012
This series is amazing, and show time gives it a new spin each season, keeping us on our toes on how this will all come together. I think this is one of the best series out right now and I hope it lasts as long as possible. I want to see a good story from the series, and I haven't lost any interest yet. Californication live strong...
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2013
I think all fans can agree that Season 1 & 2 of Californication are by far the best. There was something more than
just sex & drunken debauchery. Like character development & intelligence lurking beneath stupid actions.
Season 3 was the nadir. The absurd school teacher plotline of Hank's affairs w/ stripper student, TA, & head of college all at the same time was idiotic. Then Rick Springfield & Kathleen Turner really made things worse. Season 4 was a bit better, & now Season 5 is about the same as 4. Except the sparkle is gone. The 2 - 3 years Hank was supposedly back in NYC are skipped over completely (& that might have added some fresh ideas). Instead, he goes right back to LA where everything is pretty much the same. This time-jump is handled in a sloppy manner, as if the producers just don't care.

How many more times do we have to see Charlie Runkle walk around bare-ass naked, or jerking-off to porn? How many times do we have to see him having sex w/ ridiculously beautiful women half his age? He would have to be a major movie director to pull that off, not just an agent w/ a nice house. Tom Kapinos has gotten into a rut like Judd Apatov with catch-phrases. The first time you hear "man-gina" it's kind of funny, but the 10th time, not so much. Rapper "Samurai" doesn't add much to the proceedings beyond a vague, stupid plot-device about Hank writing his "Santa Monica Cop" movie. Amazingly, it's actually a relief when Rob Lowe's character reappears toward end of the season. Marcy's marriage to Hollywood producer is boring, un-funny & sometimes just gross to observe...

I still watched the season because the Hank Moody character is still a funny screw-up. But you can predict everything, like the annual flashback episode to when they first moved to LA (but look exactly the same age).
I hope they end this series really soon, so we can remember the great writing, verbal jabs (& sex & debauchery) from the first two seasons. Maybe Hank could die having sex & then they give him a Viking funeral. Either that, or get Larry David to write the scripts.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2012
I almost decided against buying this season because of the critical reviews on here... then I realized I could buy an episode to stream and see what I thought. I ended up buying them all! This season is great! I just love it! The relationships between characters are some of the most real, riveting, challenging, honest, surprising, and keenly observed I've ever seen! Duchovny delivers his unparallelled and constantly revelatory performance as Hank with all the skill and timing of a master. The supporting characters are the punctuation that breathe infinite life into the story line. Bravo!
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2013
Ya gotta luv this cast and their silly shenanigans. I love the hollywoodness of this series (Lived in LA for a while, and while I wasn't part of that crowd, I rubbed shoulders enough to appreciate the quirky accuracy at some level of the personalities and events.) Don't look for politically correct, but for a very "American" view of individual freedom to be as screwed up as you want to be and glory in it. Maybe part of why I love it is how they go on loving each other despite their moment-of-weakness betrayals of each other. And that sex is acknowledged as a forceful driver, not necessarily as romance, but as an interesting leisure activity.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2016
Californication remains one of my favorite TV series of all time. While I wonder how much of it accurately portrays daily life in Hollywood I deeply appreciate the sexy creativeness of the writing and its ability to constantly surprise. The dinner party scene at the end of the season will forever be one of my favorite moments of entertainment on a screen of any size, big or little.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2015
This series is one of life's guilty pleasures! Season 5 has a lot of surprises and David Duchovny is at the top of his game as Hank.
Hank is ferociously funny, sexy and loveable despite his many flaws and indiscretions. It's always a shame when things don't go his way because deep down, Hank has a big heart and loves Karen and Becca immensely, which is quite evident in Season 5. I can't wait to see how this series ends - I hope Hank finally gets what he's wanted all along - to live with Karen & Becca as a real family unit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2016
Seriously - Californication just gets better with each season. It's a train wreck you just can't stop watching. It's funny as heck, inappropriately humorous besides that and yet it still makes you think about your own life! The music rocks too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.