Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A '60's concept revisited for a new millennium
The concept of parallel worlds is in no ways new to speculative literature. Indeed, DC Comics introduced this idea in the famous "Flash of Two Worlds" story decades ago, but then came the equally renown (infamous?) "Crisis on Infinite Earths" in the mid-eighties and DC's parallel worlds mess was cleaned up, more or less. But now it's back; this...
Published on December 26, 1999 by Stephen Richmond

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent story that seemed to be missing some pieces!
I'm not a huge Morrison fan but have liked some of his stuff. This was just middle of the road. The story seemed like it could have used another 20 pages to flesh out the story. Quitely's art was good but his faces are really ugly at times. Overall, more details of Earth 2 would have made for a better book!
Published on July 4, 2009 by S. Penrose


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A '60's concept revisited for a new millennium, December 26, 1999
This review is from: Jla: Earth 2 (Hardcover)
The concept of parallel worlds is in no ways new to speculative literature. Indeed, DC Comics introduced this idea in the famous "Flash of Two Worlds" story decades ago, but then came the equally renown (infamous?) "Crisis on Infinite Earths" in the mid-eighties and DC's parallel worlds mess was cleaned up, more or less. But now it's back; this time lightly veiled as an "anti-matter universe". This, the first hardcover JLA graphic novel, is an enjoyable tale for longtime DC fanboys and will cause little problem for those less familiar with the JLA and its also decades-long history. The villains here will look familiar, being the anti-matter universe (where everything is the opposite of the regular universe) counterparts of the JLA's "big guns": Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman, Flash, and Green Lantern as reflected in Ultraman; Owlman, Superwoman, Johnny Quick, and Power Ring. Grant Morrison with his usual mastery portrays the antithetical characters with wit and a bit more maturity than would be expected in a monthly four-color comic. Superwoman, apparently more of a dominatrix, is supposedly involved with Ultraman, but has Owlman as well on the side. Johnny Quick seems to have some sort of drug addiction which evinces itself in truly bizarre ways as it passes through his Speed Force. Power Ring, depicted with a very spiffy costume and spiky haircut, seems a tad schizophrenic and somewhat controlled by, rather than controlling his magic ring. Alexander Luthor, a hero in the antimatter universe, is also portrayed superbly with essentially the same personality as his "Earth 2" (his phrase for the DC Universe best known and home to Superman and the JLA), but neatly converted from villainy to heroism. Amazon has a great price for this sure-to-be a collector's item. Again, a fun read for fanboys and first-timers alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morrison and Quietly Give You The Business, October 28, 2003
By 
Spencer (Vancouver BC) - See all my reviews
In'JLA: Earth 2' we see a pair of creators firing on all cylinders. Grant Morrison's highly divisive run on the monthly JLA book was hampered by marginal art and an at times suffocating overabundance of characters. Here, he hones it down to the basics: DC's 'Big Seven', and proves what can be done with these characters.
The story thumbs its nose at the monolithic changes made to the DC Comics universe by the 'Crisis on Infinite Earths' and 'Zero Hour' series, which streamlined all the many worlds down into one universe. What fun is super hero/science fiction, Morrison asks, if you can't go to other dimensions? He does what the genre does best: mindbending, impossible scenarios and fantastic action. It was refreshing, in a dark sort of way, to see actual death and destruction in a DC Comic, which usually feature countless 'injuries'.
Frank Quietly's art, as per usual, is astounding. The fine details he invests in virtually every panel reward rereading. His attention to technological detail and architecture are in evidence throughout this book. It's enough to make you wish he could keep to a monthly schedule, or abandon them altogether and stick to larger graphic novels. Pay attention to the many sight gags that populate the alternate universe, especially the Crime Syndicate's headquarters, for an extra treat.
Morrison and Quietly have crafted a highly entertaining story. It's not high-minded. It's not deeply moving. It doesn't aspire to be. It's designed to impress you, and it hits the mark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Morrison's best superhero stories, October 9, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
When it comes to Grant Morrison, he's the Alan Moore of the modern age. He breathed new life into the X-Men for Marvel, as well as Animal Man and Doom Patrol for DC/Vertigo, and of course, JLA for DC. Earth 2 finds Morrison once again writing DC's superteam as Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman, the Flash, Green Lantern, Aquaman, and the Martian Manhunter get their world rocked when Alexander Luthor makes a visit. On his alternate world, he's the only hero, and the JLA's evil alter-egos, the Crime Syndicate of Amerika, have total control. In response to Luthor's pleas, Supes, Bats, Wonder Woman, Flash, and Green Lantern plan to overthrow the evil empire, but as they soon find out, things aren't so easily done in this alternate world. Morrison has taken the classic pre-Crisis Earth 2 world and used it brilliantly here, making Ultraman, Owlman, Superwoman, Johnny Quick, and Power Ring some of the most evil and coloful villains you'll ever see. Morrison's longtime partner in crime Frank Quitely provides his usual superb art here, so longtime Morrison fans know what to expect here. All in all, Earth 2 is one of, if not the, best JLA yarns you'll ever check out, and it's easily one of Morrison's best superhero stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quietly and Morrison..., February 10, 2011
Not to sound corny, but when Frank Quietly and Grant Morrison work together they almost always produce something both weird and magical. Say what you will about Grant Morrison and his writing style, let's face it..he's either your cup of tea or not; however when he gets his hands on the JLA and DCU characters a great sense of love for the source material comes through. This is especially true when he writes Superman, Wonder Woman, and especially Batman.

Equally important to this piece is Frank Quietly's art work. Like Morrison, people seem to either love him or hate him. Personally, I appreciate his unique style of cartooning. While this graphic novel is not quite as sharp as his magnum opus, All-Star Superman, Quietly's work always seems to choke me up at some point. Evocative is a great word for the work he does.

Without going into details, I really enjoyed the story overall. It is a fun Justice League story told in under a 100 pages. If anything on the negative side, I felt the ending was a little anti-climatic. Still, I wish there were more short JLA graphic novels like this. If you want a quick, fun, and accessible super hero romp this is your book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, beautifully illustrated, March 8, 2009
By 
Luigi Novi (Union City, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great, entertaining story by Grant Morrison, beautifully illustrated by master Frank Quitely. Morrison adeptly sets up a nice sense of foreboding and tension with the instigating action sequence that serves to introduce the familiar heroes, and their evil counterparts, and maintains this atmosphere as a buildup to an expected confrontation ensues. The story explores the issues of what happens when people of great power interfere in a foreign society, in part through Morrison's explanation of why the JLA can never bring their brand of justice to Earth 2, and succeeds in surprising us with a climactic twist. Frank Quitely's art is simply amazing, as his hatching style brings a down-to-earth sense of realistic sketchiness to the material. Admittedly, one area that gets short-changed is his treatment of the female main characters. He manages the dubious feat of making Wonder Woman look unattractive, and his renderings of Superwoman show that his understanding of the proportions of the female body was not at its best here. Nonetheless, overall readers who follow his work can see that he has since improved in this regard in his subsequent work. Overall his art is dead-on, and his style unique among the pantheon of American comic book artists. One area in which the book falters story-wise (though it may again be attributable to Quitely) is in the confusing decision to give a mustache and glasses to two high-ranking members of Earth 2's Gotham police force, which may cause the reader to understand that they are Commissioner Jim Gordon, despite the fact that one is just an unnamed cop, and another is Thomas Wayne. When we finally meet Gordon, he too has a mustache, but is fat, short, and balding, a design decision that jarringly required me to go back and make sure that I understood who everyone was. In general though, the book is solid entertainment in terms of the writing and the art, and I recommend to anyone wanting to sit back and have an entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Graphic Novels ever...seriously, September 22, 2001
By 
Scott Woods (Columbus, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Yes, it's a comic book.
More specifically, it's what those in the know like to call a "graphic novel". It's hardcover, it's longer than your average comic book, and it's usually a self-contained story or story arc from a series. This is one of the former types of GNs, and likely one of the best GNs I've ever read. It's so good, non-comic book readers who venture to pick it up will likely find themselves drawn quickly and uncontrollably to the story and characters.
And why not? Anybody who's been living on Earth for the past 50 years already knows these characters: The Justice League of America, specifically Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman, Green Lantern, The Flash, Aquaman and Martian Manhunter.
You know, the Super Friends.
This graphic novel actually takes off from an idea from one of te old "Super Friends" cartoons and runs with it like an Olympian quarterhorse: what would happen if there was an anti-matter version of our own world, where things that were good are bad? What would happen if beings from these alternate dimensions found their way to their counterpart realities?
Think of that old "Star Trek" episode "Mirror Mirror", where the Federation was a pirate outfit and Mr. Spock had a goatee.
Now think if Batman killed cops, Superman fried citizens who questioned him with x-ray vision and Wonder Woman was a sex-craved vixen with super strength.
White Boy Kevin said, "wow".
The story starts off with an interesting twist right off the bat: Lex Luthor is the only GOOD person on this alternate Earth and breaks through the dimensional anti-mater barrier to get to our Earth to recruit the JLA to come back to his world and fix things. They go, and mayhem ensues on both sides of the barrier (don't want to give anything juicy away), as the worlds slowly start a collision course that could mean the extinction of both realities.
Powerful, epic stuff here, folks, and filled with intelligence, humor and characters you don't want to see go away, even if they are evil.
Thanks to the deft writing of Grant Morrison (living legend in comic writing who wrote the first 20 or so issues of the new JLA book that's hot now), you are as equally drawn to the evil characters as you are your favorite icons. Especially when you see OwlMan and Super Woman (you match them up; it's fun) necking behind every corner of the villain clubhouse, and Ultraman (Superman-minus) using his x-ray vision to fry citizens and cats in trees.
Quitely's art is phenomenal, and his style, which lends all kinds of interesting depth to his regular "The Authority" series, literally pumps up the volume of the characters in JLA: Earyth 2. Superman LOOKS like a super man, and Super Woman (the evil Wonder Woman) changing from her alter-ego to her villain persona is, well, downright sexy. Muscles ripple, buildings explode, and heroes look like heroes.
Anyone who thinks comic books are for kids and are immature fare haven't the faintest clue as to what's going on in that medium anymore. Comics are filled with incredible stories, lessons and are ten times more mature work more times than not than the average movie that no one seems inclined to dismiss as juvenile (unless it's animated, of course, which flies in the face of logic when "Shrek", "Akira" and "Ghost In The Shell" totally slam most contemporary films in scope, story and sense).
Pick it up. You WON'T be sorry. If the price makes you balk (tip: don't buy it at a comic store; they'll charge you cover. Go to Media Play), pick it up at your local library. Then, if you really got balls, pick up some "Hellblazer".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Morrison's Best JLA Story, November 18, 2002
I like Morrison's run on the regular JLA title but I was never crazy about it. I thought that the writers that followed him generally did a better job than him. But this side project is one of the best JLA stories of recent years.
It pits the JLA against their opposites form a universe where evil supervillains have the upper hand over the heroes. It introduces important characters who have since made interesting appearances in the regular Superman series.
I also love the art which has a realistic carnoony feel to it, if you know what I mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent story that seemed to be missing some pieces!, July 4, 2009
By 
S. Penrose (Small Town, OH) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm not a huge Morrison fan but have liked some of his stuff. This was just middle of the road. The story seemed like it could have used another 20 pages to flesh out the story. Quitely's art was good but his faces are really ugly at times. Overall, more details of Earth 2 would have made for a better book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Return of the Crime Syndicate!, May 28, 2004
By 
Hizon "Jerry" (Makati Philippines) - See all my reviews
Eversince I read the Crime Syndicate in Crisis and Who's Who, I was intrigued by the concept (I was a 10 year old back then), so when I saw JLA Earth 2 featuring updated versions of Ultra-Man (not the giant Japanese superhero), Superwoman, Owlman, Power Ring and Johnny Quick, I had to pick them up. They were the original ANTI-Justice League. Not the Squadron Supreme. Not The Authority.

Morrison, in reviving the world of the Crime Syndicate, sidestepped the idea of another Multiverse (which were destroyed in Crisis) by setting up the CSA Earth in the anti-matter universe, the same universe as Qward's (of Sinestro fame). Here, evil is good and vice versa. So you get the counterparts of Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman, Green Lantern and The Flash as the baddies while their Lex Luthor is the lone good guy (I wonder if this is the same Christopher Atkins-looking Alexander Luthor in Crisis), To make the story short, the JL members travel to the Anti-Earth to help the good Luthor against the CSA. The CSA , in turn, head to the JL Earth to retaliate against the meddling of Superman and company.

The story is engaging and Quitely's art is solid (really solid). The way the Crime Syndicate behaves is very reminiscent of today's The Authority.

My only question is, how come there are no counterparts for Martian Manhunter and Aquaman? If the creators couldn't come up with Anti-Earth counterparts, why bother including the two members? They weren't that crucial to the plot anyway.

The Crime Syndicate, precursor of those superteam-taking-over-the-government ideas, can be an excellent vehicle to tackle those "philosophical" superhero issues. Too bad, i a lot of books have had a head start (Squadron Supreme/Supreme Power and The Authority) and became such a fad nowadays (JSA Black Reign arc is a recent example). But on second thought, maybe that's the reason why DC released this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Morrison's best JLA, December 12, 2007
I was a bit skeptical about reading this. While I think alternate reality stories are cool, I wasn't sure if this would work. I was surprised at how much I throughly enjoyed this. The alter egos of our JLA were well written and the dialog really helped establish these new anti-heroes. I especially liked the Luthor from their reality, as it's the first time you ever actually feel sorry for him.

Frank Quitely's artwork works pretty well here. He'll never be my favorite artist, but I'd never seen him draw Batman previously and I really liked his version of Batman. This is also before Quitely started drawing women attractive, but whatever.

This also features one of my all time favorite Batman moments when he meets the commissioner of the alternate reality. I won't ruin it for you but I think it's masterfully conceived and executed. I wouldn't mind seeing more of this alternate earth in the future but maybe it's best to leave it be for now. Although I wouldn't be surprised if Morrison and Quitely decided to throw an Earth 2 storyline into their current All Star Superman series. Until then, this is all we have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

JLA: Earth 2 (Jla (Justice League of America))
JLA: Earth 2 (Jla (Justice League of America)) by Grant Morrison (Paperback - November 13, 2012)
$14.99 $11.60
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.