Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Think of this as a "safety" phone, for low-vision/blind and Seniors, and peace of mind for YOU!
First of all, this is a simple "feature" phone, and far removed from a smart phone. Yes, you can text for those times when one might want to (several popular TV talent shows come to mind....) but this is truly a phone to make CALLS, and offer ease of use.

I got this for a senior family member who suffers from macular degeneration, and is almost blind...
Published on June 4, 2011 by Movie Maker

versus
55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible Customer Service for a defective product
The Just5 is cute and easy to use. I had programmed emergency numbers into the phone set and tested it. That feature was the main reason for the purchase. The unit I purchased worked very well for a few days. Thereafter, when I charged it, the phone went completely dead. After taking out and re-inserting the battery and SIM card, the only thing that worked was the...
Published on April 15, 2011 by Chispa


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Think of this as a "safety" phone, for low-vision/blind and Seniors, and peace of mind for YOU!, June 4, 2011
By 
Movie Maker "Rik" (Alexandria, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: JUST5 J509 Easy to Use Unlocked Cell Phone with Big Buttons, Amplified Sound, Personal Emergency Response System (Orange) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
First of all, this is a simple "feature" phone, and far removed from a smart phone. Yes, you can text for those times when one might want to (several popular TV talent shows come to mind....) but this is truly a phone to make CALLS, and offer ease of use.

I got this for a senior family member who suffers from macular degeneration, and is almost blind. Traditional cell phones ( particularly touch screen) had become hard, if not impossible to use.

I looked at several brands, including the better known "Jitterbug" and decided to try this- and I am glad I did. Just 5 is a strong brand in Europe, and is making its way to the USA now. The design is simple and clean, almost as though you did buy it in Europe or at IKEA here in the states - quite a nice look!

The read-out is bright, black against orange, very easy to see. I tested this without contacts or glasses, and was able to see it quite clearly.

Some of the nice extra's include a LED flashlight (super bright!) and a radio mode (great reception!) that I pre-set to a traffic/weather/news station, which is a nice way to be connected. Ear phones are included, too. This is great to empower people with vision issues - it can be hard to tune a radio, sometimes.

As for operation, I like the "talking" feature that confirms each button you press. Some may need this, others may not - you can easily turn this feature OFF, if you like. I tested this with a blindfold, and was able to dial with ease. Yes, there is a "bump" on the 5 key to help you help you get oriented, a bit.

Sound quality was outstanding, be it on speaker phone or traditional use. Very easy to set up auto-dial numbers, as well.

Battery life is almost un-heard of ( to me, anyway) well exceeding the 6 days indicated when on "stand by". Amazing! Really.

What most people will buy this for, is the "hoped to be never used" SOS feature - a recessed button on the back of the phone. When pushed for a few seconds, it will auto-dial and TEXT a distress message to up to 5 numbers (911 is the default, if you dont enter numbers), which is a HUGE value.

This ALONE, is a great peace of mind benefit, somewhat like a life-alert system. When activated, the phone goes into speaker phone mode,and dials numbers until there is an answer , and keeps re-dialing and texting for an hour. In addition, a VERY LOUD siren sound comes from the phone, which would help EMT's find the person in distress.

( do note, this unit would not replace a traditional alert system, as it is NOT waterproof, nor does it connect you to a dedicated rescue service, other than 911, if you program it. It is a GREAT addition to such services, and is far less costly- if you can afford both-great, if not, this is an important option).

Lastly, PLEASE set this up FIRST before you give it to someone! I do wish it was out-of-the-box ready to go, but it is NOT. You may or may not need a GSM sim card ( if you DO, Amazon vendors have them, frequently under $3.00, in cell stores around $25.00).

Set up the number, and select your plan - T-Mobile and AT&T are the GSM firms in the states. I selected a pay-as-you-go plan with no-contract, .10 a minute plan. $15 a month will keep you going for 30 days, and $100 is good for a year. That is around 8 bucks and change, which is a good deal.

Some Just 5 phones come with a JOLT mobile sim card, which may be worth your consideration, too. Be sure to check around to see what might offer the best price, and coverage.

Seniors and low-vision/blind people are the core audience here, and they like things they CAN do, rather than being reminded of what they CANT do. Four stars only because I would like more text-to-speech. Exceptional! A feel-good/feel-safe gift, as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible Customer Service for a defective product, April 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JUST5 J509 Easy to Use Unlocked Cell Phone with Big Buttons, Amplified Sound, Personal Emergency Response System (Orange) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
The Just5 is cute and easy to use. I had programmed emergency numbers into the phone set and tested it. That feature was the main reason for the purchase. The unit I purchased worked very well for a few days. Thereafter, when I charged it, the phone went completely dead. After taking out and re-inserting the battery and SIM card, the only thing that worked was the flashlight. I informed the company (ANTOline) of the defective phone and asked them for a replacement. They informed they would only refund the money if the unit would be received within 30 days of purchase. I returned it within the 30 days (and am still awaiting my refund). ANTOline sold the same unit to another party without erasing the phone numbers I had programmed into the phone set. I know that because this evening I received an emergency message. When I called back, the party on the phone was testing the emergency response button and did not realize he connected to me. I informed him of what transpired and he said he will disable the emergency response feature. If at some point he needs to return the unit, will my number be in some way embedded in the phone set for the next person the company would sell the phone to? I am extremely dis-satisifed with the product as well as ANTOline and would say to stay away from any company who would have a business practice such as ANTOline. I would hope that Amazon will not continue to sell this product on behalf of ANTOline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little rough arround the edges..., May 13, 2011
By 
Lakemechanic (West Lafayette, IN USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JUST5 J509 Easy to Use Unlocked Cell Phone with Big Buttons, Amplified Sound, Personal Emergency Response System (Orange) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I bought this for my sister who has MS & whose fingers don't work very well with the tiny buttons on most cell phones. The buttons are huge, so it gets a gold star for button size. The display isn't big, but everything displayed in it takes the whole display up, so it works for those who need cheaters & large print books.

It didn't transfer contacts from sis's T-Mobile sim card, a demerit. I got to enter 87 contacts & it got old fast. It has several modes, Aabc, abc, ABC, 123, & one I couldn't figure out. It starts in Aabc but if your contact has two words in it, say John Smith, it goes into the abc mode after the J in John, so one has to cycle modes to get the S in Smith capitalized. Not a big deal for one entry but if one is doing 87, it gets old. No special symbols, just letters & numbers. See's candy dosen't get a ' and John & Mary Smith don't get a & One can't edit contacts; all one can do is delete & re-enter them. A pain.

When the spec's said it had an alarm, I presumed it was a multiple time alarm like all the other cell phones in our house. It only has one alarm time & it happens every day, so for those who take pills at 6am, noon, 2pm, 6pm, 10pm, & midnight, it isn't going to remind them to take their pills. & if you only want the alarm M-F, but not S-S, it dosen't do that either. A real simple alarm.

The emergency alarm button has to be held down for a few seconds before it activates. And activate it does with a painfuly loud siren that continues untill someone answers one of the 5 emergency numbers.

There was no manual in the box, but I found one on the internet. It cries out for a good tech writer to re-do it.

Not waterproof, a shortcomming considering how messy old dudes can be.

Good signal & good voice quality; one more bar than the other cell phones in the house! This phone is a little rough arround the edges, but if one is willing to accept that, it is useable for those whose fingers & eyes don't work real good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They've thought of almost everthing for the ideal senior cell phone., May 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JUST5 J509 Easy to Use Unlocked Cell Phone with Big Buttons, Amplified Sound, Personal Emergency Response System (Orange) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Well-designed and well-built little phone. Cheap pre-paid option with Jolt Mobile. The phone should be set up by the senior's caregiver.

When the keys are pressed, its name is announced. It's cute, highly readable and as easy to use as a cell phone can be. Finally, there is the emergency sequence call SOS button on the back.

In practice, there are a few improvements to be made:
1. Offer a flip-phone version. The reason is that some seniors are unaccustomed to pressing an "off hook" and an "on hook" button; a flip phone has "open to answer", "close to hangup" intuitiveness.
2. Allow option of "auto pickup" and "auto hangup"; disabling voicemail. Since this is primarily a senior alert device, a caller/caregiver should be able to remotely listen in to the person called e.g. by pressing a code at the voicemail announcement. In addition, since many seniors have trouble remembering to press the "hang up/red" button, the phone should automatically reset when a signal is lost.

Not so successful features:
1. Torchlight. There is a slide switch on once side that is easy to miss and difficult for arthritic hands.
2. FM radio. Again, a tiny slide switch on the side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT ELDERLY PROOFED!! FAR TOO COMPLICATED STILL..Just5 needs to reduce this phone to Just1, March 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JUST5 J509 Easy to Use Unlocked Cell Phone with Big Buttons, Amplified Sound, Personal Emergency Response System (Orange) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
The box says "It's the antidote to overly complex cell phones" and "We got rid of all the unnecessary functions that overwhelm today's cellphones". This cellphone still has far too may features for 75 year old first time non-tech savvy persons. For instance.

Does it need an FM radio? No, but its got one.
Does it need a flashlight? No, but's its got one
Does it need SMS texting? No, but its does it.
Does it need an alarm? No, but its got it.
Does it need a calculator? No, but its got one.
How about call waiting? No, but it can.
How about call conferencing? No, but it can.
How about mute & speaker phone? No, but it can.
Access to call history and talk time? No, but it can.
And it has a far too extensive menu system to control some of these features.

For the novice elderly person with failing eyesight, the menu system on the small LCD screen would be impossible to navigate.
Accidental button pushing would likely lose the user in the menu system.
The first menu button push is SMS texting instead of the phone contacts. Texting is for the young who can see and don't have arthritis.
The menu system, settings & phone book should be password protected to prevent accidental changes to the settings once they have been set.
In short, this phone is not for the novice elderly cell phone user. I can't give this to my elderly mom like I wanted too, there is way too much to know, explain and guard against. My young kid put contacts in the phone to prep the phone for his Grandma and "poof" they vanished. I can only imagine the feeling of failure my mom would have if after leaving her with the phone, she could not use it call me to say "thanks".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Phone, March 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JUST5 J509 Easy to Use Unlocked Cell Phone with Big Buttons, Amplified Sound, Personal Emergency Response System (Orange) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I got this phone for my 83 year Dad. He loves it easy to work big buttons.
This is the phone for people who cant see good of hear. And it has a Radio Love it myself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars no easy sim card access, February 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JUST5 J509 Easy to Use Unlocked Cell Phone with Big Buttons, Amplified Sound, Personal Emergency Response System (Orange) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I have placed my husband in a nursing home and needed a cell phone simple enough for him to use.
I was delighted to find this phone but have had no success in finding a sim card for it. ATT refused, and sent me to Radio Shack. Radio Shack refused and sent to a Metro PCS store who also refused. it seems that they won't give you a plan unless you buy a phone from them.
I was led to believe by reading customer reviews that it was very simple to get the phone activated with an inexpensive plan...Who wrote those? Company employees?
i now need to return the phone because it's of no use to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent phone, a little complicated to program., May 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JUST5 J509 Easy to Use Unlocked Cell Phone with Big Buttons, Amplified Sound, Personal Emergency Response System (Orange) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I bought this phone for my 72 year old father in law. He has problems with his hands and had problems opening and closing slide and flip phones. The phone worked well with his AT&T sim card and calls were clear. There was no problem with signal and call quality that is not normal for AT&T in this area.
The only problem with the phone was that it was hard for him to learn how to use it. With the lack of a real display and only a small window for text he had a hard time figuring out how to make calls. It took me a few minutes to figure the phone out and get numbers programmed into it for him also. The interface is not very intuitive, even for me and I have degrees in IT.

Overall the phone is excellent and works well. The user interface could be a little simpler for a better experience for seniors that are not tech savvy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Be careful!, October 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JUST5 J509 Easy to Use Unlocked Cell Phone with Big Buttons, Amplified Sound, Personal Emergency Response System (Orange) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I like my just5 phone very much but if you want to keep your current phone number you should be careful.
My husband and mother-in-raw also bought same phone and wanted to keep their phone number.
BUT!! The customer service didn't know well how to keep phone number and not helpful at all.
They both just had a hard time and returned their phone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Phone!, March 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JUST5 J509 Easy to Use Unlocked Cell Phone with Big Buttons, Amplified Sound, Personal Emergency Response System (Orange) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Bought phone for elder father in law. It is perfect for him! Simple features, easy to read display, keypad, and the alert feature is wonderful! Works just great on the AT&T network in San Antonio, TX!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.