Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent small body, professional feature video camera
The JVC GC-PX100 was one of the hidden gems of the Consumer Electronics Show in Las Vegas when it was unveiled in January 2013. This prosumer camera blurs the lines between consumer and small form-factor professional cameras with a versatile feature set worthy of cameras costing twice as much. Weighing in at $900 (and just 625g with battery and viewfinder) this is,...
Published 19 months ago by M Halsey

versus
29 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Does NOT do what it is advertised to do
The *primary* purpose for this camcorder per JVC's marketing material is in-field video analysis. Review their website, and you'll see the analysis section prominently highlighted and featuring their Cam Coach App which supposedly lets you review high speed video out on the field to help in your coaching. WRONG. The only video playback available instantly is 640p video...
Published 17 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent small body, professional feature video camera, May 13, 2013
This review is from: JVC GC-PX100 Full HD Everio Camcorder, 10x Optical Zoom, 200x Digital Zoom (Camera)
The JVC GC-PX100 was one of the hidden gems of the Consumer Electronics Show in Las Vegas when it was unveiled in January 2013. This prosumer camera blurs the lines between consumer and small form-factor professional cameras with a versatile feature set worthy of cameras costing twice as much. Weighing in at $900 (and just 625g with battery and viewfinder) this is, needless to say, one piece of equipment where reading the manual really is a mandatory exercise, so let's start this review with the GC-PX100's headline-grabbing features.

Standout Features

The first of these is the ability to capture 50fps HD video in full progressive mode, meaning that every frame is a full picture as opposed to interlaced video where only half a frame is captured alternately. It can record video to an SD card at 36Mbps (video) and 4Mbps (audio) and paired with the latest and fastest SD cards (I'm using a SanDisk 64GB Extreme which can operate at up to 45Mbps) holds the promise of broadcast quality video.

The other standout feature is its full gamut of time-lapse and super-fast recording. These range from 1 shot every 80 seconds to 1 frame a second in time-lapse to 100, 200, 250, 400 and even 500 frames a second for slo-mo action.

This isn't quite as headline-grabbing as it might appear however as upping the frame rate to 100, 200 or 250fps drops the maximum capture resolution from 1920x1080 down to 640x360, and increasing the frame rate to 400 or 500fps drops the resolution further to just 320x176. Dropping the resolution like this can result in seriously blurry imagery and it's not suitable for broadcast. The fast frame-rates in this camera however are clearly aimed at sports training where you're looking for form, trying to eliminate the slice from your backswing in golf, or improving your pitching arm in baseball. Here you can use the GC-PX100's in-built WiFi to pair the camera directly with an iPad, iPhone or Android phone or tablet (alas no Windows Phone or Windows 8 support yet) to view your video live in the field on a larger screen and use the tablet or phone apps to annotate video or even view two videos side by side. This isn't just a niche feature either as there are many scenarios where film-makers will want a larger available screen than the in-built 3 inch touchscreen on which to immediately review video.

DSLR Features

The form-factor of the camera is reminiscent of a DSLR even down to a control knob with intelligent auto, portrait, scene, programmed auto, aperture priority, shutter priority, full manual and a custom saved settings option. There's a full manual focus ring too for fine control. The scenes are extensive containing everything from specialist night-time scenes (including portraiture) to a backlight compensation mode for when a subject might appear too dark against a backdrop.

You can use the GC-PX100 as a 12MP stills camera too in the same way, and with the same controls as you would find on a DSLR. A snapshot button allows you to capture a series of nine 2MP stills while recording video as well, and switching between video and photo modes is a simple matter of a single button press. Elsewhere the camera is controlled through a 3 inch articulated touch screen which can pull away from the camera body slightly and angle upwards and downwards to allow the maximum flexibility when lining up your scene. The GC-PX100 also, and very helpfully, comes with a screen shield which prevents glare when using the camera outdoors while also protecting the touch screen when the camera isn't in use.

Optics and Recording

The lens is a 1/2.3 12.8MP back-illuminated CMOS with a low-light F1.2 and an in-built 10x optical zoom operated from a rocker atop the camera or from the touch screen where you can pre-program a zoom-point (boostable to 19x at 720p and up to 64x digitally, though this will drop resolution considerably and isn't to be used with ultra-high frame rates).

The camera can record video in AVCHD and MP4 formats but also supports MOV recording because the audio is stored in a non-compressed, lossless format. On a 64GB SD card you will get 3˝ hours of the highest quality video, which is slightly longer than the battery will last when recording constantly anyway and this seems perfectly adequate. Atop the camera is an optional digital viewfinder which can guarantee you get the right shot in bright light. This is provided with the camera and can be clipped on or unclipped quickly as needed. Also atop the camera is a hotshoe providing an easy way to attach an external microphone (the GC-PX100 comes with stereo microphones on the body) or an external light unit (again the GC-PX100 comes with a powerful LED above the lens).

Video quality

Obviously the proof of just how good the GC-PX100 is comes from the quality of the video it shoots and I've included in my copy of this review on my own website a few videos that I have recorded. The thing to bear in mind with these is that I'm an enthusiastic amateur when it comes to understanding how to get the very best out of video, and I'm sure a professional cameraman could obtain significantly better shots than I. You can see the videos on my own website at [...] Suffice to say the video quality of this camera is first rate and far above anything I've used or seen at this price-point before.

Conclusions

The GC-PX100 initially caught my eye because I needed a small-form-factor, professional grade camera that wouldn't make too much of a dent in my luggage allowance while travelling, but that also included important features such as a light and support for an external microphone. On the former the GC-PX100 really is dinky and weighs almost nothing, it's lighter than many DSLRs while offering significantly more at the same time.

I'm looking forward to pairing it with the JVC MZ-V10 external microphone which I've got on order and my own radio microphone. Yes, you read that right. I'm so impressed with the GC-PX100 that this isn't just any old review model provided by the manufacturer, this is mine.

I bought this video camera because the Sony consumer camera I had been using previously and which I used for my first round of location filming in February this year in the USA, was clearly inadequate for the task at hand and unable to provide the broadcast-quality video I required.

The GC-PX100 is an excellent camera that offers non-professional film-makers every feature they'll ever need and then some, sports coaches a unique way to monitor and evaluate performance and professionals a body that's small and light enough to sling into any bag and carry anywhere.

Overall 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, April 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JVC GC-PX100 Full HD Everio Camcorder, 10x Optical Zoom, 200x Digital Zoom (Camera)
My first experience with JVC was with the GS-TD1 3d camcorder. It performed to my expectations and more. After about a year and countless hours of shooting i decided to upgrade to another camera/camcorder. My original choice was Canons XA10 but that was well out of my budget then i stumbled accidentally onto this intimidating piece. At first i did not really think of getting it but then after much research, i finally gave in and bought it. If you have purchased other cameras / camcorders from JVC just know that this beauty has all the familiar menus and buttons all strategically located/placed for the user shooter. At first glance it has a very intimidating appearance and the size (see specifications) is just perfect for on the go shots. Absolutely do not let its small size fool you! this little monster is just a joy to operate with its quick and easy settings menu. No bells and whistles no hoopla and other fancy gadgetry to get in the way ( my Nikon D7000 is a lot more complicated)! All in all i would say that if you are looking for a no nonsense camera that is durable , uncomplicated , with beautiful shots /end results be it in 600 fps or 120 fps then this camera is for you. like i said even though its a cute smallish camera it rocks compared to those other bulky ones (who said that a video camera had to be of large broadcast style type should be shot)! I shoot video and stills overseas and on ships where the action is intense and fast, take my word ... i absolutely love this camera..ordering a second soon. Add a steady shot shoulder stock mount with pistol grip and watch the heads turn from the cameras appearance and of course it end product. I should also mention that Beach Camera and Amazon did an amazing job of shipping it out to me even though i am halfway around the world. Wonderful job! Thank You for supporting us Veterans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Does NOT do what it is advertised to do, July 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JVC GC-PX100 Full HD Everio Camcorder, 10x Optical Zoom, 200x Digital Zoom (Camera)
The *primary* purpose for this camcorder per JVC's marketing material is in-field video analysis. Review their website, and you'll see the analysis section prominently highlighted and featuring their Cam Coach App which supposedly lets you review high speed video out on the field to help in your coaching. WRONG. The only video playback available instantly is 640p video @ 30fps. Please tell me how that is useful? I can do that with an Eye-Fi SD card. After spending a week educating the JVC product "specialist" on what the camera is supposed to do, he finally learned enough about the device to confirm what I hoped was just me missing something: The apps are really only useful for low-def 30fps video review. Sorry, but for a grand, I expect what was advertised.

Although I knew it going in, potential buyers should also realize that hi-speed recording modes (120fps+) only record at standard and very low-def. For example, 120fps and 240fp record at 640x360 while 420fps and 600fps record at 320x176. I'm still a bit perplexed why my GoPro Hero3 can record 120fps @ 1280x720 for less than half the price..... but I digress.

Overall a huge disappointment and a prime example of horrible and misleading marketing hype.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good camcorder footage, poor still image quality~ read on!, November 22, 2013
This review is from: JVC GC-PX100 Full HD Everio Camcorder, 10x Optical Zoom, 200x Digital Zoom (Camera)
Very good video quality- not good at stills.......quality is just not there as a still camera- which is ashamed as it has very nice controls.
As a video camera it's very sharp but produces chromatic aberration (purple fringing around highlight areas)....most people wouldn't notice it but I'm a pixel peeper and video enthusiast and noticed the CA around highlighted areas. It tends to overexpose footage by .7EV, I suggest using -.7 ev and your footage will look very nice.
It can use a MIC attached and will produce sharp footage suitable for advanced videographers but maybe not pros.

The high speed shooting is very cool but it does shoot high frame rates at a reduced resolution, so check the specs for the res it will shoot when using high FPS.

I use it more for video as i use other cameras for stills as i just really dislike the image quality in stills mode with this camera.
Also, I purchased the optional viewfinder which allows for use in sunlight where you'd want to use a viewfinder and not the LCD. European versions get the viewfinder bundled with the camera but sadly we have to pay $179 for it............I think it's worth the purchase but sad to have to pay extra for it.

I can recommend it as a video camera but not as a still camera.......the fact it can use MIC's and onboard HDMI monitors (it outputs live video while recording, which is very good!) is a real testament to the good footage it will capture.......just be aware of the purple highlight fringing (lens design).......in lower contrast shooting indoors and under indirect light it will produce VERY good footage.

It's a bit pricey, but it's the only high-speed camera that also shoots videos and stills in this form factor- it's a unique product that will cost you if you want to own it- but my guess is you'll enjoy it!

Have fun and know it's quirks and be an informed shopper and make your purchases armed with info and you'll do well.......I recommend it with cons as posted....I give it 4****
Cheers~~
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE: Audio Control Lacking, October 18, 2013
By 
Georgie (Greenwich, CT United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: JVC GC-PX100 Full HD Everio Camcorder, 10x Optical Zoom, 200x Digital Zoom (Camera)
Gosh, I was so pumped to buy this camcorder. It has so many fantastic things going for it! As an audiophile, I was extremely happy to see the standard size hot shoe right on top (so few consumer camcorders have them anymore) AND the ability to record in straight PCM. That's awesome.

But then I dug a little deeper and saw you it doesn't have full manual audio level control. Only presets: 0, -1, -2. That's not going to cut it when recording loud music. WHAT WERE THEY THINKING?

With all the other fantastic features, and considering it's a $1K camera, I can't believe they cheaped the manual audio gain. Until they fix that, I'm afraid I can't buy this camcorder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice camera with a broken PC software, July 19, 2013
By 
timmi4sa (SANTA FE SPRINGS, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: JVC GC-PX100 Full HD Everio Camcorder, 10x Optical Zoom, 200x Digital Zoom (Camera)
[Please read the update below] This is a very nice camera, with an even better video quality (can't beat 60p). This feature however is its major issue. I only record in 60 progressive (it is the main reason I bought it after all) and after an hour or two of recording you realize that you need 2 [or better 5] SD cards, so a very natural decision was to create Blu-ray discs and reuse the SD cards. JVC has included a software CD called MediaBrowser SE Player for JVC (apparently by PIXELA) that turned out to be a total noop - and a total waste of my precious time. I had gone from trying to use my internal LG DVD Writer to attempt to write AVCHD dvds, to buying a brand new Pioneer 15x Blu-ray Writer. Both of the devices with 5 different brands of DVD/Blu-ray media have resulted in PIXELA app reporting a `The disc is not supported. Eject disc` message...

MOST RECENT UPDATE:

I am rushing to edit my first review (above), it was due to a missing software update I did not have the DVD Burning capability in MediaBrowser SE (not Player) which led me to believe that Player app is in charge of writing discs, duh!! So once you update your MediaBrowser (from a link presented by the menu option Help - Check For Latest Product Info) and install `DVD Disc Creation Software` that requires your camcorder's serial number for the download you will be able to burn BD, DVD, AVCHD and AVCHD Progressive discs. Blame it on my ignorance. This product is solid and works exceptionally well.

The battery life is somewhat sub par and that is the reason for the 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JVC GC-PX100 Full HD Everio Camcorder, 10x Optical Zoom, 200x Digital Zoom, May 23, 2014
By 
James Martin (Kingman, AZ, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JVC GC-PX100 Full HD Everio Camcorder, 10x Optical Zoom, 200x Digital Zoom (Camera)
I love this camcorder. It is easy to carry and use, and the camera like read body offers an excellent viewing display. The camera zooms in and out smoothly and is very stable in hand held shooting, but a tripod is always better to use for extended recording. I purchased two external microphones for use outdoors to cut down on wind noise across the cameras built in microphones. The JVC PX-100 has the best reviews for a $1000.00 camcorder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best video camera I ever owned!, May 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JVC GC-PX100 Full HD Everio Camcorder, 10x Optical Zoom, 200x Digital Zoom (Camera)
Unbelievably useful for sports! Make sure if you are taping sports to get a bigger SD card and extra batteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a very good product, January 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JVC GC-PX100 Full HD Everio Camcorder, 10x Optical Zoom, 200x Digital Zoom (Camera)
i bought this product not too long for our church. it is a nice product and the image is very good. it have a WiFi connection which you can use to connect to any live streaming like u stream.com to stream live your program. i recommend it to any body who want a hd camera for a good start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Met my needs, January 7, 2014
This review is from: JVC GC-PX100 Full HD Everio Camcorder, 10x Optical Zoom, 200x Digital Zoom (Camera)
I needed good quality high speed capability in a small package, and this camera delivered to my expectations. Would purchase again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.