Customer Reviews


435 Reviews
5 star:
 (212)
4 star:
 (68)
3 star:
 (42)
2 star:
 (42)
1 star:
 (71)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


138 of 143 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They keep getting better!
I agree with Austin. It flies very much like the S107; same dimensions and visuals. The lighting is spectacular but what's cooler still is that you can turn it off from the controller to save battery life. The opposite button gives you added performance. Like the sideways drift that Austin mentioned, it's not much but it is noticeable and adds to the fun of flying this...
Published on March 17, 2011 by G Wheels

versus
67 of 72 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice flight control, but poor production quality at the factory, at first
If I was writing this helicopter's review on the first day I got the copter, I would have given it 4 stars. It had excellent handling characteristeics, and the response to the 'sticks' was appropriate and proportional (not over or under-responsive.) However, the 4th channel 'drift' control was problematic, as a left drift caused the helicopter to accelerate upward as it...
Published on March 21, 2011 by Frugal Bargain Hunter


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

138 of 143 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They keep getting better!, March 17, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JXD 4 Ch Indoor Infrared RC Gyroscope Helicopter "Drift King" - Colors May Vary (Toy)
I agree with Austin. It flies very much like the S107; same dimensions and visuals. The lighting is spectacular but what's cooler still is that you can turn it off from the controller to save battery life. The opposite button gives you added performance. Like the sideways drift that Austin mentioned, it's not much but it is noticeable and adds to the fun of flying this neat little package. As you would expect, there's a rotary trim knob to correct any left / right rotation while hovering, flying forwards or backwards. My ONLY complaint is that you must take your hand from the controls to adjust the knob. You will not need to do this often as the helicopter is very stable and doesn't lose its trim easily once set. My favorite trim control was on the Syma S009G which had left and right buttons to tap while flying. A totally eye and hands free way to control trim. One more nice feature of the Drift King control is the flashing green light while the control is binding. In my situation, this takes a good half minute or more but I know the task is complete as the green light becomes solid. Anyway, the box says "easy to fly" and that it is. I haven't crashed the Drift King into anything but looking the little helicopter over, it appears to be just as sturdy as the Syma counterpart which is very robust. You get one extra blade for the top and bottom coaxial, a spare tail rotor and an extra connect buckle. The instructions are a decent attempt at translation from Chinese but the helicopter hardly needs any of that if you have previous experience with any coaxial toy helicopter. I liken this micro helicopter to what the Spaniards called a humming bird as they saw it for the first time - a flying jewel. The appearance of the Drift King is very appealing. The aluminum frame and nicely attached tail / boom fins make me think I got good quality for the money. Even the tail motor looks extra sturdy in its housing. The canopy is very attractive with an eye catching paint scheme. Nothing about the Drift King appears cheap or flimsy. Like the S107, it is a very well thought out toy - very appealing to the eye.

The rotor shaft separates the coaxial blades far enough apart that they will not interact. In other words, no danger of the top blades cracking on the lower ones. The controller requires 6 AA batteries, which are not included so be prepared and buy a package of new alkalines before you get a Drift King. I recommend that you do NOT use the controller to charge the Drift King. Use the black USB charging cord instead. It glows red while charging which has an appealing glow inside the black USB plug. The LED shuts off when charging is complete and my brief experience with charging is about 45 minutes. These times seem to vary and your mileage could be better. You will have a slightly different action if you choose to bleed the controller batteries with its separate / attached charging cord. The controller batteries will last for months if you do not charge the Drift King with them and I guarantee they will last no more than a few days if you do. The controller charging is a good feature if you take your helicopter where there are no USB charging ports. Besides a computer you do know that your cable / satellite box has a USB port that you can use to charge things don't you?

Like the S107, you need to be careful right after a full charge. The available power can shoot the Drift King right to the ceiling with a small amount of throttle. Speaking of which, it is a dead stick; meaning there is no spring return for that axis and you can hover hands off the controls. This is unlike the S107 and can be a problem for folks used to the "return to zero" throttle type controls. The sideways axis control is from this same stick (mode 1). Drifting is a unique feature that needs practice and I haven't discovered how JXD has accomplished the ability with a coaxial. The ZR Avatar uses two separate outrigger motors to achieve this but JXD has figured something else out. Anyway, as you push the left side stick right or left you must balance the throttle. A little more difficult than it sounds but the drift feature isn't something you do by accident. There is spring tension on that axis but not the other. That means you must consciously move the stick left or right while being careful with the near zero force up and down motion. Balancing throttle while drifting will be the most difficult part of flying in this dimension.

Coaxial helicopters are nothing like hobbyist style fixed pitch single rotor helicopters in regard to flying. You get your feet wet with the controller axis and perspective as you turn toward yourself but the sideways (4th channel) is not like flying a Blade mSR sideways. This is a good thing if you just want some relaxing fun. The spectacular light show that can be toggled on and off, the acceleration button and sideways drift ability make this guy significantly different from the S107. The price difference reflects this too. If you have a spare $40 or so, buy this little flying jewel. It's really a step up in fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 72 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice flight control, but poor production quality at the factory, at first, March 21, 2011
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JXD 4 Ch Indoor Infrared RC Gyroscope Helicopter "Drift King" - Colors May Vary (Toy)
If I was writing this helicopter's review on the first day I got the copter, I would have given it 4 stars. It had excellent handling characteristeics, and the response to the 'sticks' was appropriate and proportional (not over or under-responsive.) However, the 4th channel 'drift' control was problematic, as a left drift caused the helicopter to accelerate upward as it shifted left, and plummet downward as you 'drifted' it to the right. But all in all, I liked it alot...until 'day two'. Then, with just a mere bump against the cushioned arm of my sofa, it stopped flying. Upon inspection, I saw that the main motor shaft's gear, that turns the lower propeller's full size gear, had come off the motor's shaft, and, of course, would then no longer turn the lower propeller's gear. This should NOT have happened with such a minor 'bump'. In fact, I tried to cannabalize a gear from another defunct 'copter', and it was a 'struggle' to get that gear OFF the motor's shaft. But with this Drift King, apparently, someone at the "big C" factory had barely inserted the tiny gear sufficiently onto the main motor's shaft, and one little bump of the helicoter caused it to dislodge. I guess when you buy a 4 channel copter for under $50, you have to expect that they've tried to save money somewhere, and their production quality control standards is where they apparently cut back on costs. [Follow-up: Amazon discontinued this model for a few weeks, then brought it back and sold it through Amazon rather than through their 'marketplace' So, I figured, that with an easier-to-return policy, and the hope that the problem with the gear had been fixed by the time this model had been 'brougt back', I took a chance and ordered it again. And I was happy to find, that despite disassembling it to put some super glue on the gear that was originally the problem (i.e. falling off the motor's rotor shaft), the entire inside had been reconfigured now, so it was less likely that the gear probelm could occur in this newer version. And after flying this new version for 2 days, and having a number of 'collisions', it's still going strong. (But I'll let you know if that changes). By the way, as this new/2nd heli 'used to' have the nice 'proportional responsiveness' to stick movements as the first version, this ability seems to be deteriating over time. Also, this is just about the only heli that, if you give it too much throttle just after a full charge, it won't hit the ceiling...it defintely shoots upward, but it's just heavy enough to prevent a ceiling collision. As for flight time, 40 minutes of USB charge gave me about 6-7 minutes of flight...but that was just a small 'circling' test in order to test its maximum flight duration under ideal conidtions.]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


114 of 128 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value and fun, very fast !, January 31, 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JXD 4 Ch Indoor Infrared RC Gyroscope Helicopter "Drift King" - Colors May Vary (Toy)
Length:: 3:34 Mins

I bought this heli and really liked it. I find the build quality to be very good. Very durable, has crashed hard lots and still goes and goes. I read where alot of people like the Syma S107 and I bought that one to. Comparing the two of them I find that the S107 is very stable but alot slower than the Drift King. Overall I feel the Drift King is more of a challenge but also more fun.I rated five stars on educational because it has allowed me to get alot of flying time and that helps because I have since purchased a Blade SR 120 that I fly outside. Two things I should add by reading more advice online I found out that you should wait 10 or 15 minutes to let the battery cool down after flying before charging and also tun the switch to the off position before charging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars jxd drift king, March 17, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: JXD 4 Ch Indoor Infrared RC Gyroscope Helicopter "Drift King" - Colors May Vary (Toy)
I agree with both reviews. The durability is great, the heli is beautifully detailed and well constructed, and the left and right rolls are controlled by a servo driven pawl connected to the psuedo swash plate. The rolls are a little slow for those used to larger 4 channel helis, but is still a blast to fly through the house. Those used to standard 4 channels have a bit of a learning curve due to the roll control being on the left stick instead of the right, but this is an easy adjustment for a heli of this size. The manual says you can adjust this using the upper control buttons, but as of yet, I have not accomplished it. Otherwise though, a very polished rc, but with shorter flight time than the s107, or the 9098.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4ch Remote Helicopter Drift King, October 21, 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JXD 4 Ch Indoor Infrared RC Gyroscope Helicopter "Drift King" - Colors May Vary (Toy)
This is a great little toy, especially for the price. I've owned the $20 2/2.5? channel, and have flown the 3.5 ch. It has great control and appeal. I especially like turning off the lights and using the extra acceleration. The drift feature goes mostly unused because it is on the same control as the lift lever and maintaining proper lift while drifting is difficult, at least for me. Maybe not for the more skilled.

Here is the problem though and the reason why 'the gear' 'spins off' and may get lost on this model, which did happen to me as described by other posters. With the other heli's, the lift control 'springs to center'. Meaning that when you let go of the lift control because of a collision or near collision, it automatically cuts power to the blades. As the power is cut to the motor there is no/little resistance to the gears and thus low chance of gear damage. On Drift King the lift control does not spring to center (which is cool to just hover without holding the control lever :). thats a benefit!), HOWEVER YOU HAVE TO train yourself and consciously cut power to the blades when near collision, or else the motors are engadged against the gears, gears enagadged against the stopped blades. The weak point being the gear on the shaft, so it 'spins off'. It is very small and easy to loose. I found mine and put it back on with tweezers.

Overall, it can take abuse, but you can't keep the motor power on long while the blades are not free to spin, so pay attention. Mine only came off once and not anymore since I see the mechanics and prevent the problem. It's common sense really, but the other 'spring to center' controls take the thought out of it. Happy Flying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good helicopter and a great value, December 2, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JXD 4 Ch Indoor Infrared RC Gyroscope Helicopter "Drift King" - Colors May Vary (Toy)
This thing is great. A little harder to fly than the Syma 107, but it has some advantages. 2-speed mode is nice. The "drift" channel is OK, but it is difficult to use without changing the throttle setting and getting out of control quickly. It's a good challenge to work on. I've had a few pretty good crashes and it has held up well. Mine didn't come with a USB charger like it was supposed to which was a little disappointing, but it was only a couple bucks to get another one in. Lights on it look really slick. Throttle is NOT spring loaded so you can adjust in and concentrate on fwd/rev, left/right flight if you want. Overall, it's great. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4 Channel offers room to grow. Controls more like serious RC Helicopters, February 1, 2012
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: JXD 4 Ch Indoor Infrared RC Gyroscope Helicopter "Drift King" - Colors May Vary (Toy)
I'm pretty happy with the JXD 340. Flight time is as good as any other little heli I've flown. Mine has been pretty durable (haven't broken it yet). Overall, the JXD 340 is as nice or better than any of the other little helicopters out there.

Four things make me glad I bought the 340: 1) turning off the LED increases flight time slightly, 2) left/right drifting (the reason it's a 4 channel), 3) the throttle stick is _not_ sprung (let go, and the heli stays at a constant altitude), and most important 4) ability to change the JXD controller to match other more "serious" 4 channel helicopters. If you press and hold the "Light" and "Accel" buttons while turning on the controller, it will change controls such that forward/back and drift left/right is controlled by the right stick, and the rudder (turn left/right) is now on the left stick with the throttle. This is more like other more expensive RC helicopters.

I have a Blade CX3 4 channel heli, and since I can make the JXD 340 match the CX3 controller, it has prevented some crashing which would result from getting the controls confused switching back and forth. If you plan to move up to a 4 channel, or pitch control heli (i.e, the more expensive stuff), you'll need to make this transition. It's a little more difficult to get used to, but better in the long run for flying 4 channel helis. Also, for a 4 channel, it makes more sense.

Regading the unsprung throttle lever. Again, this matches controllers for more "serious" heli's but potentially bad because you must remember to shut off the throttle immediately if you crash. Otherwise, you will cause more damage as it beats itself to pieces. In the long run, though, you'll see it is better this way. You can hover the JXD 340 and take your hand off the throttle for a moment.

The main con for the JXD is it isn't popular like the Syma S107. So parts are a little harder to find. Oh, and the JXD manual does not properly explain how to switch the controls back and forth (again, press and hold Light and Accel before turning on the controller - you have to do this every time you power up the controller as it reverts to the default mode).

The Syma S107 is the one to buy for a 3 channel, but if you want something more, for the same price range, get the JXD 340. Even if you don't use left/right drift, it flys exactly the same as the other 3 channel helicopters, so you aren't giving up anything. But when you are ready, it gives you a path to the bigger more expensive RC helicopters with left/right drift, and the abilty to swap the controls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can switch to mode 2, September 15, 2011
By 
E. Aamodt (Easley, SC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JXD 4 Ch Indoor Infrared RC Gyroscope Helicopter "Drift King" - Colors May Vary (Toy)
I bought this to have a small inexpensive 4 channel to fly at work. According to the engrish manual, you should be able to switch to mode 2, which places the rudder (yaw) control on the left stick and aileron (roll) on the right. All of my other 4 channel heli's are configured this way and I didn't want to have to change just for this bird. The manual suggests holding both the light and accelerate buttons simultaneously to achieve this change. But that never worked. After fiddling with it a bit, I figured out that you had to power up the heli first, then hold in both the light and accelerate buttons while powering up the transmitter. Sadly it doesn't retain the mode 2 configuration and I have to repeat this process each time I fly the Drift King. But at least I don't have to learn to fly in another mode.

As mentioned in other reviews, the throttle on this bird is very sensitive and you can easily slam the chopper into the ceiling or drop it like brick to floor with only minor adjustments. The rudder seems less sensitive and requires a little movement. Combine these together (especially in mode 2) and it makes the helicopter difficult to turn without losing or gaining altitude. However, the drift king does trim out nicely and will hover hands free. If you fly it just like a 3 channel and are light on the throttle you shouldn't have too much trouble controlling it.

This helicopter has been very durable as I have slammed it into the ceiling and violently crashed into the floor numerous times and nothing has broke yet. I'm getting about 7 minutes flight time with the lights off and about 40 minutes to charge.

Overall, I'm quite fond of this bird and I'm giving it 4 stars, but it is not a good 1st time helicopter. If you've mastered the s107 and want something more challenging to fly but aren't ready to spend the money on an Esky or a Blade 4 channel, then I think this is a decent transitional helicopter. Especially if you can manage to switch the TX to mode 2. That should prepare you to fly the more expensive 4 channel heli's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little bird, August 28, 2011
By 
Neyro (Shaker Hts, OH USA) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: JXD 4 Ch Indoor Infrared RC Gyroscope Helicopter "Drift King" - Colors May Vary (Toy)
This was my first helicopter, amazing! Easy precise controls, beautiful design, great lights, battery life about 10 minutes with a 50 minute charge.
This chopper is very consistent in take off easy to trim, light switch in the remote allows for longer fly time.

All helicopters crash, if they don't then you are not pushing yourself hard enough or you are the supreme pilot master... but you are not, so be ready to do some repair and tune up. As advice by some one here, glue the tail rotor, main and secondary gears to the shaft and check the main blade shaft screw (before each fly).

For those who say it doesn't hold charge and will spin but not take off... is probably one of the mentioned shaft or gear issues, tweak it tune it and it flies like a.... RC 4ch little indoor helicopter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Fun and Challenging RC Mini-Helicopter for intermediate + flyers, January 15, 2012
By 
mt90012 "mike30030" (Los Angeles, CA, United States) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JXD 4 Ch Indoor Infrared RC Gyroscope Helicopter "Drift King" - Colors May Vary (Toy)
I've purchased a number of RC Helicopters from Amazon and this is one of my absolute favorites. It is fast, versatile and a true 4 channel model that's made for indoor use which can be a lot of fun. Although this is a gyroscope type model, it takes a lot more skill to fly than similar 3 and 3.5 channel models. With the "Drift King" you have nearly complete up / down, front / back, left / right and full left or right drifting capabilities (in addition to trim control). One other feature that I really like is the ability to operate the the helicopter's lights from the remote control.
The only negative aspect is that it has an estimated fly time of about 6 minutes with a charging time of 40 - 45 minutes. Most other models provide between 9 and 12 minutes fly time with the 40-45 charging. This mini also cost a bit more but, in my opinion, the additional features compensate for the extra $$. If you enjoy RC Helicopters, this is one you should buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.