Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


94 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prepare To Enter The Fourth World...
First Impressions:

The Cover is gorgeous. A larger than life copy of a close-up on Orion - very evocative of the whole Kirby Fourth World experience.

The "heft" of the tome is very light, feeling more like a trade-paper back than a hardcover edition.

The reason for this feather-weight feel is soon obvious. The paper used in this volume is...
Published on June 23, 2007 by Whoop2Do

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Volume one: Off to a rough, but interesting start
Kirby's move to DC after his incredible run at Marvel was one that had long range effects on DC comics. He introduced Darkseid and The New Gods, characters that DC has been going back to you for over three decades. This first volume introduces the characters of Kirby's "Fourth World," his concept of an epic battle between good and evil, where Earth is caught in the...
Published on July 21, 2008 by J. Carroll


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

94 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prepare To Enter The Fourth World..., June 23, 2007
By 
Whoop2Do "Whoop2Do" (Gaithersburg, MD USA) - See all my reviews
First Impressions:

The Cover is gorgeous. A larger than life copy of a close-up on Orion - very evocative of the whole Kirby Fourth World experience.

The "heft" of the tome is very light, feeling more like a trade-paper back than a hardcover edition.

The reason for this feather-weight feel is soon obvious. The paper used in this volume is quite unexpected. My initial reaction was one of disappointment and dismay. The paper looks and feels like a higher quality newsprint, not at all what one would expect for a book with a $50.00 cover price! Upon closer examination, there does not seem to be immediate concerns; the paper itself seems quite sturdy - it doesn't have the same feeling of shoddiness that regular newsprint entails and the ink seems to be quite permanent and smear-proof. Upon further examination, I actually began to feel quite good about this rather unorthodox choice. The paper really evokes the feel of an early 70s comic books and it really carries the somewhat garish colors of the original comic (which are faithfully reproduced btw) very well. It really suits the emotional, nostalgia experience.

For those that care about such things, the binding is glued, not sewn, but seems to be well-done and very strong.

Content:

In addition to an introduction by the esteemed Grant Morrison and an afterward by Kirby associate and close friend, Mark Evanier, there are a few Kirby concept drawings.

The heart of the book however are the chronological reprints of the following:

Superman's Pal, Jimmy Olsen #133 (Oct 1970)
Superman's Pal, Jimmy Olsen #134 (Dec 1970)
Superman's Pal, Jimmy Olsen #135 (Jan 1971)
The Forever People #1 (Feb 1971)
The New Gods #1 (Feb 1971)
Mister Miracle #1 (Mar 1971)
Superman's Pal, Jimmy Olsen #136 (Mar 1971)
The Forever People #2 (May 1971)
The New Gods #2 (May 1971)
Superman's Pal, Jimmy Olsen #137 (May 1971)
Mister Miracle #2 (June 1971)
The Forever People #3 (July 1971)
Superman's Pal, Jimmy Olsen #138 (July 1971)
The New Gods #3 (July 1971)
Superman's Pal, Jimmy Olsen #139 (July 1971)
Mister Miracle #3 (Aug 1971)

"Wow". Reading or re-reading this volume is just plain fun. For those of us who grew up reading/loving comics in the 60s, there was probably no bigger shock than discovering that Jack Kirby, the heart and soul of the Marvel Universe, was jumping ship to DC. One thing that Jack insisted on for his DC tenure was more creative control of his output. This book represents nothing less than Kirby Unleashed. In re-reading these stories - clearly written for a different era (this was coming on the heels of the end of the 60s after all!) one can still feel the raw electricity, the sheer exuberance of the unbridled creativity pouring from Kirby. Sure, a lot of the dialogue is awkward - a middle-aged man trying to capture the "groovy" language of the youth culture. Nevertheless, these works are nothing short of, well, utterly psychedelic, man! More concisely, Kirby was creating an astounding new mythos which would profoundly change the way the comic book universe of DC would work henceforth and which would forever impact the entire world of superhero comics (again). These are the first chapter of that new world. Read them for their place in the history of the comic book, read them for the enjoyment!

In summation, this is well worth the Amazon discount price. I look forward to future volumes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Volume one: Off to a rough, but interesting start, July 21, 2008
By 
Kirby's move to DC after his incredible run at Marvel was one that had long range effects on DC comics. He introduced Darkseid and The New Gods, characters that DC has been going back to you for over three decades. This first volume introduces the characters of Kirby's "Fourth World," his concept of an epic battle between good and evil, where Earth is caught in the middle. It's uneven in quality and the ideas are not fully developed in the beginning but this is where some of comics most outlandish and fascinating stories began. One thing you'll find won't improve is Kirby's dialogue, which is often ungainly and at times painful, but the concepts and art move it all forward. And it all started with..."Jimmy Olson?"
Jimmy Olsen-Yes Kirby wanted to start where his grand plans would not be weighed down by expectations. But Olsen didn't work out. DC in their fear of change redrew Superman's face, a noticeable and odd action that actually distracted from the art. The art also suffered from the inking of Vince Colletta, an inker known for his speed, not his talent. The story kicks right into gear re-introducing The Newsboy Legion and The Guardian in the midst of stories about cloning run wild. I wish I could say it works, but this was a bad fit from the beginning. A Don Rickles storyline? Ouch!
The Forever People- This group of "super kids," as Superman refers to them, is visually interesting, but lacks the template that Kirby puts in place for The New Gods or Mister Miracle. The characters remain ciphers and with the exception of Big Bear, the well-spoken strong man no one stands out in these early stories. The deus ex machina of Infinity Man, who arrives when The Forever People switch places with him, makes the stories predictable form early on.
Mister Miracle- Kirby's master escape artist plays to Kirby's strengths. Kirby's incredible mechanical designs with their futuristic, almost organic feel, coupled with the constant action makes these comics come alive in ways that Jimmy Olsen and the Forever People do not. Creating a very likeable lead with Scott Free, Mr. Miracle has all the elements that will make it the most successful of Kirby's series.
The New Gods- This is the book where Kirby's ideas really come to fruition. The setting of New Genesis with its pastoral beauty against the techno-horror of Apokolips is a wonder, but the characters are the true essence of the story. The brutal warrior, Orion becomes New Genesis' main champion against the menace of Darkseid and his minions. Kirby starts this book with immediate action moving the battleground from Apokolips to Earth and creating a sense of impending danger much more forcefully then he does in the other books.
While not as successful here as he will be in later stories, Kirby sets the tone for his work in Volume I. If your reliving your youth have fun, and if you are new, hang on; the ride gets better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doing right by the King, July 15, 2007
Jeez, some of you guys are scary. Sadly, not knowing what constitutes "newsprint" is only a symptom. The paper stock this collection is printed on is much thicker, and holds ink far better than newsprint. As a friend of mine said, you can actually read this book in daylight, because it's not as absurdly glossy and reflective as the usual high-end archival comics reprint collection paper. Kudos to DC for understanding and respecting the proper context for this material. Newsprint wouldn't keep, but this will. The blacks are solid, the colors are properly saturated, Kirby's story, not the paper, shines.

Things are as they should be here. Flat colour for the most part, not the absurd misuse of computer shading so prevalent in most modern material (digital color can be done right, of course, but we rarely see it in mainstream comics). No "retro" fake halftoning here. Instead, an attention to subtlety, without jarring, attention-grabbing production techniques that have nothing to do with, and add nothing to the content. Asking for anything different is akin to wanting to "improve" black and white by colouring, or line art by painting. Let's get it straight: more "realistic" is not necessarily better. Slicker, glossier, thicker, more more more, is not necessarily better. It certainly wouldn't be here.

Among the blessings we should count: the collection is beautifully designed. with the dust jacket a different image from the actual cover beneath it. That's not lazy production.

And the contents, awesome as they are, will only get better in subsequent volumes as Vince Colletta is replaced as inker by Mike Royer.

Thank you, DC. This is a classy package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Visionary Pulp Pen, July 30, 2007
This book really is a treasure. As comics embraced the "graphic novel", and time brought depth and adult themes into the four-color world, much was gained, but much was lost as well. One thing that the adult world of comics could never equal, is the sheer exuberence and wonder generated by Jack Kirby.

In its time, Kirby's Fourth World was startlingly new. It had the feel of a novel, with vast scope, playing out across four books in an interwoven tapestry of chapters. It was also a hothouse of creative energy; Kirby's sweeping imagination had free rein here.

In the beginning, and on through its middle chapters, Kirby was equal to holding this vision together coherently. Sometimes his scenes had operatic power. His critics have endlessly pointed out the childish aspects of his writing, but the point here is not a gritty realism. This story was a modern reworking of the great myths, aimed at an audience of preteens and teens, and as such, it was a source of intense wonder.

For thirty five years the Fourth World has cried out to be presented properly. In color, in the sequential order of each chapter's release,
as a hardcover. This book gives us all of that.

Some of the reviews I've read are disappointed in the paper. I could not disagree more strongly. The newsprint-feel of the paper makes it seem as
if the original comics themselves have been purged of ads and assembled between hardcovers -- exactly the look and feel that is perfect for these works.

Kirby created a world in broad strokes, bursting with vitality. Reading these works is exhilirating, and kindles a sense that imagination is the greatest power of all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars KIRBY'S LAST "GREAT" WORK, November 5, 2007
Thirteen years after his passing, Jack Kirby continues to amaze me. Kirby's move to DC in 1970 and his work on the Fourth World titles was a couple of years before I got into comics so I had never read these stories before. DC, in their "infinite" wisdom is now presenting Kirby's entire Fourth World stories in a series of hardcover Omnibus editions and the first has just recently been released. This massive 400 page book reprints Jimmy Olsen # 133 - 139, along with the first three issues of the new series' that Jack created: The Forever People, The New Gods, and Mister Miracle.

It's clear in reading these stories now that Kirby was still at the top of his game despite many who claimed he wasn't. As I read through the book I could see a number of similar themes between Jack's work on the Fourth World books to work he did at Marvel Comics on titles such as The Fantastic Four and Thor. In fact, the twin worlds of the New Gods were created as a result of The Ragnarok, which destroyed the world of the Old Guys. This work rival's Kirby's work on Thor in the late 60's when Thor was going through his cosmic period, traveling in space and confronting Galactus, Ego the Living Planet, The High Evolutionary and more. Kirby was creating a cosmic mythology several years before Jim Starlin would make his name doing the same thing over at Marvel.

The stories in the Omnibus are a mixed bag. The Jimmy Olsen stories are the weakest as Kirby was trying perhaps too hard to sound hip with the 70's hippie vernacular. I'm not sure anything could ever make Jimmy Olsen "hip". The Olsen stories did allow Kirby to reintroduce the Newsboy Legion, those loveable street kids that Kirby had created nearly thirty years earlier. I think by far the best tales were the New Gods and Mister Miracle stories. In New Gods #1 we learn of the twin worlds of New Genesis and Apokolips...opposite sides of the coin...day and night...The Highfather and Orion seem to parallel Odin and Thor. Kirby starts things quickly learning that Darkseid is already on Earth, setting his plans conquer Earth, even as Orion attacks his forces on Apokolips. The fight continues to Earth...Later Kirby introduces us to The Black Racer, a character who flies about on snow skies...hey, we thought a silver guy on a surfboard was pretty silly at first, too, didn't we? With the whole New Gods saga there is just this powerful cosmic scope that was so far ahead of it's time back in 1970 that it doesn't surprise me that the titles we cancelled after only a handful of issues. Kirby would go back to Marvel and essentially recreate the New Gods as The Eternals. Even one of Kirby's final series, Silver Star for Pacific Comics, was another turn of the same themes as the New Gods and The Eternals.

Mister Miracle is a fun title and that is so involving. Scott Free appears to be any other ordinary human when he meets the original Mister Miracle, Thaddeus Brown. Free takes over the guise when Brown is murdered. Free is the Son of The Highfather, ruler of New Genesis but in a peace agreement with Darkseid, Scott is raised on Apokolips while Orion is raised on New Genesis. He was raised in one of Granny Goodness' orphanages, eventually escaping and fleeing to Earth and using the technology of the Mother Box to perform his amazing feats of escape. Probably my favorite of all the Fourth World titles!

Now I know some people have complained about this book being printed on newsprint paper as opposed to the heavier, glossy stock of the usual DC Archive editions and it is a valid complaint. At the same time, this book is nearly twice the size of the Archive books and would have either had to have the page count reduced or had the price raised over $50, to be released in this format. And I don't know, there's just something special about Kirby's work on newsprint, I guess. Five out of Five Stars.

REVIEWED BY TIM JANSON
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definately Worth It, July 30, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Upon close examination of this book, I find the paper and binding to be just fine. The paper is thicker than newsprint and the old comic book paper, and the binding is at least partially sewn because I can see part of a thread sticking up. The binding seems quite sturdy and does not look like it will fall apart any time soon. The pages were cut evenly on my copy. The printing on the dust jacket and the hard cover itself is beautiful. There are almost 400 full color pages in this book! At the price you can buy this for on Amazon it is well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Paper and Color, July 3, 2007
By 
D.P. Merde (Gut-Bucket, South Carolina) - See all my reviews
The paper is fine. It's an improvement over the gloss. A heavy weight is always nice, but I'm all for going with matte paper, regardless, for all comic reprint editions. I actually dislike the glossy paper comics are being printed on now.

The problem I have is with the color. And I'm not talking the lack of dots Lichtenstein made so much of (though those would be great). I have some of the originals , and the color is much richer. Granted, there's the occasional offprinting and inevitable fading. But there are actually more colors being used in the originals. I thought this might just be with the covers at first. Compare a scan of the cover of the original New Gods with the one reprinted in this volume and you'll see what I mean. But the difference in color scheme extends to the interiors as well. Perhaps it's good that the originals continue to be distinguished by their inimitable patina. But one would like to see the genuine love, or at least the work ethic, matched by the reprints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kirby Unleashed!, July 3, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This volume reprints Kirby's solo work done right after leaving Marvel Comics in 1970 (after his work co-creating the Fantastic Four, the Hulk, Thor, the X-Men, and many many others). The stories represent Kirby stretching and creating something new and even more amazing than his previous work. New ideas practically litter the pages.

Oh yeah, the art is great also.

Some don't like the format much, and have given a low rating to the book. Please read their reviews, and note that their low ratings are NOT due to the content. In fact, they mostly express disappointment that these great stories are not given a better venue to shine. But virtually all agree the stories are extremely good. If you are a comics fan, or are interested in one of the most creative minds of the 20th century, you owe it to yourself to read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comics For Comics Fans, August 18, 2009
If an old comic series is reprinted on glossy paper people complaing it's too glossy and slick. Printed on newsprint people say it's too muddy. You can't win either way so best to concentrate on the stories which are the real substance here. Volume 1 begins Kirby's epic New Gods quest and while it gets off to a slow start, things gradually improve. It's fun to see such a complete world being formed and luckily we're able to come along for the ride. Personally I think the paper works just fine since older comics were drawn with the artists knowing the limitations of the paper available at the time. This is as close to the original comics without having to hunt down all those individual back issues. Recommended for Kirby fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something people overlook about the paper, July 2, 2007
Above and beyond the genius of the King and the amazing way he takes existing characters and weaves them in with brand new ones, I have to defend the publisher's choice of paper, in fact, I wish to heartily applaud it. I was really happy when I noticed it.

Maybe this is something only a true fan would know and not just a collector of things "archival" and everlasting, but one of the essential elements of buying and reading comics was the smell and texture of the paper. The deep memories that are stirred by the smell and feel of freshly-printed comics on newsprint does something that no perfectly presented high gloss paper ever could. Okay, you've grown up and you want to ennoble a pop art form from your childhood into a new kind of high folk art, but even Rauschenberg made his combines with the notion that they would be falling apart in a few decades. Let the museums and owners fret about the condition of the pieces. The art pieces are living entities that will disintegrate over time like everything. Sure, you're angry that the publisher could charge so much for newsprint, but unless you read it while you're eating greasy snack food or popping those pesky neck zits, it shouldn't be a problem. And if you paid full price, you're not trying hard enough. Do you "love" any of the new titles the way they're being presented now? The computer perfection, the oversaturated colors? Where's the room for my imagination? Why do I feel like I'm just being sold another videogame or movie or bankrolling someone's screenplay-in-progress at $3 an issue? I don't think the publisher had my sensory triggers in mind when the paper was chosen, but it's an accidental boon and I'm glad.

Love the comics as they really were and be satisfied the colors are so sharp and that printers dots weren't also part of it. That might have just been too much for your delicate sensibilities or the resale value of your Roy Liechtenstein prints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Jack Kirby's Fourth World Omnibus Vol. 1
Jack Kirby's Fourth World Omnibus Vol. 1 by Jack Kirby (Paperback - December 6, 2011)
Used & New from: $57.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.