Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Repairman is Born!, April 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jack: Secret Vengeance (Repairman Jack Novels) (Hardcover)
Perhaps the best in Wilson's "Young Jack" series. Although labeled a book for Young Adults, it really is a Repairman Jack novel, and in a certain sense, the first one, chronologically speaking. For the first time, we see Jack acting like the character he will become, avenging a friend and striking back at someone, not through mindless violence, but with cunning and subtlety, by exploting the enemy's weak points. (Mind you, as someone who started reading Repairman Jack back in the 1980s in the original version of the THE TOMB, it is still a bit of shock to find that Jack's history has been reworked so that now he is a teenager in the '80s.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Fast Paced Novel, February 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Wife and I both finished reading the third and final edition of young Repairman Jack in less than a day. Later, we agreed it was an outstanding book and a fitting climax to the series. We enjoyed the parade of reoccurring characters sprinkled in other RJ novels: RJ's siblings; lady and her dog; alcoholic glove wearing hobo; white suit wearing Septimus Actuator; future gun selling Saul; and even the pre-teen kid buying target marbles (Nightkill)in RJ's second hand store. 1983 Johnson, New Jersey must have been a busy year for Young Jack. He must have worn out his bicycle driving to all his adventures, day and night. Plus, he was working two part-time jobs and going to school full time. Of course to a 14 year old, that one year must have dragged on to seem like five years. I think I would like to read the adventures of an older RJ, in his mid-to late 20s. Dr. Wilson could call the series: The Developing Repairman Jack. When the RJ character is first introduced, he has all his skills finely honed, with a few demons percolating under the surface.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than I expected., December 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Since this was a book geared for young adults I did not think I would enjoy it quite as much as the repairman Jack novels. But it is acutally pretty good. It shows you how Jack became the man he did, has a decent mystery to solve and great pop culture references.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars young repairman jack, September 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jack: Secret Vengeance (Hardcover)
For those familiar with the repairman jack series this book is a good start to fill in the blanks that make up our favorite fixit man. For younger readers which is the audience the book series is targeting, this book is a good, easy read with just a bit of mystery and the supernatural mixed in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, June 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My local Library has the 1st 2 of this series but not the 3rd. I bought it so I could finish the series. I own the entire Repairman Jack series so this book puts another notch in my belt. I feel they were a great series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great cont of Jack's adventures, June 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
F.Paul Wilson has done it again. I enjoy reading about the repairman's adventures. Action packed, and keeps your attention to the last page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read for young adults and up, March 10, 2014
This is a great end to a fantastic young adult series. With this entry, you see Jack's thoughts focusing on the future and where his choices will ultimately lead him to be the man we discovered in Wilson's The Tomb. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and have come to love the characters. Even if you have not read Wilson's Repairman Jack novels this book is still a great read and I would recommend this series for anyone looking to purchase books for a young adult, where intelligence and cleverness are employed over violence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, February 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great book not only for teens but for adults. It has situations that teens deal with at some point in their young life and it's very entertaining!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Adventure, January 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book, and the two others that make up the series, are as good as the "Repairman Jack" stories Wilson wrote for adults. Of course some of the scenes are toned-down for the younger reader (Wilson does have, it seems, a well developed sense of propriety), but that doesn't stop them from being first-rate adventure novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Actually wish these had been written earlier., December 22, 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "LzB" (Thornton, CO United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
These books explain so much of how Repairman Jack and the secret world crowd came to be. I'd gotten a little tired of the trend the Jack books had taken but now that I see the logic I'm going to finish the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Jack: Secret Vengeance (Repairman Jack Novels)
Jack: Secret Vengeance (Repairman Jack Novels) by F. Paul Wilson (Hardcover - February 1, 2011)
$15.99 $14.39
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.