Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blood n' Guts n' Magic Beans
Excellent book! Jack's Magic Beans is a novella with four bonus stories, all of which are superb. You want blood and guts? You got it. You want great writing that pulls you in and doesn't let go? You got it. It's all here and I suggest this book to anyone who loves good, well written horror.

"Jack's Magic Beans" was my favorite of the five stories, though...
Published on April 10, 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Collection of Keene's Short Stories
First let me state for the record that I like Brian Keene's work. I thought Earthworm Gods was incredible and The Rising and its sequel occupied my thoughts for weeks. Though normally I'm not into splatterpunk, Keene's novels are for me a treat.

But to be honest, I don't think that the short story format is Keene's forte. Several of Keene's strengths are the...
Published 18 months ago by Craig Alan Loewen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars LOVED, June 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jack's Magic Beans (Kindle Edition)
Brian Keene has done it again. I can't wait to read all of his books he always keeps me on my toes he is so creative! He is just a horror master, this series is awesome Great series of stories in this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Gore Fiends Wet Dream, March 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jack's Magic Beans (Kindle Edition)
Incredibly gory. The title sounds stupid at first, but it's actually really appropriate. I would recommend this book who likes lots of gore and is tired of the typical zombie story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story!!!, March 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jack's Magic Beans (Paperback)
I'm a new Brian Keene fan! This book was rather short pages-wise, and larger than I expected, but the stories in it rocked my socks off!! I loved this book!!! And will now be reading lots more of Brain Keene! He does not disappoint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars . . ., January 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jack's Magic Beans (Paperback)
Keene's back at it with a violent zombie-esque tale, somewhat reminiscent (for me, at least) of Stephen King's The Mist. Deadite Press has been doing a good job of bringing some of Keene's out-of-print work back into the marketplace, and this is proof that that was a good idea. In addition to the title tale, there are four other OOP short stories, adding that much more bang for the buck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars First story is the best, the rest are throw aways, June 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jack's Magic Beans (Paperback)
The first short story is one of Keene's best (Jack's magic beans). This should of been a full novel on its own. Keene needs to expand this ASAP!

The other stories are not nearly as good and some are approx. 2 or 3 pages long, leaving much to be desired. The glimmers of hope are the "Exit" stories. These have glimmers of hope, but sadly are wayyyyyyyy to short (4 or 5 pages long). Hopefully Keene does what he hints at in the afterward, and writes a full blown novel about this character, that would be awesome!!! There are so many layers to this character. Even though you can read the Exit stories in about 10 minutes, they are worth the price of this book by themselves at just seeing what could be possible with this character. It will definitely leave you wanting more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jack's Magic Beans is horrifyingly genius!, June 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jack's Magic Beans (Paperback)
This is the first time I have read a book by this Author. I enjoyed his work and look forward to purchasing another book in the future. His stories are not for the faint of heart however, so be forewarned... If you enjoy that type of story you are in for a treat! I enjoyed all of the stories but I liked the first story the best! Brian Keene, you are true horror genius!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extreme Horror- The Stuff of Nightmares!!!!, April 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jack's Magic Beans (Kindle Edition)
This is a vile, disgusting, blood-soaked story set in a grocery store. This is one of Keene's best and the premise of why there are are some people still alive and "Normal" is a wild one.

Simply put, Keene weaves another nightmare of people losing their grip on sanity and I was happy to take the ride and read this masterpiece.

JK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Short Stories Which You'll Get Through in Under an Hour, March 5, 2012
By 
James N Simpson (Gold Coast, QLD Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jack's Magic Beans (Paperback)
Brian Keene's Jack's Magic Beans is a collection of five short stories, the title one being the longest, the middle three being a couple of minutes reads and the last being about ten minutes at most. All up you'll get through the five in under an hour which may impact on what price you are willing to pay for it. The short time it takes you to read them though, will be a very entertaining time, the title story is the best written of the five. It reminded me of my experience reading Stephen King's The Mist, a short story set in the aftermath of an event that has brought terror the occupants of a supermarket who have no idea if the world they used to know exists once they leave the safety of their hiding place. The aspect that reminds me the most is that like with the Mist, there is no ending and you've become completely hooked in what is going on and are disappointed the author didn't turn the tale into a full length novel. If you liked the title story you might want to check out the novel Hater by David Moody. It has a similar plot but with more meat to the plot. In fact it ended up being a trilogy (however it probably should have stopped after the first sequel as the third went off track from the plot). The point is you should at least check out the initial Hater novel which can be read as a standalone read. I'd love to see Jack's Magic Beans turned into a movie but I think if a movie on this theme was going to be made they'd go with Moody's book as it has a lot more stuff happening simply because it is a novel and this one's a short story.

The four other stories are good, I probably would have liked the final one more if I hadn't read Jack's Magic Beans as it has a bit of parallel plot for the most part. Basically an upper class couple who are realising they're becoming boring older people to the fun young partygoers they used to be. A homeless man tells them to check out a play called Yellow, as does a woman during a disturbing incident during dinner.

The other three, Without You is the tale of a guy who begins the story by killing himself, and I am an Exit accompanies a man who is comforting a dying man who is bleeding to death on the side of the road. It is too short to tell you anything more, This is Not an Exit is a sequel to that tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars MAGIC stories, November 17, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jack's Magic Beans (Paperback)
Thank you DEADLITE press for re-releasing more great Brian Keene stories. Although I have read some of these stories before was happy to finally read the short THIS IS NOT AN EXIT. This book is a welcome additional to all my other Keene books in my library. If you have not read Brian Keene and you consider youself a fan of the genre...you are not! READ him now!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jack's Magic Beans, October 10, 2011
This review is from: Jack's Magic Beans (Paperback)
Jack's Magic Beans is a short story collection of horror maestro Brian Keene and released by Deadite Press. But be warned - if you've read previous the story collections Unhappy Endings, No Rest For The Wicked and Fear Of Gravity (all of which are now long out of print) then you will recognise the stories. If you have missed out of those previous collections then this will be well worth it.

The main story involves a world gone mad where everyone has gone insane and has started killing each other and the few people unaffected need to work to stay together and work out what they have in common which keeps them from going insane too. This is one of those stories where you wish it was longer as you really start to get involved in the world when it ends. After this main story is four short stories (Without You, I Am An Exit, This Is Not An Exit, and 'The King', In: YELLOW) containing murder, suicide and dead rock stars.

The collection of stories is solid, with plenty of story and gore to please any horror fan; but like I've mentioned if you are a Keene fan then some will be familiar to you but these stories are well worth re-reading; and if your new to Keene then this will show you what he is capable of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Jack's Magic Beans
Jack's Magic Beans by Brian Keene
$4.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.