Customer Reviews


190 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (24)
1 star:
 (83)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for AFGHAN/Farsi/Pashto channels
I bought this specifically for my parents because our satellite dish wasn't picking up all the Afghan channels that were available, and more so because all my mom's sisters have a Jadoo 3 and she didn't - can't let that happen.

I was weary about the Jadoo 3's user interface - that it would be too confusing for my parents to navigate, and coupled with the poor...
Published 6 months ago by Faheem

versus
75 of 91 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good technology but not for what it does.
It is difficult to review a product like Jadoo3. As a technology piece it is great. It has a smooth interface, it has tons of content that it aggregates from all over the internet and it has some decent apps that modern Smart TVs and DVD Players have. However what most people get it for is to watch South Asian TV channels that are not available on Cable or Satellite here...
Published 19 months ago by Arun B. Nayar


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 91 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good technology but not for what it does., December 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JadooTV Jadoo3-Full HD (1080p) Set-top IPTV Box (Electronics)
It is difficult to review a product like Jadoo3. As a technology piece it is great. It has a smooth interface, it has tons of content that it aggregates from all over the internet and it has some decent apps that modern Smart TVs and DVD Players have. However what most people get it for is to watch South Asian TV channels that are not available on Cable or Satellite here in the US, or are grossly overpriced if available. And in this respect, Jadoo fails. There are a few channels that comes added out of the box, and these work fine. But these are channels nobody has heard of or care to watch.

Now Jadoo has a really slick feature where as a user you can go on their website and add a url to a streaming link for any channel. Visitng the Jadoo site, there are over 1000 such links added to the website and growing each day. The big problem is these are user added content that is not checked to see if they work, and is also not entirely legal. Also the search interface on the website is terrible as nothing comes up when you search. So your only option to go page by page and subscribe to a channel and then check in Jadoo if it actually works. We followed this tedious process for a whole weekend and managed to find about 20 popular Indian channels and we were happy. However 3 days later, all the links we found and subscribed to, were down. And it was back to searching and finding new content.

When you compare it with other devices of the same nature, like Apple TV, Roku or Boxee; it is hard to recommend this product because of its price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 37 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Is loosing popularity, September 27, 2013
This review is from: JadooTV Jadoo3-Full HD (1080p) Set-top IPTV Box (Electronics)
Jadoo was a big buzz amongst South Asian communities in North America until last year. It was the best alternative to dish TV for FTA channels. Unfortunately, It is losing its strength with the new changes.
I was recommending the streamer for families in the past. I bought one for myself a few months ago when I moved to a condo from a house. I was happy with it at the beginning; I wrote a few good reviews for it. However, I would like to take all my positive comments now after the new changes it brought. The new changes, I think is a desperate measures to grab money. EVERY TIME YOU CHANGE A CHANNGELE, YOU MUST HEAR AND WATCH FOR TWO COMMERCIALS. THE PROCESS OF LOADING THE COMMERCIALS AND THEN YOUR CHANENELE TAKES AT LEAST ONE MINUTE. It is nonsense annoying process that you have to go every time. Do yourself a favour and do not buy it until they change their stupid commercials.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Jadoo3 waste of money, December 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JadooTV Jadoo3-Full HD (1080p) Set-top IPTV Box (Electronics)
Jadoo2 is amuch better product,jadoo 3 is fasle advertisement. I cannot subscribe to movies as i can on jadoo2. Icalled their helpline they said at moment I cannot, case closed my money wasted,thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for AFGHAN/Farsi/Pashto channels, January 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JadooTV Jadoo3-Full HD (1080p) Set-top IPTV Box (Electronics)
I bought this specifically for my parents because our satellite dish wasn't picking up all the Afghan channels that were available, and more so because all my mom's sisters have a Jadoo 3 and she didn't - can't let that happen.

I was weary about the Jadoo 3's user interface - that it would be too confusing for my parents to navigate, and coupled with the poor reviews here, I was really hesitant about ordering it. But unlike purchasing the Jadoo 3 from an Afghan/iranian/Indian market, Amazon has a Nordstrom-like return policy so I bought it here to give it a try. I'm glad I did.

Setting it up was a breeze because it has a setup wizard that walks you through it. Once you choose your region, internet connection and set the time, you're ready to go. Click over to "My Jadoo" and then "Live TV" and you'll get a visually pleasing and simple interface that lets you choose between Afghan, Indian, pakistani, iranian, Turkish, Arabic, Somali, and English (UK) channels. The Jadoo 3 itself is about the size of an Apple TV.

Once you select your category (Afghan, of course) you're faced with 80+ Afghan channels including recent favorites like GEM USA and GEM TV, and the usual suspects (Ariana Int'l, Payam e Afghan, Nooor TV (yes they spell it with three O's), Tolo, Zarin, et al). Select a channel, and the live streaming of that channel begins in a few seconds. That's it.

The interface is cleaner than a satellite + box combo, while the picture quality and resolution is considerably better. Remember, Jadoo 3 connects via a HDMI cable (included in the box!).
Also included in the box is an Ethernet cable, remote, batteries for the remote, RCA cable, and even a WiFi-USB dongle if you want to go wireless.

I chose to hard-wire it with an Ethernet cable to minimize lag and buffering, because imagine if it froze/buffered in the middle of Khetab's "aylaan-e-foutee" (funeral announcement/obituary) - then my funeral would be the next one announced.

After a 15-minute tutorial to show my mom and dad how to use it, they quickly got the hang of it. It's as simple as clicking up/down/right/left/enter on the remote, kind of like Contra.

I understand that some of the complaints for Jadoo 3 was because movie streaming was sub-par, broken channels, etc. but if you're just looking for an alternative and easy way to get Afghan channels in your home, this is it. Don't let the poor reviews fool you. Sure, Jadoo 3 may not work well for the expanded uses it offers, but I won't be using it for that so that doesn't matter.

If you want access to channels that air endless music videos of 30-something to 40-something year-old Afghan dudes from Europe, wearing improperly tied silver neckties with a red shirt and "designer" jeans and sunglasses (indoors), a patch of hair under their bottom lip, singing "sampled" songs while their wife dances in front of a 1998 Mercedes SLK200; and your apartment building doesn't allow satellite dishes, then get the Jadoo 3.

If your parents want to listen and heed the advice of an Afghan "doctor" during a one-hour show open to anonymous phone calls, with a copyrighted photo of the Golden Gate bridge in the background, rather than their board-certified physician at Kaiser-Permanente, then get the Jadoo 3.

I'll update my review as time goes on as to whether the Jadoo 3 is still successfully bringing Jalali's Shabkhand into my parents' living room.

UPDATE MARCH 15, 2014:
The Jadoo system still works great, the channels are clear and it's still very easy to use.

UPDATE APRIL 12, 2014:
Jadoo now runs either two 15-second commercials or one 30-second commercial every time you change the channel. It didn't do this when we first bought it. No big deal though - 30 seconds is a short amount of time to wait for otherwise free programming without a monthly subscription and channels inaccessible via satellite. The ads are either ethnic or American. Still doesn't affect the functionality or usability.

*Side note: viewers of Afghan shows call the host of the show to complain that their Jadoo box is buffering too much, then they ask the host to repeat what they missed because of the buffering.

PUBLIC SERVICE ANNOUNCEMENT FOR AFGHANS: Khalil Raghib has nothing to with your Jadoo box, even though the word "Jadoo" translates to "magic" in Farsi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jadoo3, October 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JadooTV Jadoo3-Full HD (1080p) Set-top IPTV Box (Electronics)
Jadoo3-Full HD (1080P0 Set-Top IPTV Box did not meet my expections. Whenever I try to down load users favourite programs through You Tube, it send the following message:

We are currently facing problem with server please try again

I am not happy and I would like to return it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolute waste, March 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JadooTV Jadoo3-Full HD (1080p) Set-top IPTV Box (Electronics)
Initially was decent. Then they took out all the good channels. Then they added annoying ads before buffering any channel. It feels like they are more ad displaying service, not desi cable. You end up watching ads 75% of time. Worst decision buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not as expected. Disappointed, October 27, 2012
By 
ap (Des Plaines, IL, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: JadooTV Jadoo3-Full HD (1080p) Set-top IPTV Box (Electronics)
Not as expected. Lots of features of Jadoo 2 is not their and freezes in the middle of the movie/shows unexpectedly. Features like search, shows by channel, fast forward with multiple speed are unavailable which is available in Jadoo 2.
Expected more features then Jadoo 2. ( 2 features + new features). Hopefully, they would fix the firmware and add all the good features of Jadoo 2 in Jadoo 3 ASAP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoying it thus far, October 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JadooTV Jadoo3-Full HD (1080p) Set-top IPTV Box (Electronics)
Video quality is sometimes a little lackluster but all in all, it works!

Wish it had the ability to stream NetFlix, Amazon Prime, other services.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad, consider zero star if possible, October 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: JadooTV Jadoo3-Full HD (1080p) Set-top IPTV Box (Electronics)
Very Bad server problem, most online tv channels do not run, always display undate firmware notice even no updates available, new movies have not been updated since 1 month of my subscription, famous indian dramas are not included, cannot install popular apps like ndtv etc, consider a piece of junk unless it is updated with more indian channels/tv dramas and movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars These people are bunch of scammers, April 12, 2014
This review is from: JadooTV Jadoo3-Full HD (1080p) Set-top IPTV Box (Electronics)
I bought original jadoo 3 years ago and it was promised to be "free" for good once bought. This group of people does not understand ethics and professional honesty and stop supporting the old products once they have a new version. Just know that all they say is lies and you will loose service after sometime and they will have no shame saying " sorry, nothing is forever" this is the answer I just got from their customer service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

JadooTV Jadoo3-Full HD (1080p) Set-top IPTV Box
$249.00 $179.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.