Robin non-member

Buy New

Includes FREE MP3
version
of this album.
or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Very Good See details
$0.16 + $3.99 shipping
Sold by Zoverstocks.

or
 
   
More Buying Choices
MUSICROCKSUSA Add to Cart
$11.79  & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Jagged Little Pill Acoustic
 
See larger image and other views
 

Jagged Little Pill Acoustic

Alanis MorissetteAudio CD
3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (103 customer reviews)

Price: $12.07 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
 : Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.
   Provided by Amazon Digital Services, Inc. Terms and Conditions. Does not apply to gift orders.
Only 9 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Monday, July 14? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Complete your purchase to save the MP3 version to music library.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
MP3 Music, 13 Songs, 2005 $9.49  
Audio CD, 2005 $12.07  

Amazon's Alanis Morissette Store

Music

Image of album by Alanis Morissette

Photos

Image of Alanis Morissette

Biography

On her new album Havoc and Bright Lights, Alanis Morissette distills her entire body of work into its closing track “Edge of Evolution.” “…we’re ready to push envelopes into full-blown consciousness,” she declares in the final verse. “The evolution of our consciousness can be such a lofty, overly heady, and, frankly, confusing conversation for ... Read more in Amazon's Alanis Morissette Store

Visit Amazon's Alanis Morissette Store
for 122 albums, 10 photos, discussions, and more.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Includes FREE MP3 version of this album Here's how (restrictions apply)

Frequently Bought Together

Jagged Little Pill Acoustic + Jagged Little Pill
Price for both: $17.07

Buy the selected items together
  • Jagged Little Pill $5.00


Product Details

  • Audio CD (July 26, 2005)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Maverick
  • ASIN: B0009WFF0Y
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (103 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #39,949 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. All I Really Want
2. You Oughta Know
3. Perfect
4. Hand In My Pocket
5. Right Through You
6. Forgiven
7. You Learn
8. Head Over Feet
9. Mary Jane
10. Ironic
11. Not The Doctor
12. Wake Up

Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com

To mark the 10-year anniversary of the 30 million-selling Jagged Little Pill, Alanis Morissette decided to release an acoustic version of the very same 13 songs. A little more sung than screamed, Jagged Little Pill Acoustic is certainly less edgy than the original, but then again, so is Alanis herself. Now a 30-something Grammy-winner, she has far less to be angst-y about. The disc opens with one of its highlights, a slightly East Indian-tinged "All I Really Want" which includes a more controlled vocal than the original, backed by Arabic-influenced instrumentation. The new take is most charming, as is "Right Through You" which proves to be another case of improving on the original. Morissette's vocals soar through the chorus, now swooping over a host of (once again) Eastern-influenced strings. The vitriolic "You Oughtta Know"--perhaps the most rockin' track on the original CD--is now more contemplative in it's pace and sensibility, as is "You Learn"'s new mellower melody.

So there are moments of beauty, but also some of the same old, same old. Why, then, does one need this disc? For die-hard fans, the curio factor is reason enough. Marginal Alanis fans, those who found the original too screechy, will get the chance to hear the songs toned-down. Those looking for something different, however, should be aware that this is the entire Jagged disc, start to finish. For a woman who once used lyrics to shock listeners, there's nothing terribly shocking about this new CD. Isn't it ironic? --Denise Sheppard

Product Description

Alanis Morissette's Jagged Little Pill Acoustic is an "au natural" revisiting of the cultural zeitgeist that was her 15-million selling 1995 debut. The songs on this diamond anniversary acoustic album will appear in the same order as they did on the original album, including the hidden track, 'Your House'. The CD package also includes special footage from the original album's era, as well as other bonus features. Maverick. 2005.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
48 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sincere Tribute To the Best Recording of the '90's July 27, 2005
Format:Audio CD
"Re-recording these songs ten years later has been such a great opportunity to honor them in a way I could not do 10 years ago," observes singer/songwriter Alanis Morissette in the liner notes to "Jagged Little Pill Acoustic," an album of sparse, low-key interpretations of the 13 songs that comprised "Jagged Little Pill," her 1995 debut album that thrust the then 21 year-old Canadian siren into the vanguard of the alternative music scene and mid-90's pop culture. The record went on to sell 30,000,000 copies worldwide; the highest-selling album ever by a female artist.

It is an interesting concept; a tribute album to one's one album, but the end result is better than one might think. "Acoustic" serves as a sharp reminder of what everyone loved about Morissette a decade ago when she first surfaced on worldwide radar, and with Glen Ballard again filling the role as the album's producer, the results sound true to the original.

Indeed, her "angry" vocal performances in songs such as "Right Through You" or "You Oughta Know," which gained her instant notoriety as her debut single, are considerably more restrained now. And while some may at first dismiss the idea of hearing these songs sung without their original ferocity, they are still worth the time.

"You Oughta Know" is the clearest indication that Morissette was able to change the direction of some of the material, as if to challenge the interpretation listeners immediately had to the song. To be sure, the original was carried along by raw anger, and appropriately so. Nevertheless, she has always maintained that she herself finds the song as being more sad than angry, and this time her vocals sound distinctly more vulnerable.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
54 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb Evolution Of A Woman July 26, 2005
Format:Audio CD
When I first heard that Alanis Morissette planned on releasing an acoustic version of her most popular album "Jagged Little Pill," I was a bit nervous. I personally didn't see the point, and thought that a re-issue of the original album would have been better. However, would there have been any point in releasing it again? Doesn't everyone in the English-speaking world already own this album? My thoughts exactly. So this album came out yesterday in England and I bought my copy in a record store, took it home, and was pretty much blown away. I now realise how important it was for Alanis to re-record these songs exactly 10 years after she originally did.

Back in 1995, Miss Morissette was a dangerous and angst-ridden young vixen. Her guttural moans and screeching became her trademark on an album so emotional, powerful and full of pain. Ten years later, her voice has softened in reflection to her increasing happiness. The angst has been replaced with love. Love for life, love for her husband, and love for her dear friends. It's beautiful to see this transformation, because it's so natural and pure. I bought Jagged Little Pill in October 2002, not expecting much, and coming away realising that it is my favourite album of all time and that it always, always will be. The music isn't the most complex I've ever heard, the lyrics aren't the best, but good God, the sound of the album touches me in more ways than I ever thought possible.

In the three years that I've owned the original album, it has to be the most played record in my collection. I never tire of it, and that is the sound of a classic album in my eyes. People think it's overrated, but they obviously aren't touched like many by the music Alanis is singing. Is this album a masterpiece? In my eyes it definitely is.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "AWESOME" Does not do this CD justice!!! July 21, 2005
Format:Audio CD
I am so utterly impressed with this CD!! Alanis has such an exceptional voice and it really shines in this acoustic version that truly pays tribute to the original.

If you are one that knows every note from the original release and are offended by slight alterations, maybe this CD isn't for you. This interpretation adds wonderful new fluctuations that showcases her vocal range. The acoustic instrument arrangements are exceptional and add a lot of emphasis in just the right locations to enhance the flavor of every song.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She made the great even greater July 27, 2005
Format:Audio CD
I wrote up a song-by-song analysis of this album as I listened to it for a friend of mine, and rather than summarize my opinion of this album, I'm just going to paste in what I wrote to my friend. For those of you who have no desire to read a song-by-song analysis, suffice it to say that this album is AMAZING both in addition to the original OR as a stand-alone CD.

I'm going to give you a song-by-song analysis...

1. All I Really Want -- Great version. You can really hear the growth in her vocal abilities in this song, and it's a great opener still!

2. You Oughta Know -- I like this version, but it can't hold a candle to the MTV Unplugged version, which continues to give me goosebumps.

3. Perfect -- Just beautiful. wow....

4. Hand In My Pocket -- HOLY COW.... I loved this song before, of course, but this version is just...wow... The new chord progressions are awesome! This is a perfect example of how you can take a song that was already great and make it better even by changing the core of its sound (the chords used).

5. Right Through You -- This song's okay, but it seems to lose a little oomph in this version. You can hear her emotion, but it's diminished by the quietness of the accompaniment.

6. Forgiven -- "My brothers, they never went blind for what they did." Still my favorite line in this song. This version is just as powerful as the original. The one difference, however, is that in the original, you can hear/feel her anger and frustration, but this time around, the anger and rage have dissolved into a very noticeable pain and heartache that was probably there to begin with, but masked by the gritty sound. MMm...powerful. Is that some Spanish guitar I hear in there? Interesting! Nice touch.

7.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
excellent
Published 2 days ago by Jose Angel Martinez Sampson
4.0 out of 5 stars Alanis doesn't dissapoint
Alanis didn't disappoint in this classic Cd Remake of "Jagged Little Pill"! The Acoustic's were fabulous and her voice is beautiful!
Published 3 months ago by Kevin Cote
5.0 out of 5 stars George K
I think this acoustic version is actually better than the studio version....more emotional and stripped down without all of the over production.
Published 5 months ago by Gerge Klavins
5.0 out of 5 stars Great cd
This is a definite must have for Alanis Morissette fans. It's a great addition to the original cd. Love it!
Published 6 months ago by Jan
5.0 out of 5 stars So Good
It doesn't get much better than Alanis Morissette acoustic. I'm just sad that I've been missing out on this album for year now; it's so good!
Published 7 months ago by Casey Friday
4.0 out of 5 stars good
I really like this album. I did not enjoy it as much as the original version when it came out, though. But then again, I'm not in my 20's anymore and this is isn't the 90s.
Published 7 months ago by Hyme Dagreat
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this better than the original version
I like the original versions now, even though I've heard them hundreds of times. But, I love these acoustic versions even better. All of them. Read more
Published 9 months ago by G. M. Matthews
2.0 out of 5 stars Blah
Can't compare to the original. I had high hopes, but I didn't like it. I love, and often prefer, acoustic versions of most everything but not this particular album. Read more
Published 11 months ago by T-Su
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love JLP - then this is for you
I'm a big fan of Alansis and of acoustic guitar. This CD was taylor made for me. The soul searching lyrics of this album are even stronger when you slow down the tempo and put the... Read more
Published 12 months ago by Mr. Six
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it
Great, quickly arrived, great shape.I liked it a lot. Why do I have to say so many words to submit to this thing?? I liked it!
Published 16 months ago by Elisa Kerr
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?



Look for Similar Items by Category