Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Jaguar Queen (The Sheriff Jimmy Harris Series Book 1)
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 19, 2013
The first few pages really drew me in with deftly built suspense and a great sense of location. Besides a ridiculous lack of basic proofreading (punctuation, misused words, etc.),the author does a decent job with narrative. The main problems are two. First, he assumes that his readers are pretty slow witted and uninformed and need the simplest things spelled out ad nauseum. Second, this is some of the clunkiest dialogue ever. Who besides a sleazy salesman repeats the name of the person to whom they're speaking in every other sentence? I started to wonder if the author was afraid I'd forget who the participants were. And again, the dizzying misuse of quote marks and commas was distracting. This could have been a really fun story with the help of an experienced editor and proofreader.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2012
The Jaguar Queen is another great read by James Wharton! He sucked me in from the very beginning, when an archaeological artifact thief (and old town sheriff, and son of a US senator) ends up dead, the victim of what appears to be some sort of mythical demon creature. But is it a demon, or is it something much more, something almost immortal, something Mayan?

What I noticed most while reading the jaguar queen was how quickly the plot progressed. There was no sluggishness about, no waiting and hoping that the author would just get on with it... (will ya!) The plot moves fast and the details are sharp enough to keep me waiting for more.

I would personally recommend The Jaguar Queen to anyone interested in myth, the desert southwest, or the supernatural. I love all three so five stars was the only logical review to give!

Enjoy it, I know I did.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2012
There are a lot of good reasons The Jaguar Queen is a very rewarding read. Not the least of these is the main character, Jimmy Harris, who takes on the Mexican drug cartels as he tries to solve the death of U.S. Senator's son. The suspense builds when a daughter he never met is drawn into the conflict. The stakes increase dramatically when a beautiful cartel boss and ancient Mayan queen enter the story. The town mayor, a panicky, sometimes comical guy who means well adds the requisite chaos and the chilling loner Indian Joe haunts the desert. The book is exciting and engaging. I couldn't put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2012
The Jaguar Queen is an excellent tale with a number of twists that make it an exciting read. Characters are well developed and the authror has a style that is pleasing and captures interest and keeps the yarn worth attention. Descriptions are comlete and carry a vivid imprint to the reader....something many authors miss. Jim Wharton knows how to capture a story line and draws the reader into the plot with expectation and like O'Henry, provides a surprise moment. An excellent adventure read.
BJK.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2012
Enigmatic characters come together concealing their mysterious intentions to create a world that the reader can't avoid journeying into. Read The Jacguar Queen and begin the journey!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2012
The Jaguar Queen is a thrilling story about the drug wars in Arizona and the fight between good and evil. Fast read with lots of crazy twists and turns. If you like a book packed with action and characters to root for, you will enjoy this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2012
What a great book! I could hardly put the book down! Very exciting and interesting! You must read this book!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2012
The book is the best since Robert Parker's Jesse Stone Series. It is filled with interesting characters, exciting twists and turns, and thrilling adventure.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2012
I read this thinking it was a mystery and it was in more ways than one. The supernatural aspect was quite unexpected, but did add to the book nicely. Overall an interesting story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2013
A great mixture of truth & myth,police procedural & fantasy, modern day troubles & past legends. Thoroughly enjoyable; a quick, easy read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$2.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.