Back to Business Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon St Lucia Bose SoundTouch 130 Amazon Fire TV Stick Luxury Beauty Valentine's Day Cards Create an Amazon Wedding Registry Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now SnS

  • Jail
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars7
5 star
86%
4 star
0%
3 star
14%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:$13.23+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 22, 2000
You would expect somebody named "Big Mamma" to belt the blues out in a big, gravelly voice that suggests that she has seen it and done it all. Big Momma delivers all of that in "Jail." Big Momma provides old time blues the way it used to be and all too often seldom is anymore. You can smell the tobacco smoke and spilled wiskey when you listen to her. This is blues for hard working, hard drinking people. If you like your blues rough around the edges, this CD is for you. Personally, it is one my top 5 and I never get tired of listening to it.
0Comment13 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2008
I really enjoyed this CD. It has the essence of Big Mama and is recorded in the Pacific NW which is my home region. I enjoy the little bit of dialogue and as with all of her work Big Mama is a joy to listen to for her vocal talents. She seems to have the backing of a good band which was not always the case in her career. I don't understand why she doesn't have more of a following. I guess it just has to do with the Blues genre being mostly embraced by gray-beards like myself...
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2008
Big Mama Thornton is the most astounding blues belter there ever was. This cd is probably her best; made more powerful by the interaction with the prisoners. This is the real deal honey.
0Comment3 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2010
Big Mama Thornton is a great blues singer. Her heart goes into the music. She plays a mean harmonica. This CD is one you should add to your blues collection.
0Comment2 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2013
I want to point out, for the sake of accuracy, which the record co. that released this album seemed to not care too much about, that my pal J.D. Nicholson was the keyboard player on this album (NOT J.D. Nichols!!).... in 1977 i drove cross country with that old scalliwag in a beat up van, with the esteemed Derek Semler and dearest Lake in another beat up jallopy, to be J. D.'s lily white back up group in South Central... oh, those were the days.... Big Mama sitting at my drumkit in J.D.'s living room playing better drums than i could dream of, at the time.... J.D. yelling up the stairs of my apartment, "Brian... you big ole lazy BABY!! get down here!!" THE REGIS CLUB!! the ROSE ROOM with the SIMMS TWINS singing sans a PA over an electric band.... occasional gunplay.... J. D. falling asleep at the keys and you'd know it when the CHORD OF DEATH came welling out of his amp...(one night i asked Big Mama, "you knew Janis Joplin din you?" she set me straight right away!! "JANIS JOPLIN KNEW ME!!! I WAS HER BIGGEST INFLUENCE!" and, of course she was dead on!)..... how sad we have lost this rich american musical heritage to the money grubbin' mega-crap producing machine that's been getting worse every year for too long.... i guess only an actual culture can produce music of any actual worth because our present consumer culture ain't doing the trick! anyway, i'm grateful that i was allowed a small part in the creation of a line of work that stretched from Charley Patton to Otis Rush... Baby Dodds to Jack DeJohnette...at the time there was no "alternative music" because, frankly, it was ALL ALTERNATIVE!! black blues, long haired white boys on sunflower seeds, jass, Buck Owens, Sun Ra, you name it.... Ike and Tina squallin' in their front yard in Laurel Canyon! it was all make it up as you go! now it's pretty much GO AS IT's ALL MADE UP FOR YOU! but, all that ranting aside, we lost Big Mama years ago... J.D. died in 1991, result of a tragic fire... oh, that i could recover that time to play that damn shuffle beat RIGHT, DAMMIT!!! (hats off to Dip, Little Willie, Bigfoot, etc) this album was recorded during Willie Mae's long decline but still, the grit and soul show through.... she couldn't hide.... she'd wander into a club in a pinstriped black suit with a wide brim hat and the only hint of the deep soul hidden inside was her soft lady gaze.... YOU AIN'T NOTHING BUT A HOUND DOG!!!! DAMN RIGHT!!!
0Comment1 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2006
A lot of people ages 49 or younger, have never heard of Willie Mae(Big Momma)Thornton. They want to know who is she and why they have never heard of her.Many ask where can they find her music. Some have heard Janis Joplin sing "Ball and Chain' and are surprised to know that Thornon wrote and recorded this song so long ago. When I tell some that she wrote and recorded "Houndog" in the early 1950's, before many of them were born, they are further surprised as they only know that Elvis Presley recorded the song.
0Comment3 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2014
Mama Thornton is one of the best. If you're just getting into blues I recommend mama. She's got that tell blues sounds and flavor. This particular compilation is good to start with, it really gets you bluesy!
0Comment0 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$8.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.