Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now Sale

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars15
5 star
87%
4 star
13%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon January 6, 2010
John Cork and Colin Stutz have compiled in this ultimate encyclopedia of all things Bond, James Bond everything a fan could possibly want to know about this icon of the spy genre. The book is jammed from cover to cover with wonderful photographs covering such topics as the bond style, his history, vehicles, and villains and of course the Bond Girls. Each film is covered with a detailed synopsis of each assignment. The research that went into this exhaustive tome is indeed impressive and well executed. Each actor who has played 007 from the sophisticated cat like bond of Sean Connery to the cold and damaged Bond of Daniel Craig are detailed in mini biographies. The writing is sharp and witty with lots of back-story that is fascinating on each character and event in the story lines. The photographs are incredible and of course in this kind of book that is a must. this large coffee table sized book is the must have go to reference for those who like their Bond straight up and to the point.
0Comment9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2011
Posted January 4, 2011, 12:50 AM EST: I was looking for a James Bond Book that included all the movies, all the women and villains, both major and minor, all the cars, weapons and "toys." Well this is it and more,

First the negative, this book did not include the original 1954 Hallmark "Casino Royale" with Barry Nelson and the "Casino Royale" farce with David Niven and Peter Sellers. The book did include the movies from Dr. No to Quantum of Solace. Mini biographies of all the James Bond Actors, how they defined their character and synopsis on all the movies. As long as a character male and female had a single line in the movie they are in the book.

This is a must have book for the James Bond fanatic.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2011
This is an encyclopedia of Bond. I was surprised how dense and well done this reference text really is. You can either read through the entire thing like you would with a book that has a plot or you can simply jump from entry to entry. Graphically stunning.

This is a must have for anyone that wants to consider themselves a Bond fan.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2012
This gold & black hardcover book is 336 pages with an index. It includes a foreword by EON Producers, Michael G. Wilson and Barbara Broccoli. Introduction by authors, John Cook and Collin Stutz.
The book begins with a couple pages about Ian Fleming, creator & author of James Bond. One photograph is with him and Ursula Andress on the set of Dr. No (1962).
First chapter is "The Role of Bond" - a description of all actors who have played "James Bond".
Other chapters include, Bond Villains, Bond Women, Supporting Cast, Vehicles, Weapons & Equipment, and all the movies up to Quantum of Solace (2008).

I found the book interesting to look through, but the villains and supporting cast where not in a section with the movie they were in. The characters are randomly placed in the pages with a notation of what movie they were in and where their whereabouts may be.

Does not contain a credit for all those in smaller roles, however one unknown actress finally has her name revealed. The lady who played "Mrs. Pepper" in The Man With the Golden Gun (1974).
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2010
This book has it all. If you're looking for a James Bond encyclopedia with detailed descriptions, lots of behind-the-scenes pictures, and is fun to read, look no further than this book. It covers all 22 of EON Productions' Bond movies, through Quantum of Solace. Topics are divided into categories of Bond villains, girls, supporting cast members, vehicles, & gadgets and then alphabetized. Anything you can imagine that you saw in a Bond movie is in this encyclopedia. I was amazed that even the most insignificant character is discussed in this book as well. I've tried to think of anyone in a Bond movie that isn't in the encyclopedia, but have been unsuccessful! The only con I see with this product is that there's a noticable bias towards Daniel Craig and his movies, probably because they're the most recent. This bias does not in any way affect my enjoyment of the encyclopedia however. It's a great read and a great buy (especially at this price!) and I highly recommend this for any Bond fan out there!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2011
Este libro superó mis expectativas. Pensé que era otro libro aburrido lleno de apartados innecesarios y demasiado exhaustivo, con pocas imagenes. Tengo la enciclopedia de inicios de los 90s donde se daba demasiado énfasis a los filmakers mas que a los personajes de las peliculas en si. En esta nueva enciclopedia, la informacion es consisa y trata fundamentalmente sobre los que nos interesa del mundo de Bond: Bond, aliados, fammes villanos y artilugios. Hay breves apartados sobre los productores directores guionistas y actores, pero es lo de menos. Predomina un excelente diseño full color, ilustrado maravillosamente con las fotos. Muy recomendable para cualquier fan de Bond.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon January 15, 2015
James Bond Encyclopedia: Updated Edition is an essential book for my library. This is a handsome volume. I was glad that it was updated to include QUANTUM OF SOLACE. The format is very attractive. The accompanying text and photographs to each entry are concise and informative. The visual format really captures the essence of the cinematic James Bond. With QUANTUM OF SOLACE, this brings several entries up to date.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2010
I bought this book for my son, who has discovered the world of James Bond over the past couple of years. He would always ask me questions about different movies, and having not seen any of the older ones in so long, I couldn't answer most of them....this book answers any question he has now. Great product.
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2012
My husband and father are both big fans of the James Bond franchise. This comphrehensive book has been a terrific gift for both Christmas and Father's day. It is an attractive coffee table book at a good price. Would definately recommend for the hard to gift men in your life.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2010
This encyclopedia covered far more than I had ever thought it would. Excerpts on characters both big and small are well written and explanatory. This really is a book about everything bond.
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.