Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Look Park Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 4, 2012
This is by far the best Bond poster art book yet. It's 320 pages and comes in a slipcase. The inner sleeve even has a pocket that holds two mini card stock posters. One is the Italian one-sheet for "Dr No" and the other is the US one-sheet for "Octopussy." I'm not sure f they are the same for each copy. Each movie has it's own chapter and includes teaser, general release and unused poster art from US, UK, French, Italian, Japanese and other countries. Even lobby card art. It also has chapters for the 1967 "Casino Royale" and "Never Say Never Again" poster art as well as an artist index. My understanding is that the version of this book that comes with the Bond 50 BD set is an abridged version. The book is worth adding to any James Bond fan's collection...
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2012
I have been a James Bond fan since seeing "Dr. No," at age 13, at my local theater with my father. I have numerous books on Bond and the Bond films and several books on the James Bond movie posters. However, they do not come close to this book. This heavyweight hard-cover book comes in a nice hard-cover sleeve with Connery as Bond on the front cover and Roger Moore in "Octopussy" on the back. As stated this book is big and heavy. (I would not hit anyone on the head with this book as you will surely knock them out or worse.)
The book starts with "Dr. No" and concludes with the upcoming "Skyfall." On top of the official Bond films, the 1967 mess "Casino Royale" and the unnecessary Sean Connery remake of "Thunderball," "Never Say Never Again" are also included. One of the many things I love about this book are the inclusions of lobby card sets and Italian "Photobustas." Also there are translations of what is written on the non-English Bond posters, a great idea.
The one thing I really came to realize was how much nicer the painted posters from the Connery/Moore days were compared to what we are seeing today which are basically all photographs. I own several of the Bond posters and never tire of looking at the wonderful artwork on films like "You Only Live Twice" and "Live and Let Die." And while I am greatly looking forward to "Skyfall," the Bond films of the Connery/Moore years were major events to be excited about. Their posters reflected this. I'm not quite sure that it is the same thing today.
In conclusion, if your're any sort of a Bond fan at all, you must get this book.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2012
This is a goood overview of Bond posters but it is missing some key posters. The most egregious omission is the From Russia With Love door posters (James Bond Is Back!). I remember seeing this artwork on the FRWL record LP and this is what I associate most with that movie. This was the artwork that piqued my interest in the Bond films as they were becoming popular.

The festival posters are also absent: "Spend A Night With James Bond" (DN,FRWL,GF), "Can One Motion Picture Contain All this Excitement.? No..... It takes two ..... The Two Biggest Bonds of all (TB,YOLT) etc. etc.

A good book for the casual Bond fan but the serious fan wlll also want to get the James Bond Movie Posters The Official 007 Collection from 2002.
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Dorling Kindersley's rather lavish book is perhaps more of a dinner table book than a coffee table book for one simple reason: it's huge. While you'll certainly need a lot of extra space just to turn the pages (male readers risk a hernia if the try reading it in their laps), it's a terrific overview of the film series that probably more than any other changed the way films were marketed. Unfortunately, it's also an unwitting demonstration of how unimaginative modern movie posters have become, with the ingenuity and wonderful artwork by many of the great movie poster artists of all time - Frank McCarthy, Bob Peak, Robert McGinnis, Renato Casari, Jean Maschi - giving way to increasingly identikit photoshop efforts. By the time you get to Quantum of Solace action packed artwork is a thing of the past, with GQ fashion shoots seemingly the model, a tragedy when you consider how iconic many of the great Bond posters like From Russia with Love, Goldfinger, Thunderball, You Only Live Twice, On Her Majesty's Secret Service, Live and Let Die or the 1967 Casino Royale are (gratifyingly this volume doesn't pretend that the EON films are the only Bond movies). Still, it could have been more dispiriting still: time precluded including all but the sly teaser for Skyfall, which has seen the laziest photoshopped posters in the series history.

Not that photoshopping is always bad: there are some good photo montages and teasers right through to the Timothy Dalton era (though the photoshop Licence to Kill quad is still a lowpoint) even when the producers decided to go with some of the dodgier artwork produced (the Moonraker teaser is infinitely superior to the clumsy final release ones). And while the book doesn't include every variation from the days when each territory would either adapt or even create its own artwork (and there's a lot of McGinnis' work from Thunderball that is curiously missing), there's a strong selection of foreign posters and even some lobby card sets, with even the more obscure foreign artists getting credited for their work. While the physical production isn't quite up to Taschen levels, it's on good quality colour paper, though it's a bit annoying that the UK quads for each poster are spread over two pages since the sheer size and weight of the book doesn't favour that presentation. The rest of the posters are better presented, though not all the one sheets are treated to the full page format when deemed too similar to other variations. There's also some unused concepts and sketches for several of the films from the days when United Artists seemed to be consciously moving away from the classic Bond poster style. All in all it's certainly worthwhile for the Bond movie fan with deep pockets and a lot of shelf space. And if you want to avoid being depressed by the last few lazy poster outings, try reading it from the back to the front and the book magically starts to get better and better with every page!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2015
Unlike the product description, the book jacket box had more than superficial bumps to corners due to normal shelf wear. There was gouges in the jacket box along the lower edge. Also one of the two posters inside the book had been bent and creased. The book pages itself were fine and the price was ok. Just disappointed in the actual product versus the product description.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2013
Can't wait to give this book to my Bond fan step son for Christmas! Very nice quality hard bound book that is absolutely loaded with colorful images of all the movie posters from over the years and from around the world. Great buy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2012
I don't know what I was really expecting.. but this book in many ways was more than I was expecting ..but in a way I was expecting something like the older 'PostCard' books where the card could be removed and used.. and in the case of this book I thought that the reproduced posters could be 'framed' or held as individual art piece. But viewed as a history of art book I really enjoyed the back ground and the way different countries would advertise the James Bond movies! Due to the size of the book it is kind of hard to hold and read so it really needs to be placed on a table/desk to be read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2012
Bought the first version in 2002 in paperback. It was a great addition for movie poster reproductions and especially the James Bond aspect. This updated volumn is presented in a more deluxe representation i.e. slipcase and hardcover. Making it more desireable. I could'nt resist. The reproductions are the same but in hardcover. Highly recommended. C6
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2013
I chose to give this oversized (for a good reason) book on BOND posters a 5 star rating because graphically I thought it was very well laid out and illustrated. It was interesting to see the details that this country (USA) would present as opposed to other countries (Sweden, German, etc) that would present to help sell/advertise a movie. Hey, one man's hamburger, is another man's steak! Well worth the investment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2013
THIS IS A BOOK NOT MEANT FOR EVERYONE AS IT IS MAINLY USED & UNUSED PROMOTIONAL ART WITH BRIEF DESCRIPTION AND COMMENTARY ABOUT EACH PIECE IN THE BOOK. THE ARE A LOT OF GREAT POSTERS HERE AND IT IS A HUGE COFFEE TABLE BOOK AND PERFECT FOR A bOND FAN WHO IS A COMPLETIST.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.