Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: James Bond: 50 Years of Movie Posters
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 22, 2012
This book is a fast and easy read. If you are a James Bond fan, then you will really enjoy this book of movie posters. The photos are great and it's interesting to see the advance posters, unused concepts and international posters. It's a good keepsake to celebrate 50 years of James Bond!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2012
This is a MUST HAVE for any James Bond fan! Beautifully packaged, hard cover, vivid artwork! A collector's dream! Posters from all over the world, insightful information on the posters and full page renderings. A best buy for sure!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2014
This book came well packaged and right on time. The art in this book is representative of the all the Bond movies form 1962's Dr. No to 2012's Skyfall. It has beautiful reproductions of many movie posters. It you are interested in the art behind the movies this is the book for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2013
This book is a must-have for any Bond fan. It is a solid publication with great pictures, cult posters and fun facts about the franchise. It also makes a great gift. My entire family had fun browsing through it as do friends whenever they come over.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2012
I have just about every Bond book ever published, but this oversized, lavish book is now a favorite of mine. The crisp images of some of the truly rare Bond movies over the years are here...and they are BIG! My biggest complaint with books like this is that the imagery is sometimes so small, you cannot appreciate the image! That is NOT the fact with this book...it is awesome!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2012
I was extremely impressed by the weight, both physically and esthetically, of this book. Coffee table edition indeed it is. I must say that the cover illustration does not do justice to this edition until you actually hold it in your hand. This book is massive and the heavy-duty slipcover is truly required for this exceptional volume. It contains posters from the UK and the US on all the films, as well as a mix from many other countries, from DR. NO thru QUANTUM OF SOLACE and an advance poster from SKYFALL. It was also interesting to see many complete and partial American Lobby Cards sets and Italian PHOTOBUSTA sets included. It was also interesting to see many of the concept posters for ON HER MAJESTY'S SECRET SERVICE, DIAMONDS ARE FOREVER and LICENCE TO KILL. I was very impressed by the posters included for THUNDERBALL and YOU ONLY LIVE TWICE. Some of the reproduction could have been better (the US 1-sheet of ON HER MAJESTY'S SECRET SERVICE has a definite blue tint to it), but the most of the reproductions are magnificently presented.

I have been a James Bond enthusiast for years. I have gotten a bit more selective on what I purchase and collect through the years. But, and I say but, this is a must-have volume of work that I consider required, at least for me! I highly recommend this extraordinary book.
33 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2012
Great looking book, but I find the numerous speculations about a poster's origin to be amateurish. Several posters are accompanied by the caption "Artwork maybe by *insert artist here*" If the artist is unknown, just state that and move on. In the case of the standard U.S. one sheet for Never Say Never Again, it is attributed to "maybe Renato Casaro", when a simple Google search would tell you it was Rudy Obrero who did the poster. I expect to see this rectified in future printings.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2014
It is nice to see all the different poster from around the world when the James Bond Movies are released. Since I majored in marketing in collage it kind of neat to see how they market the movie in different locations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2012
In celebration of the 50th Anniversary of the James Bond film series DK Publishing has issued this handsome coffee table book with brilliant color reproductions of the theatrical posters that were a hallmark of the series. In each film, there are full page versions of the official posters that were displayed in theaters for "Dr. No" , "From Russia With Love", "Goldfinger", "Thunderball", etc. as well as alternate posters that were released in foreign countries. Moreover, the authors have provided facimilies of poster art for the films that were initially considered and ultimately rejected as not dramatic enough or spectacular enough. In the mid 90's, the publisher of this new edition released a soft covered over sized edition called,"James Bond Posters"; this volume is superior in every respect to that earlier publication.

There is a slipcover to protect the volume; additionally, this is a far more comprehensive book with superior paper quality, better reproductions and an up to date anthology of Bond posters, including "Skyfall". Don't be confused with the much smaller limited edition hardcover poster book that has accompanied the Bluray Bond 50 Commemorative Boxed Set sold via Amazon. That abridged edition contains only a fraction of the materials that this full sized volume encompasses. I commend the book to all aficianados of the Bond films; it is an indespensible addition to your collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2014
This item will definitely delight any fan of 007, including my boyfriend, who I bought it as a gift for. The book comes inside of a heavy duty sleeve and has a very satisfying heft. The pages are of a heavy, sturdy paper that really gets across the sort of "man of quality" character of James Bond. The book features various posters from all eras of James Bond, including many interesting international and obscure posters along with rare promotional materials. For anyone interested in the history of 007 or the artistry that goes into advertising the films of a character that somehow stays constant and yet current this book is a great buy. The only potential shortcoming is that it was published slightly before Skyfall released, and so it only features one poster from the latest Bond film, but it's the only issue in an otherwise stellar book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.