Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by momox com
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Please allow 1-2 weeks for delivery. For DVDs please check region code before ordering.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

The James Bowman Collection / Bowman, The King's Consort Import

4.5 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, May 21, 1996
"Please retry"
$12.99 $0.80

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Erbarme dich - Bach
  2. 'Handel English Arias': Almighty Power - Handel
  3. 'Complete Odes And Welcome Songs' Volume 8: Britain, Thou Now Art Great - Purcell
  4. 'Handel English Arias': Yet Can I Hear That Dulcet Lay - Handel
  5. 'Awake Sweet Love': Anon - Come Tread The Paths - James Bowman
  6. 'Handel Italian Duets': Crudeltà nè lontananza - Handel
  7. 'Countertenor Duets And Solos By Purcell And Blow': O Solitude, My Sweet Choice - Purcell
  8. 'Bach Cantatas For Solo Alto': Stirb in mir - Bach
  9. 'Handel Deborah': Impious Mortal - Handel
  10. 'Purcell Complete Odes And Welcome Songs' Volume 1: By Beauteous Softness Mixed - Purcell
  11. 'Schutz Christmas Story And Gabrieli Christmas Motets': O Magnum Mysterium - Gabrieli
  12. 'Handel English Arias': Tune Your Harps - Handel
  13. 'Awake Sweet Love': Since First I Saw Your Face - James Bowman
  14. 'Handel English Arias': Welcome As The Dawn Of Day - Handel
  15. 'Mr. Henry Purcell's Most Admirable Composures': An Evening Hymn - Purcell
  16. 'Handel The Occasional Oratorio': Thou Shalt Bring Them In - Handel
  17. 'Couperin Trois Lecons de Tenebres': Jerusalem, convertere - Couperin
  18. 'Handel Heroic Arias': Or la tromba - Handel
  19. 'Purcell Complete Secular Solo Songs' Volume 1: On The Brow Of Richmnd Hill - Purcell
  20. 'Handel Music For Ceremonial Occasions': Handell - Eternal Source Of Light - James Bowman
  21. 'Purcell Complete Anthems And Services' Volume 2: Vouchsafe, O Lord, To Keep Us This Day - Purcell

Product Details

  • Performer: Thomas Ford, James Bowman, Jonathan Peter Kenny, Robert King, Gillian Fisher, et al.
  • Orchestra: King's Consort
  • Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach, George Frederick Handel, Henry Purcell, Anonymous, Andrea Gabrieli, et al.
  • Audio CD (May 21, 1996)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Hyperion UK
  • ASIN: B000002ZDV
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #672,519 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

By A Customer on June 28, 2000
Format: Audio CD
An article title about James Bowman said "A singer in high places" - and it's so true.
James Bowman is a great singer, and one of my favourite performers. One can listen to his CDs over and over again, without tiring.
He feels at home in both English songs and other languages. This CD is a "summary" of some other collection CDs of him.
ýIN SHORT: Good buy for lovers of vocal music, or the baroque and classical. If you don't know his singing, you're missing a lot, and this CD is a great start.
Comment 7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD
Rarely have I run across a cd of this quality from the beginning to the end. Bowman is an artist who has a complete understanding of style and form but who also knows how to internalize his relationship with anything he does. The selections of Bach, Purcell and Handel are particularly breathtaking. Robert King and his Consort plays absolutely beautiful with Bowman and with the likes of soprano Gillian Fisher as his collaborator everything is complete. This is a stunning album with a great musician and singer; one of the best cds I own and a MUST on every shelf.
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Want to discover more products? Check out these pages to see more: i saw the sun, purcell odes robert king, king of the sun, now music 69