Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and informative...
Over the years, there have been loads of biographies written about James Dean, some of which are significantly better than others. Today, 50 years after his death, Dean remains one of the most recognizable and captivating film and cultural icons. It's difficult to pinpoint the exact reason for Dean's seeming immortality. During his life, Dean made only three major...
Published on April 14, 2005 by j.

versus
24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hardly definitive, but nicely packaged "Dean 101"
This strikes me as a cranked out crowd-pleaser for Dean fans (easy targets!) from the ubiquitous DK press. The fact that it is officially sanctioned by the Dean family estate cannot go unnoticed---it is almost embarrassing in the heaps of praise it bestows on every member of the clan and is sure to point out "important" points like the facts that they were not...
Published on June 17, 2005 by Nelson Aspen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and informative..., April 14, 2005
This review is from: James Dean (Hardcover)
Over the years, there have been loads of biographies written about James Dean, some of which are significantly better than others. Today, 50 years after his death, Dean remains one of the most recognizable and captivating film and cultural icons. It's difficult to pinpoint the exact reason for Dean's seeming immortality. During his life, Dean made only three major motion pictures and yet, he defined the Post-World War II generation of reckless youths feeling somewhat misplaced, displaced, or confused.

This book, officially endorsed by the James Dean estate, is somewhat of a combination biography and coffee table book. The book contains numerous black and white and color photographs of Dean in varying stages of his life and career -- many of which have never been published before. Particularly noteworthy is the abundance of photographs of James Dean as a child and teenager. While most biographies of Dean contain mostly portraits or somewhat staged pictures, this book offers many candid shots belonging to Dean's private estate and surviving family members. Novice fans of Dean's will find plenty to entertain and inform them within the book, while Dean's more devoted fans and experts will be blown away by the beauty of both the book's photographs and their general layout. The book concentrate's heavily on Dean's counter-culture attitude (particularly in how he dressed and acted), while also delving into his romantic life and his well-publicized passion for cars and racing.

This book is a true gem and a wonderful addition to the realm of James Dean memorabilia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Photos, A Must-Have for James Dean Fans!, April 30, 2010
By 
K. Karls (New York, New York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: James Dean (Hardcover)
I've only very recently become attuned to the talent and legacy of James Dean; I have heard of him all my life, but never really "got" it until I was old enough to understand his movies (and finally saw them all at age 23). Needless to say, after viewing "East of Eden" and being moved to tears by his performance, I rushed to buy any biography I could lay my hands on, eager to learn more about this talented young man. This book by George Perry is a wonderful one; not only does it offer informative and interesting information on Dean's life and personality, from his earliest Indiana days to his eventual New York City life and all the way up to Hollywood, the book also features the best photos I've ever seen of Dean. There are intimate, large, glossy photos of James Dean clowning around with the likes of Elizabeth Taylor, Natalie Wood, and other friends, and there are the more iconic photos of Dean strolling around New York City. James Dean had the looks of an angel fallen to Earth, and the beauty and personliaty that shine through some of these photos took my breath away. Of course, it's a bit difficult to see the pictures of Dean's crushed car and the scene of the accident that took his life, and even more difficult to read about the circumstances, and how it was error largely on the part of the other driver, who failed to notice Dean's oncoming car (who had the right of way), and stopped, lurched forward, stopped and then lurched forward again right into Dean's Porsche. It's horrifying. This book allowed me to learn so much more about James Dean, who was a young man who was immensely talented, deeply passionate, fun-loving and insightful; I also learned that people either loved him or hated him; he, doubtless, could be moody and difficult, but those who knew him the best such as Nick Adams, Dennis Hopper, Bill Bast, Liz Taylor, etc., loved him and cherished him not only as a talented actor, but as their friend. Fascinating Fact: you know the woman who plays Jerry Seinfeld's mom on "Senfield"? She was James Dean's first serious girlfriend in his NYC days!!! Can you believe it? Liz Sheridan dated James Dean!! You'll see her picture in this book, it's incredible, I never knew that. What a small world.

This biography allows you to form your own opinion of Jimmy Dean; I still don't know him, but I think I have an idea of him now, and that's what matters to me. The only sad aspect, is that now I have a true sense of what the world lost on September 30th, 1955, and I can't help the ache in my chest when I watch his work now; I wish he'd stayed around longer because I can honestly say, no other actor has ever touched me so deeply. Hell, I've never run out and purchased a biography on anybody before unless I had to for a book report; however, I've devoured three Dean biographies in about two weeks. What does that tell you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hardly definitive, but nicely packaged "Dean 101", June 17, 2005
This review is from: James Dean (Hardcover)
This strikes me as a cranked out crowd-pleaser for Dean fans (easy targets!) from the ubiquitous DK press. The fact that it is officially sanctioned by the Dean family estate cannot go unnoticed---it is almost embarrassing in the heaps of praise it bestows on every member of the clan and is sure to point out "important" points like the facts that they were not beneficiaries of Dean's life insurance policy (I'm sure they're making out fine) and that any liability for his fatal car crash could not possibly have been his. It admits to one homosexual affair on Dean's behalf and the friendly likelihood that he may have dabbled in others, but it strongly defends the notion that James Dean was a heterosexual in the first degree. Right or wrong, there are lots of assumptions and speculations which ultimately boil down to mere commentary.

While the text tends to read like a bio written by the President of the James Dean Fan Club, the real star of the show is the artwork. A great photographic collection although there is a large picture of Dean horsing around on the set of GIANT with a young woman. The caption identifies this woman as his good pal Elizabeth Taylor and it is amazing that ANY editor, proofreader or person involved in the process of creating this book didn't notice that it is most definitely NOT Elizabeth Taylor. It is probably her stand-in. It makes the accuracy of other "facts" somewhat dubious.

It's getting a big promotional push, but I think it's overhyped and you're best off purchasing it as a bargain pre-owned price from an Amazon Marketplace merchant, rather than shelling out full price for new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a Deeper Look Into the Making of an Icon, October 18, 2005
By 
DKA "deaner" (Indianapolis, IN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: James Dean (Hardcover)
As a lifelong James Dean fan and fellow Hoosier who attends the festival held in his memory each year, I like to acquire at least one new book about Jimmie yearly. This year, it was this book. It not only offers new photos, but also tackles the subject of the relationship between Jimmie and his father Winton Dean. There was more detail about the reason that Winton did not have Jimmie move back out to live with him in California after his remarriage. It also gives glimpses of how others who knew him perceived him, his tempermental nature, his playfulness, and the passion with which he pursued his dreams of becoming a successful actor. This book is a must read/own for any true James Dean fan and provides an insightful look into the life of a true American Icon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best Chronicle on James Dean, December 6, 2005
By 
Andy Veo "Andy" (Orange County, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: James Dean (Hardcover)
I have read many James Dean books, and the biographies have ranged from bland to overly philosophical to just obscene. George Perry's book has a lot of basic information given in a clean and clear format. Perry does give some more insight into Dean's life in unknown times. Perry's book should be taken as an official bio. It doesn't look at Dean's life in a sleazy way, but it does tackle questions about Dean's lifestyle in a fair & balanced method. The photos and layout are nice. There are extra informationa nd fact boxes relating to the chapter's material. There isn't enough material to make this book excellent, but it is the best book on James Dean available. If there is one book you must read on Hollywood's classic rebel, let this one be it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful!, July 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is the perfect book for any James Dean fan. The pictures are beautiful, and there are some rare photos. Insightful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, May 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: James Dean (Paperback)
I love it the more you read the more your let into james deans world . James Byron Dean forever!! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for any James Dean fan, April 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is filled with photos from James Dean's childhood to adulthood. What most excited me were the copies of hand written letters and drawings by James Dean to family as he tried to find his place in the world as a professional actor. It is a very thorough account of his life. Like so many artists from his generation they can not be replaced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Arrived fast!, December 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: James Dean (Paperback)
We ordered this book on a Sunday night in the evening, and we recieved it on Tuesday (which was xmas eve). We got this book cause our good friend is a REALLY big fan of James Dean. Flipping through the book, interested me, and I'm not a die hard fan. There's a lot of black and white pictures, pictures never published before, from all stages of his life. There's also, stories never published either, in all stages of his life. The book is "paperback," but the cover is pretty thick. It would definitely make a great coffee table book or bathroom reader. We were pleased with our purchase. Hope our friend loves it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GONE TOO SOON, October 18, 2013
By 
J. David Kopp (St. Louis, Missouri United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: James Dean (Hardcover)
Easily the best-written and most thorough biography of Dean I've ever read. Would love to have known what an amazing filmography this young man could have given the world had he lived longer. Miss you, James...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

James Dean
James Dean by George Perry (Paperback - November 17, 2011)
$22.95 $15.56
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.