Prime Music
& FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by
Gift-wrap available.
FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Item not in the original case. Missing shrink-wrap, activation codes for bonus online content may be missing or expired.
Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for up to $0.35
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • James Ehnes Plays Kreisler
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

James Ehnes Plays Kreisler

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Listen Instantly with Prime Music Album
Other Formats & Versions Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, April 6, 2007
"Please retry"
$10.82 $1.76

Frequently Bought Together

James Ehnes Plays Kreisler + Mendelssohn: Violin Concerto in E minor Op. 64, Octet in E flat Op. 20
Price for both: $38.62

Buy the selected items together

Product Details

  • Audio CD (April 6, 2007)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Alliance
  • Run Time: 66 minutes
  • ASIN: B00006JCNE
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #95,800 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Variations on a Theme of Corelli, for violin & piano
2. Praeludium and Allegro in the Style of Pugnani, for violin & piano: Praeludium
3. Praeludium and Allegro in the Style of Pugnani, for violin & piano: Allegro
4. La Précieuse in the Style of Louis Couperin, for violin & piano
5. Sicilienne and Rigaudon in the Style of Francoeur, for violin & piano: Sicilienne
6. Sicilienne and Rigaudon in the Style of Francoeur, for violin & piano: Rigaudon
7. The Devil's Trill, for violin & piano (transcription of Tartini's Sonata): Larghetto
8. The Devil's Trill, for violin & piano (transcription of Tartini's Sonata): Allegro energico
9. The Devil's Trill, for violin & piano (transcription of Tartini's Sonata): Grave - Allegro assai
10. Caprice Viennois, for violin & piano (or orchestra), Op. 2
11. Liebesleid (Love's Sorrow), for violin & piano
12. Liebesfreud (Love's Joy), for violin & piano
13. Schön Rosmarin, for violin & piano
14. Tambourin Chinois, for violin & piano, Op. 3
15. Polichinelle, for violin & piano
16. Syncopation, for violin & piano
17. March of the Toy Soldiers
18. Recitativo and Scherzo-Caprice, for solo violin, Op. 6: Recitativo
19. Recitativo and Scherzo-Caprice, for solo violin, Op. 6: Scherzo
20. Petite Valse, for piano

Editorial Reviews

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful By Frank T. Manheim on October 5, 2005
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This recording may be my favorite musical recording discovery in the last ten years. The Analekta recording of Canadian virtuoso violinist, James Ehnes, playing 20 Fritz Kreisler compositions for violin and piano, is relatively expensive. But it's so good that I plan to send copies for Christmas to as many of my family members scattered through the U.S. and Europe as I can afford - whether they're classical buffs or not!

For those who don't know Fritz Kreisler (and they have a treat waiting) he was probably the most beloved classical performer (violin) in his time. He was a multitalented man whose warm humanity, and generous and open spirit made audiences take him to their hearts.

Kreisler's unique 60-year musical career only begins with performance. Born in 1875, Kreisler possessed a gift for infectious melody. By the 1920's his audience-pleasing compositions - especially encores - began to encounter avante-gardist prejudices on the part of the professional musical establishment. The establishment accepted musical traditions of the past in older compositions but not in new composition. So the resourceful Kreisler introduced a series of encore masterpieces as "rediscoveries of works by forgotten baroque and rococo composers, whose manuscripts he had been found in a French monastery". Thus came celebrated pieces like Praeludium and Allegro by "Gaetano Pugnani", and "Sicilenne and Rigaudon by "Francois Franceour". After NY Times music critic, Olin Downs, reported research showing that manuscripts of Kreisler's "oldies" didn't exist, Kreisler revealed his hoax in 1935. That brought out angry recriminations by Alfred Newman and other musicologists who had been taken in.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?