Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This isn't a perfect movie but I do recommend this & was surprised by how good it was. A lighter version of American History X
"I don't think I let the people in my life down by making the wrong choices. I think I let them down by convincing myself I never had a choice to begin with." James (Lofranco) has been in and out of correction facilities his entire life since he was 8. After his latest stunt lands him in prison he looks back over his life and his choices. He sets out to straighten...
Published 10 months ago by Tony Heck

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some Shortcomings
One never knows how much of "Based on true story." is true - 5% or 95% or ...
Prison movies are always audience capturing because the characters are so extreme, yet so close to home.
Too bad they didn't do a gags special feature so we could really see the personalities of the actors.
My main criticism is that such a dialogue important movie does not have...
Published 9 months ago by G. Teslovich


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This isn't a perfect movie but I do recommend this & was surprised by how good it was. A lighter version of American History X, January 24, 2014
By 
Tony Heck (Belgrade, MT USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jamesy Boy (Amazon Instant Video)
"I don't think I let the people in my life down by making the wrong choices. I think I let them down by convincing myself I never had a choice to begin with." James (Lofranco) has been in and out of correction facilities his entire life since he was 8. After his latest stunt lands him in prison he looks back over his life and his choices. He sets out to straighten out his life, but it's not as easy as he was hoping. I knew nothing about this story going in. Once again though the fact that this is a true story made me more excited about it going in. While not nearly as powerful the movie did remind me a little of American History X in the the way that a person can live his life one way without apologizing but when removed from that life he realizes the error in his ways and tries everything he can to change. There are some pretty big names in this movie but the kid that plays James is a perfect choice and really carries as well as outshines everyone else. While this is in no way a perfect movie I do recommend this and was surprised by how good it was. Overall, a lighter version of American History X that I recommend. The fact that this was a true story helped as well. I give this an A-.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oh Jamesy Boy, The Pipes The Pipes...., August 11, 2014
By 
Eric Sanberg (Villa Park, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jamesy Boy (Amazon Instant Video)
This isn't a new story by any means, but it's dressed up real good.

Here's the scoop. James (Spencer Lofranco) is not a stupid kid and it seems his waters run deep, but he has a violent streak and always seems to be in trouble. He feels the world has given up on him so what the heck? Now he's in prison and has a better view or what lies down he road and figures his way of looking at things might need a tune-up. The mechanic to help comes in the form of Ving Rhames.

I liked this a lot. I like that James isn't a two dimensional character. Even in his bad boy mode he keeps a journal. He's self assured which puts him in the good graces of the local thug. This self assuredness also helps him through some really dicey situations. But now he's in the joint and he sees how screwed up everything is. James Woods (at his most vile) is the warden and refuses to right a situation involving another convict that Jamesy warns him about. The outcome drives home the fact that he needs to get out of there.

The story is formatted to show him in prison and periodically cuts back to the events leading up to his arrest and conviction. His mom is played by Mary-Louise Parker. I could have used a few more minutes of her. Ving Rhames is Okay but, given the impact he was supposed to have on James, his part needed a few more pages as well. Taissa Farmiga is good as the girl James thinks would be better for him than the degenerate Crystal. All the other supporting roles don't stick out as sub-par.

This is a slick, no-nonsense approach to this "based on a true story" tale. Nothing flashy just a good old meat and potatoes approach to things. Not the best movie you'll ever see but well worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DON'T TALK TO ME, January 21, 2014
This review is from: Jamesy Boy (Amazon Instant Video)
The story is told from a prison flashback. The plot runs in the present with flashbacks to the past. This is done rather plainly, i.e. they didn't try to tie lessons learned in the street to doing things in prison. James is a troubled youth with an ankle bracelet. He starts a life of crime, gets caught and writes poetry, of which we hear very little. He is supposedly mentored in prison by Ving Rhames, but those scenes are infrequent, and the relationship is not well established.

His mom (Mary-Louise Parker) stood by him when nobody else would. Jamesy shows that while he is a criminal who deals drugs and robs people, he is basically a softy at heart. A so-so plot of a mixed up kid who did time in prison. The acting was good.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, stripper nudity 3 1/2 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth the time, August 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jamesy Boy (DVD)
Based on the true story of a young man named James who can't get into school, who always is in trouble and who finally winds up behind bars and has to begin to see what he has done to his life and the consequences of his decisions, this is a fine movie with fine acting in it. Spencer Lofranco is terrific as Jamesy boy, Ving Rhames just has to look to be understood and James Woods as the Captain of the Guards is terrific too. Harsh and rough it is definitely a good movie. Very recommended but language is bad and lots of violence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational film., August 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jamesy Boy (Amazon Instant Video)
Excellent film. I would love to see this film used in inpatient and youth correctional facilities as a process film. I wish I had the opportunity to thank this young man for all that he is fighting for... his journey is nothing less than inspirational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HIS DETERMINATION TO GET OUT AND DO BETTER INCREASES. WITH A PASSIONATE PLEA BEFORE THE APPEAL ..., November 16, 2014
This review is from: Jamesy Boy (DVD)
BASED ON THE TRUE STORY OF JAMES BURNS, JAMESY BOY IS A REMARKABLE MOVIE ABOUT A YOUNG TROUBLED TEEN WHO TURNED HIS LIFE AROUND. WHILE INCARCERATED, HE BEGINS WRITING POETRY AT THE SUGGESTION OF A FELLOW INMATE, TO PASS THE TIME AND STAY OUT OF TROUBLE WHILE HE IS IN THERE. ONCE HE SEES ANOTHER INMATE COMMIT SUICIDE, HIS DETERMINATION TO GET OUT AND DO BETTER INCREASES. WITH A PASSIONATE PLEA BEFORE THE APPEAL BOARD, HE IS GRANTED HIS RELEASE AND CHANGES BEGIN. THOUGH NOT EASY HE MANAGES TO EVENTUALLY RESIST THE TEMPTATION OF FAST MONEY AND GET IT TOGETHER. GREAT MOVIE. LOVED IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some Shortcomings, February 21, 2014
This review is from: Jamesy Boy (DVD)
One never knows how much of "Based on true story." is true - 5% or 95% or ...
Prison movies are always audience capturing because the characters are so extreme, yet so close to home.
Too bad they didn't do a gags special feature so we could really see the personalities of the actors.
My main criticism is that such a dialogue important movie does not have any subtitling and especially since some of the enunciations and audio make it difficult to follow those important verbal exchanges. Another criticism is that supposedly poetry/writings were a focal point yet we only hear one poem at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, July 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jamesy Boy (DVD)
Great movie, will buy more movies. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars One of the best indie films out there!, June 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jamesy Boy [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This film is based on a true story that is not uncommon for many young people today. It's inspirational and show us that we should not be so quick to give up on kids that make mistakes, get in trouble and need a second chance. As a film, its a well paced love story, with some action and a lot of heart... a lot! Spencer LoFranco is a stand out and will surely be a star. Great performances by Woods and Ving Rhames slams it. Great job by first time Director, Trevor White. Not to be missed.

This true story is the about James Burns, who appeared in our 2001 feature documentary film IF I COULD. To learn more, visit [...].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hopeful, June 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The story follows James Burns while he's a young teenager getting in trouble and several years later while he's serving a prison sentence for those crimes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Jamesy Boy
Jamesy Boy by Trevor White
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.