Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quintessential Jamie - substantial and fun
Jamie's Great Britain is jam-packed with interesting takes on British dishes both familliar (Toad-in-the-Hole, Fish Pie, Victoria Sponge, Scotch Eggs, Yorkshire pud) and esoteric or eccentric (Welsh Surf & Turf of lamb and lobster, White Pepper Skate, Roast Quail Skewers with Celeriac & Fennel, Oysters Three Ways) plus some nostalgic (St Clement's Cake, Retro Arctic Roll,...
Published on November 14, 2011 by Marianne

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful photos, but lacking in recipes
I check out new cookbooks from the library before I commit to buying one (something I wish I had done years ago as my collection is huge now). This book caught my eye and I have always enjoyed watching Mr. Oliver on cooking shows. He has great enthusiasm and happiness. While I did enjoy looking through the beautiful photos of some scenes of Great Britain, and reading...
Published 20 months ago by C. Taylor


Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quintessential Jamie - substantial and fun, November 14, 2011
This review is from: Jamie's Great Britain (Hardcover)
Jamie's Great Britain is jam-packed with interesting takes on British dishes both familliar (Toad-in-the-Hole, Fish Pie, Victoria Sponge, Scotch Eggs, Yorkshire pud) and esoteric or eccentric (Welsh Surf & Turf of lamb and lobster, White Pepper Skate, Roast Quail Skewers with Celeriac & Fennel, Oysters Three Ways) plus some nostalgic (St Clement's Cake, Retro Arctic Roll, Trifle).

Many local specialties are represented, such as Cornish Pasties, Cranachan, Welsh Cakes, "King of Mash" Irish Champ, and Clootie Dumpling, all with a twist or two. Afternoon tea and cricket matches get a look-in with Earl Grey Tea Loaf, Eccles Cakes and some interesting variations on shortbread (lemon thyme-vanilla, lavender & honey). And there are introductions to local folks with their own small businesses, such as Wilkins Cider, Westcombe Cheddar, Arbroath Smokies and Mark's Bread. Some nice condiments and menu suggestions, too.

Jamie talks about the many cultural influences on British cooking and tosses a bit of history in with some of these dishes. There's a visit to the Lea & Perrins factory, for instance, and cooking with the Yemeni community of Cardiff. Add an unobtrusive undercurrent of sustainability - the reader is gently reminded that in the UK, certain less familliar fish like coley or gurnard taste wonderful in place of scarce cod, and prawns should be responsibly sourced; allotments are celebrated with photos and recipes.

Lots of nice salads, soups, veg, Sunday roasts, scrummy puds, a chapter on the seaside and a chapter on "wild food" i.e. game and foraging, plus my favourite, a chapter on breakfasts. This is a UK cookbook and all measurements are to UK standards - if cooking in the USA you'll need to translate them to US standards. That said, ingredients tend to be for the most part readily obtainable and not fancy, and neither are most of the recipes, which are conversational in tone; it's the combinations, presentation, and enthusiasm that set Jamie apart. This book is big and lavishly photographed, with loads of straightforward recipes (almost 400 pages, 2 pages to a recipe), cheerful, chatty, inspirational and fun. Jamie is on form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jamie's Great Britain, June 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jamie's Great Britain (Hardcover)
This book has amazing color photos of the finished recipe presentations. In many instances a brief history of the dish's origin is included. The recipes are authentic traditional British fare and are splendidly prepared with exacting instructions. A must have for any serious chef's library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful photos, but lacking in recipes, November 8, 2012
This review is from: Jamie's Great Britain (Hardcover)
I check out new cookbooks from the library before I commit to buying one (something I wish I had done years ago as my collection is huge now). This book caught my eye and I have always enjoyed watching Mr. Oliver on cooking shows. He has great enthusiasm and happiness. While I did enjoy looking through the beautiful photos of some scenes of Great Britain, and reading about things like Jamie growing up in a pub, I didn't enjoy this cookbook. I didn't come across any recipes I would like to try, and I was distracted by things in the list of ingredients calling for "knobs" of butter. And I don't feel like some of the recipe had enough detail in them, and would have been hard to pull off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We love this book, December 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jamie's Great Britain (Hardcover)
My mama and I already love Jamie Oliver, and I got her this book for Christmas. I'd never seen it before, and I wasn't quite sure how practical it would be, but we both love it! We've already made some stuff from it, and we even enjoy just reading it. How often is it that you like to just read a cookbook?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book, February 3, 2013
By 
TILII (Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jamie's Great Britain (Hardcover)
It's a book. What else can anybody say about a thing that is legible or not? matter of taste, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chef Oliver Brings Americans A Brilliant Home Cookery Book., December 25, 2011
By 
cafeaulait "pariscroissant" (Hayes, Va. United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jamie's Great Britain (Hardcover)
When this Lovely arrived, the Cover was upside down!Hunny fixed it for me.The "Snaps" of the Foods are Calling Our Names.Chef has complied a Grand Book of Everything Imaginable to Start British Cookery Courses.A Glorious 392 pages, not including snaps for Recipes and People. Most is in Metric. Some,not much is Imperial. A "Knob" of Butter is just over a Tablespoon.Even A "V" for those whom are Vegetarian Inclined or simply do not Desire Animal Protein.So much Nostalgia is included, with Her Magesty and the Duke of Ediburgh. Chef Oliver has given Us Insight into His World and is Most Efficient.Crumpets, to Champ. "Sprouts" for Christmas. {Brussel Sprouts over in America}. "Puddings",aka, Cakes. Yet,the more Hunny and I use Metric the Better the End Results of Cooking. We have High Humidity here and makes a Huge Difference. Wish could list All Included,tho' Please Trust Me, I Do Not Lie. A Simply Lovely British Cookery Book by One of Our Favourite Authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Jamie's Great Britain
Jamie's Great Britain by Jamie Oliver (Hardcover - September 29, 2011)
Used & New from: $9.58
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.