Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extraordinary account - even decades later
IN THE SHADOW OF MAN, first published in 1971, remains one of the most extraordinary observations of chimpanzee behavior in the wild. Goodall begins with the story of how she arrived in Africa and her first days there, but wisely switches the attention from herself to the endangered chimpanzees she studies. She not only recognizes individuals but learns their...
Published on January 29, 2001 by Debbie Lee Wesselmann

versus
7 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shadow of Man Review
The book In the Shadow of Man I found in the begginig to kind of boring. Just because the book was kind of slow moving at first. It talked a little bit about her childhood, and how she got to Africa. I didn't find it very exciting then. I wanted to get right to the action. Then in the middle of the book it got really exciting, because Jane Goodall talks about how she...
Published on March 11, 2002


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extraordinary account - even decades later, January 29, 2001
This review is from: In the Shadow of Man (Paperback)
IN THE SHADOW OF MAN, first published in 1971, remains one of the most extraordinary observations of chimpanzee behavior in the wild. Goodall begins with the story of how she arrived in Africa and her first days there, but wisely switches the attention from herself to the endangered chimpanzees she studies. She not only recognizes individuals but learns their distinctive personalities, describing in compelling detail the smallest of moments that illuminate who these great animals are. Unlike most scientists of the time, Goodall documents emotions and complex political behavior, the social hierarchy and parenting abilities, the aggression and the bonds formed between chimps that can only be described as friendships. In eloquent prose, Goodall tells the stories of these chimps - most notably that of Flo and her family - and will forever change the way you view chimpanzees.
The book contains several black and white photographs of the chimps, a real treat after getting to "know" these chimps in writing.
If you have any interest at all in primates or in animals generally, this is a must-have book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super-de-duper!, November 15, 2004
This review is from: In the Shadow of Man (Paperback)
Like another reviewer, I'm an anthropology student and I had to read this book for a class I'm taking. Never has a book, meant for education, made me both laugh and cry out loud. It was simply wonderful. You will learn a lot about chimpanzees, and I promiss you will never watch them in the zoo, in the same way, again. Even if you are not looking to learn about chimpanzee developement and behavior, the book is excellent on a purely entertainment level. Even though this book is was a required reading, I was so impressed that I'm going out to buy her other books... just out of interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Observation is the key to all the doors of knowledge, July 30, 2001
By 
Amazon Customer (Bogota, Colombia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In the Shadow of Man (Paperback)
The pleasure that Ms. Goodall had placed and received in sharing her life with chimpanzees is conveyed effortlessly in this book and touches you quite easily. I started reading this book not being to sure about what I was doing, since to know about the habits of these primates is not exactly among my list of favorite topics. So I just started browsing and before I knew it, sixty or eighty pages had gone by as well as my possibilities of getting up early in the morning.
The author will guide your through the complex social structures in which chimpanzees live to the very detailed and amazing details of their everyday life. For example that they would eat gladly a human baby if given the chance. But more important she makes you care for their lives not as a consequence of a higher scientific purpose, but simply because the more that we relate to nature the more we are embraced in its blessings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reading, September 15, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: In the Shadow of Man (Paperback)
I read this book a long time ago and have looked into it many times since. It's an entertaining read that teaches us not just about chimpanzees but also about human nature and behavior. If you pay attention to this book, you'll be a better person for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is behavioral science done correctly, April 30, 2002
By 
Eugene A Jewett "Eugene A Jewett" (Alexandria, Va. United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In the Shadow of Man (Paperback)
Jane Goodall is a unique undividual whose work should be studied by those who think that the animal rights people don't have a clue. Her efforts at gaining the trust of chimpanzee's in their natural habitat have spauned a host of up-and-comers who will continue to carry her work to the next level.
Goodall distinguished herself by sitting in the bush on a daily basis until the local chimpanzee tribal members came close enough to make physical contact with her. That an English woman scientist would journey to Tanzania to engage in this type of research is unusual and certainly puts her at "the top of her class".
She follows the lives and behavior patterns of her subjects until her research sounds like a Michener novel with its generational emphasis and timelines of family heritage. Within this effort she follows each subsequent offspring through each of their successive cycles from birth and death.
What is fascinating is how she describes personality differences, the kind that come from hard-coded genetic diffences, the same as we find in human individuals. The mating behavior sounds like something out of "Cosmopolitan". The squabbles and fighting behavior could be that of any large Homo Sapien family. While Chimp's aren't on the same intellectual level as humans they certainly come closer than any other species. Jane Goodall deserves every accolade she gets for bringing us a lens through which to observe another geneological line of a species that has developed from our common ancestors.
Her work suggests that we should rethink our medical research toward more humane treatment of these animals whose behavior is too similar to ours to ignore. This is an excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A much-admired researcher., February 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jane Goodall: 50 Years at Gombe (Hardcover)
I enjoy virtually following Ms Goodall into the forests and learning about the actions of the species she continues to study. How wonderful--for her and us--for her to have learned so early in her life just which species she wanted to study. Her contributions to the study of primates in their natural habitat continues, and her explanations of such are a joy to read. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Fascinating, April 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jane Goodall: 50 Years at Gombe (Hardcover)
This book is filled with humor and enthralling first hand accounts of some of the most important discoveries in primate behavioral ecology. I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Book!, November 11, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: In the Shadow of Man (Paperback)
Reading this book has changed my life. I better know now who I am and why I am. The chimpanzee in the wild is a remarkable mirror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the Shadow of Man is wonderful, June 27, 2000
This review is from: In the Shadow of Man (Paperback)
If you have some time this summer, let Jane Goodall motivate you with her enlightening stories of chimpanzees. The book will make readers aware of the fascinating similarities between man and chimp. Dr. Goodall portrays her stay in Africa vividly, and is truly inspirational. "In the Shadow of Man" is a wonderful book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating account of ground-breaking work, July 28, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: In the Shadow of Man (Paperback)
Few people remember that Jane Goodall was the first person to document without a doubt that chimpanzees use tools and display many complex behaviors that betray significant cognitive abilities. This book details her amazing work and may inspire girls to enter scientific careers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Jane Goodall: 50 Years at Gombe
Jane Goodall: 50 Years at Gombe by Jane Goodall (Hardcover - October 1, 2010)
$29.95 $13.08
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.