Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transcendent
Jane Eyre, Charlotte BrontŽ's timeless tale of love, madness and female empowerment, has been brought to life several times on the big screen, and inspired some excellent scores, most notably by Bernard Herrmann and John Williams. This new film, directed by Cary Fukunaga, stars Mia Wasikowska as the eponymous heroine, who was mistreated and downtrodden as a young girl in...
Published on March 17, 2011 by Jon Broxton

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars High Pitched Ringing in the Soundtrack
I love Dario Marianelli. He is one of my favorite soundtrack composers. This soundtrack is beautiful, but the quality of the recording was very distracting. When tracks like "A Thorough Education" or "Mrs. Reed is Not Quite Finished" there is a high pitched ringing in the background that sounds like the result of bad sound engineering. It was so bad that I had to turn off...
Published on May 9, 2012 by Steve Cramer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transcendent, March 17, 2011
By 
Jon Broxton (Thousand Oaks, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jane Eyre (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) (Audio CD)
Jane Eyre, Charlotte BrontŽ's timeless tale of love, madness and female empowerment, has been brought to life several times on the big screen, and inspired some excellent scores, most notably by Bernard Herrmann and John Williams. This new film, directed by Cary Fukunaga, stars Mia Wasikowska as the eponymous heroine, who was mistreated and downtrodden as a young girl in 17th century England, but eventually grows up to be the governess of a young girl at the rambling, imposing Thornfield Hall. Jane falls in love with the dashing master of the house, Rochester (Michael Fassbender), but as her relationship with the raffish gentleman develops, increasingly strange things begin to happen during the night in the dark and dusty corridors of Thornfield, testing Jane's nerve, and her sanity. The film also stars Jamie Bell, Sally Hawkins and Judi Dench, and features a sumptuous, utterly beautiful score by Dario Marianelli.

Since winning his Oscar for Atonement in 2007, Marianelli's output has been generally high quality, but surprisingly meager; The Brave One, Everybody's Fine, the wonderful Agora, and last year's Eat Pray Love were all fine works, but other than Agora none of them really came close to recapturing the refinement and elegance Marianelli showed in his earlier works for British period films - until now. Jane Eyre inhabits the same intimate sonic world as Atonement and 2005's Pride & Prejudice, and as such will appeal to fans of his style in that genre, but where Jane Eyre excels is in its emotional impact. This is a score which gets under your skin, makes you feel the nervousness and uncertainty Jane feels during her time at Thornfield, before exploding into rapturous romanticism.

The score is written for a comparatively small ensemble - a string orchestra, light woodwinds, and prominent solos featuring harp, piano, solo voices, and an utterly transcendent violin element performed by the 31-year old British virtuoso violinist Jack Liebeck, who was a finalist in the BBC Young Musician of the Year competition in 1994. There is virtually no brass, and virtually no percussion, and as such the score retains a sense of somber classicism throughout its 44-minute running time. Liebeck's violin is the soul of the score; it is present in virtually every cue at some point, but often rises to the fore, especially in cues such as "In Jest or Earnest", the mellifluous "Waiting for Mr. Rochester", the stunningly rapturous "Yes!", the powerful and defiant "The Call Within", and the achingly beautiful conclusive pair, "Awaken" and "My Edward and I". In many ways, Marianelli sees Jane as the violin, and Liebeck's delicious performances express her emotions directly to the listener. When she is sad, or downtrodden, the violin echoes her despondency. When she is happy, or when her love for Rochester is finally reciprocated, the violin soars.

Marianelli's string writing is exceptionally clever. In many cues, each section of the strings - violins, violas, celli and basses - are doing four different things simultaneously, creating a wall of sound which threatens to overwhelm the listener, but which somehow manages to remain cohesive and coherent. This technique is most evident in two cues: the stunning "An Insuperable Impediment", which begins with a death-rattle bass passacaglia and gradually picks up the rest of the string section in turn, creating a sense of desperate unease as Thornfield reveals its secrets; and the subsequent "Jane's Escape", which maintains its dark and brooding aspect.

Elsewhere, Marianelli strips the score down to its barest bones, often featuring just a handful of instruments in tandem: cello and harp in "The End of Childhood", or an unaccompanied solo piano in "A Game of Badminton" and "Life on the Moors". The latter of these cues is an almost archetypal BrontŽan piece: listening to it, one can almost picture a lonely Jane, standing on top of a windswept outcrop, gazing over a sea of frost-chilled heather and ferns, a grey sky heavy like wet towels threatening to engulf her, mirroring her despair.

The subtle vocal element that opens the score in "Wandering Jane" relates directly to Bertha Mason, the `insuperable impediment' which threatens to thwart Jane's dreams of a life with Rochester, and whose presence looms large over the entire narrative. It re-occurs later in the ghostly "A Thorough Education", the baleful and oppressive "Arrival at Thornfield Hall", and the eerie "A Restless Night", constantly reminding the listener that the creepiness that envelops Thornfield at twilight is not all as it seems. The vocals are performed by English soprano Melanie Pappenheim, whose voice also appears on Murray Gold's soundtracks of the recent BBC Doctor Who revival.

Jane Eyre does retain a highly classical and constant tone throughout the score, so listeners who require variety, or more action-based stimulation in their film music, are likely to find Jane Eyre something of a one-note effort. Personally, however, I found the score to be a triumph from start to finish. It's not a romantic score in the sense that Delerue wrote romantic scores - Charlotte BrontŽ's stories are too dour and too steeped in mist and bracken for that - but Marianelli's subtle, searching writing still allows the romanticism inherent in the story to shine through. It's a score which carefully weaves a musical web with strings as fine as silk, and draws the listener in.

In many ways, Jane Eyre is a score without weaknesses; every cue, even the shortest ones, have an important part to play in the score's narrative structure, which is rare indeed when too often soundtrack albums are littered with needless filler to pad out 80 minutes of available CD space. Jane Eyre runs for 44 minutes and 34 seconds, and would be poorer if it were any shorter, or any longer. This is, unquestionably, the first truly great score of 2011, and will be a major contender for score of the year honors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Moody Violin Based Score, April 10, 2011
By 
mk (parker, CO United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jane Eyre (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) (Audio CD)
There's 19 tracks of varying lengths, most short, the longer ones 3-4+ minutes composed and produced by the quite capeable Dario Marinelli. It features violinist Jack Liebeck and to a lesser degree John Alley on piano. A light orchestra backs them up, and the ensemble does a fine job of conveying the darkly romantic and tragic themes.

I have not seen the movie; therefore, I reflect simply on the music and not about remembering the scenes that go with them- although I can kind of guess from the titles and image them. Of course, we know the story- the grandaddy of all gothic romances, and I thoroughly enjoy the soundtrack from the Franco Zeffirelli's film starring William Hurt and Charlotte Gainsbourgh, music by Alessio Vlad and Claudio Capponi.

This version is very subtle and quite different than the other with it's violin focus. For the most part the pieces are meditative and relaxing, sweet and forlorn. They're simple and similar- not a whole lot of rousing action.

I like the tune "The Wedding Dress": starts extremely basic with piano, followed by the violin and develops into plain and rich counterbalance between the two- may I say, much like Jane and Rochester.

If you like what you heard in the movie or like reflective, peaceful violin work, you'll love the CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, February 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jane Eyre (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) (Audio CD)
After watching Jane Eyre, I found myself longing to hear "Awaken" over and over again. So much so that I bought the CD and have been listening to it over and over. And yes, the overall mood or tone of the soundtrack is sorrowful, but the beauty of the music shines so much that it leaves you longing to hear more. The violin solos have on more than one occasion brought me to tears. The film was a good one, but I'm so much more thankful that the soundtrack was created because of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creating the spell ..., June 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jane Eyre (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) (Audio CD)
Dario Marianelli's score to "Jane Eyre" is, like everything else about this production, exquisite and communicative of depth of feeling. The music beautifully evokes the film and it's various sequences, yet totally holds up on it's own as substantial music that has an overall continuity and thematic development, but is comprised of distinctive, individual pieces. I've listened to this cd many times, in my home and in my car, and it never fails to transport me into the haunting, gothic, romantic world of Charlotte Bronte. What a beautiful, memorable film, and this music is a vital part of creating the spell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars High Pitched Ringing in the Soundtrack, May 9, 2012
This review is from: Jane Eyre (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) (Audio CD)
I love Dario Marianelli. He is one of my favorite soundtrack composers. This soundtrack is beautiful, but the quality of the recording was very distracting. When tracks like "A Thorough Education" or "Mrs. Reed is Not Quite Finished" there is a high pitched ringing in the background that sounds like the result of bad sound engineering. It was so bad that I had to turn off the music and write this review. The last five tracks do not suffer the same problems. It seems like the ringing is associated with the violin track. I only notice it when the violin is playing. I wish that I didn't get a headache because of this noise because the soundtrack itself is truly beautiful.

I hope that this is helpful. I am curious if anyone else has noticed similar issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TIZIANA JODHAA, November 21, 2011
This review is from: Jane Eyre (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) (Audio CD)
ACCORDING TO ME DARIO MARIANELLI (EVEN IF HE LIVES IN LONDON HE'S ITALIAN LIKE ME!)IS ONE OF THE MOST SENSITIVE COMPOSER THAT WE HAVE (REMEMBER EVEN THE SOUNDTRACK OF OTHER MOVIES, FOR EXAMPLE PRIDE AND PREJUDICE AND ATONEMENT). IN JANE EYRE'S SOUNDTRACK THE SOUND OF MUSIC, AND ABOVE ALL THE VIOLIN, ARRIVES SO MUCH IN THE DEEPER PART OF MY SOUL, THAT I FEEL VERY TOUCHED. AND THAT IS WHAT HAPPENED TO ME EVEN DURING THE SIGHT OF THE FUKUNAGA'S MOVIE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it! It is as serene as the movie......, October 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jane Eyre (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) (Audio CD)
Love it! It is as serene as the movie. As a background music is Perfect to be reading a book or doing art at your home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inconceivably beautiful, March 24, 2011
This review is from: Jane Eyre (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) (Audio CD)
Dario Marianelli once again proves himself to be one of the greatest movie composers alive.
I just LOVE this soundtrack: It somehow seems to capture the feeling of breathing and living. This sounds melodramatic I know, but this music truly moves me. It exists somewhere between the floating melodies of 2005's Pride & Prejudice [Music from the Motion Picture] and 2008's considerably more sombre and mournful Atonement - and yet it is singularly unique and utterly engrossing. The themes are incredibly subtle, registering after a few listens. In any other soundtrack it might seem aimless, but here it works perfectly - illustrating the characters in the most specific and yet limited way. It's a masterpiece.

If you like this, please, please have a look at these if you are interested, they're spectacular:

I Capture The Castle
The Village
Defiance: Music From The Motion Picture
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intense, March 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jane Eyre (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) (Audio CD)
I absolutely love this CD and play it in my car over and over. I am a music nut and think the best music comes from soundtracks. I have an immense collection that includes all instruments. This CD in particular I find peaceful and enjoy it each and every time I play it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just lovely, January 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jane Eyre (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) (Audio CD)
The composer ant the violinist are very gifted. This soundtrack makes lovely background music while I am on the computer or doing some craft. Most of the tracks are slow and soulful with pleasant longing tones. They reflect the story and the character of Jane Eyer. II thought this BBC versionthe best ever made of this classic.Only one track is a little dark, I usually skip that one.
Great for all the romantics out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Jane Eyre (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
Jane Eyre (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) by Motion City Soundtrack (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.