Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars bursting with the potential fulfilled on Nothing's Shocking
the review calls the cover version of Sympathy for the Devil "dubious." dubious nothing. Perry Farrell makes a better devil than Mick Jagger any day. the segue from Rock 'n Roll to Sympathy might be the best moment on the album.
yes, it's a live performance, recorded at the Roxy in LA, I believe, but they did some studio overdubbing so that the sound quality does...
Published on August 29, 2002 by D. I. Javier

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Loved It Before Nothings Shocking.......
FIrst came across JA on a comp called "Scream" or something of that nature. Went out and bought this record and thought it was pretty fantastic to say the least and at the time it was. It sounded signifigantly different than anything else at the time and Farrell had one of those voices (like Robert Plant) that would forever mark the band. Then something...
Published on May 6, 2005 by riot67


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Jane says good album, February 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jane's Addiction (Audio CD)
One of my absolute favorite Jane Addiction albums. Pigs in Zen, Jane Says, and the cover of Sympathy for the Devil make it a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please allow me to introduce myself..., July 9, 2000
This review is from: Jane's Addiction (Audio CD)
It's kinda hard whethor to call this their first album or their first live album. Kinda like how the Rolling Stones didn't put their name on their first album Jane's Addiction releases a live album before they realease any studio album. The way the album feels and the way it looks have all the influence of an underground club band. Since this ironically being one of the last albums I bought that was Jane's I'm not sure if I could reccomend this to everyone just starting to collect all the albums. (Honestly the first Jane's album I got was Kettle Whistle) Also their version of "Symphony for the Devil" is ten times better than what the Rolling Stones did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I love early JA, December 11, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jane's Addiction (Audio CD)
I love early JA. Not their best album but that isn't a knock. You can't really beat Nothing's Shocking and Ritual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great price, May 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jane's Addiction (Audio CD)
Love this band. Great price for the CD to add to my collection. i had this in college and lost it - 2nd copy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Early JA recording, August 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jane's Addiction (Audio CD)
If you are a JA fan, then buy this cd. Some of their best work is on this album. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Debut and (Suprise) another Must Have by Janes, March 9, 2000
By 
Joseph C. Landon Jr. (Lewisville, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jane's Addiction (Audio CD)
Isn't it unusual for a band to release a live debut? Well, after you hear this you'll understand why. This recording captures the band at their most uninhibited and intimate selves. And it sounds so great for a live recording. How old was Dave Navarro when they recorded this, like 20? He's unbelieveable. I just love the opening track, Trip Away. That guitar solo by Navarro just goes on forever and you never want it too stop. The band also does worthy live versions of Pigs in Zen and Jane Says that hold up to the studio versions on Nothing's Shocking. The second side here has an abrupt change in mood. They seem to have put away the electrics for a separately recorded accoustic show. However, that doesn't detract from the quality in that Rock N Roll and Sympathy are great covers that are very much Janes Addiction-ized from the originals. But Chip Away is silly and awfull and should have been left off. Nevertheless, it's A great preview of what's to come in the remarkable bands terribly short career. I would rate this tied for second with Nothing Shocking and behind Ritual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this one exellent replacement - ★, November 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jane's Addiction (Audio Cassette)
I had this tape - before - great !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars incredible promise, January 7, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Jane's Addiction (Audio CD)
The band Jane's Addiction is one of the most important bands in the last twenty years of music. They brought rock and roll back to a music scene dominated by pop acts. This is their debut indie release. It documents their early life on the streets of Los Angeles. A series of live cuts including covers of the Rolling Stones "Sympathy for the Devil" and Lou Reed's "My Time." Not on the level of their follow up classic albums "Nothing's Shocking" and "Ritual de lo Habitual" this self titled album offers an early look at what will become one of the greatest bands of our time. An early version of the now-classic "Jane Says" and "Chip Away" are the best songs on this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, January 14, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poked a hole right into myself; found someone inside, June 9, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Jane's Addiction (Audio CD)
This album goes best with a big fat rail. Make sure you are still listening to "Chip Away" before you come down. I sometimes think that Dave Navarro should never have left the band but then realize that he didn't. Actually, Perry Farrel left the band. I think that the live version of Jane Says on this album is much better than the one on Kettle Whistle because the one on Kettle Whistle is too commercialized-sounds like a Tropical Fiesta commercial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Jane's Addiction
Jane's Addiction by Jane's Addiction (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.