Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The same Janes!, October 31, 2008
By 
Amy Ward (Lawrence County, OH) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Janes in Love (Plain Janes) (Paperback)
Janes in Love picks up where the last book left off. Our Janes are still creating wonderful pieces of art to enliven the community. This time around, the Janes are all in love and not sure what to do about it. In the midst of all the hormones, the Janes are deterred in their artistic efforts and P.L.A.I.N. looks to be doomed. But they still have some tricks up their sleeves.

I loved the first book and was equally thrilled with the latest installment. The book has a lot of heart and really touches on our modern-day fears. I truly wish every community had a group like the PLAIN Janes. The world would be a better place. I hope there are more installments of this series to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Follow Up Story, June 30, 2010
This review is from: Janes in Love (Plain Janes) (Paperback)
This graphic novel continues nearly a year after The P.L.A.I.N. Janes. Where the first in this series dealt with the Janes learning to have confidence in themselves, and doing something they believed in, this one takes place a year later and as Valentine's Day is approaching the Janes realize they want to find love and happiness.

The Janes are:
Jane - DramaticJane
Jayne - BrainJayne
Polly Jane - SportyJane
Jane - MainJane

MainJane is still dealing with the aftermath of being near ground zero of a terrorist attack. She is getting better but her mother is getting worse. All of Janes' art is an attempt to bring her mother back out of her shell. I liked this story but enjoyed the first one more. This one does go into greater depth about relationships and overcoming adversity. It is a good story by a gifted writer. It really is a pity that DC Comic discontinued this MINX line; they were supposed to be heralding in a new era of graphic novels, novels written with girls as the main audience, with strong female characters that could be role models. The line was announced in 2006, with much fanfare, but was cancelled part way into 2008, thus leaving that target audience again under-represented in North America. But the 13 books in the line that were released all look interesting, and like the type of book I will want to share with my daughter as she grows up. This is a shining example of that sentiment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best art springs from heartache, right?, May 25, 2010
By 
Lawral Wornek (Philadelphia, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Janes in Love (Plain Janes) (Paperback)
Again, this is a cute top story with some seriousness underneath. All the Janes are secretly pining after someone, and a girls-ask-the-guys dance prompts them to act on their feelings. Main Jane is crushing on Damon, but afraid to talk to him after his arrest for her art attack. Miroslaw (formerly John Doe) is awake, and he and Jane exchange letters and care packages. He inspires Jane to apply for an art grant to make the P.L.A.I.N. Janes legit. Meanwhile another attack in Metro City scares Jane's mom into never leaving the house. In an effort to get her to come out, Jane's dad refuses to go in. Neither seems to notice that Jane isn't fairing well. And then Jane hears back from the grant people and has to sneak into Metro City to present her portfolio. Da da dum.

In this installment, the Janes are joined by James, the lone gay guy who was a walking stereotype in the last book. He gets to be a much more complete character here with interests beyond being uber-gay. Still, he bemoans the lack of gay guys in Kent Waters as the rest of the Janes set their sights on their dream guys. He doesn't get the happily ever after that some of the Janes do, but he does get to ogle the whole (hot) guys' basketball team. And no one thinks it's gross! James also plays a very important role when Main Jane starts to receive letters from a Secret Admirer. SPOILER: When it turns out that these letters might be from a girl, James has a little talk with Jane about how to let Secret Admirer down easy, emphasizing that Jane should do everything in her power to not make Secret Admirer feel weird for crushing on another girl. This little tidbit is added in without making any kind of a big deal or turning into too much of a "teaching moment." James' concern is genuine and natural. End Spoiler.

The Janes all deal with a little heartbreak, being in love will do that, and it brings them closer. Example:

"The thing about having a good true friend is that it's ok if you cry so hard that snot runs down your face. Because their arms are strong and their heartbeat is loud ... and you can be your smallest and ugliest in front of them."
p.53

Initially they were friends because they had no one else, then because they shared their passion for the P.L.A.I.N. Janes. Now they're just friends, who still sit together for lunch and sometimes dress in all black to put in a midnight art installation.

Book 1: The Plain Janes
Book source: Philly Free Library
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great for your artistic girl, February 17, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Janes in Love (Plain Janes) (Paperback)
The sequel to P.l.a.i.n Janes takes our heroines deeper into their involvement in art, friendship and high school. I love that there is a positive role model for my daughter in this graphic novel, which speaks to her burning desire to create art. I recommend for any girl age 11-18
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Valentine's Day for the Janes, November 9, 2011
This review is from: Janes in Love (Plain Janes) (Paperback)
The Janes are back at it. A bust at New Year's won't hold them back. They know that art saves, and their town needs saving. Of course, their hearts need saving too. They are all pining away for someone. Officer Sanchez is none to pleased about having more art "vandals"on the loose. When the Janes get shaken up though they know they have to change their approach. Maybe if they can get a grant the town will see them as "real" artists and start to appreciate the beauty all around them.

This was another fun adventure with Jane and Jayne and Polly Jane and Jane. :D Even more art projects to try to help a world that is bowing under the pressure of terrorism. It can be hard to see the world as a beautiful place if all you can feel is fear. Emotions ran high in this one. Love was in the air, but there was also a lot of heated exchanges. This was a really excellent sequel and oh how I wish that there would be another Jane book. I would love to start a huge art program like this. Oh, to be in high school again. Anyways, loved this book too and definitely, definitely check out this series soon.

First Line:
"I can't believe that it's been nearly a year since it happened."

Favorite Lines:
"Hello. How wonderful to be able to say these words to you. Hello, dear Jane. Light of my life."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love these books!, January 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Janes in Love (Plain Janes) (Paperback)
The Jane books are so delightful - they are beautifully written and drawn and are sort of like a G-rated Love and Rockets - you can share with your kids!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, August 12, 2009
This review is from: Janes in Love (Plain Janes) (Paperback)
In this second installment of the PLAIN JANES series, the gang is looking for new ways to spread art around the community.

Problems are looming on the horizon, though. Valentine's Day is just around the corner, and everyone is looking for a sweetheart for the big dance and pulling their sneak art attacks are getting harder and harder with Officer Sanchez always on the lookout.

Jane still maintains correspondence with Miroslaw from the first book. From one of the letters Jane gets from him, she gets the idea to find a legal way to spread her art.

She applies for a grant from the National Foundation for the Arts. Her proposal is based on taking an abandoned corner and turning it into a garden paradise the whole community can enjoy.

Despite some ups and downs, the Janes stay focused on their goal. This installment is just as entertaining as the first one. I'm assuming there will be another one, but I have no idea what it will be about since JANES IN LOVE wraps up so nicely.

Reviewed by: Karin Librarian
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, August 7, 2014
This review is from: Janes in Love (Plain Janes) (Paperback)
The sequel lives up to Jane!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Janes in Love (Plain Janes)
Janes in Love (Plain Janes) by Cecil Castellucci (Paperback - September 23, 2008)
$9.99 $8.71
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.