Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiration for western architects and craftsmen
Among our collection of a dozen or more illustrated books about Japanese architecture and design, this is by far the best. The exquisite photographs are accompanied by a thorough yet interesting explanation of the various traditional styles found in Japanese architecture.

Although the emphasis is upon traditional homes, the volume also includes examples of the...
Published on February 25, 2006 by Erotica Fan

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not what I thought
Bought on my Kindle Fire. The free samples never give a good idea of what the contents will be. Fortunately the generous return policy lets me look through the whole book and decide. The subject is interesting, I'm looking for ideas for my house, but this book wasn't what I needed.
Published on September 2, 2012 by J. Piwaron


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiration for western architects and craftsmen, February 25, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Japan Style: Architecture Interiors Design (Hardcover)
Among our collection of a dozen or more illustrated books about Japanese architecture and design, this is by far the best. The exquisite photographs are accompanied by a thorough yet interesting explanation of the various traditional styles found in Japanese architecture.

Although the emphasis is upon traditional homes, the volume also includes examples of the adaptation of these styles to elegant homes in Japan today. Be forewarned, however, many of the homes illustrated, both very old and modern, are far more spacious than middle-class Japanese are able to enjoy, even those living in rural Japan.

When our present home, blending Japanese and Craftsman influences, is finished, we will give this book to our architects and contractor as tokens of our appreciation.

(By the way, this reviewer lived in Japan for ten years.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book worth every cent, November 3, 2006
This review is from: Japan Style: Architecture Interiors Design (Hardcover)
Beautifully illustrated with tons of large pictures of houses and gardens on every page with notes on each one. Very tastefully put together. Great style which epicts beautiful Japanese living in a more contemporary way. An excellent book for anyone wanting ideas on how to decorate their home or garden in the typical Japanese or Asian style. Also makes a wonderful coffee table book. Very pleased that I bought this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book on Real Japanese Interiors, May 21, 2005
By 
Steph (Tennessee USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Japan Style: Architecture Interiors Design (Hardcover)
Beautiful photos of great interiors. Mostly traditional Japanese homes as they are currently lived in. Features homes with collections of traditional Japanese crafts. Also, some modern homes designed with Japanese aesthetic. I would also recommend the book "Japanese Style".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indeed an outstanding book, April 6, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Japan Style: Architecture Interiors Design (Hardcover)
Like one of the other reviewers, I own quite a few books on Japanese houses and architecture. This is an outstanding example, with very beautiful high quality photography and printing, as well as a great selection of houses I have not seen before. Most are traditional, but a few are modern. I am glad I bought this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous view of Japanese homes, July 24, 2010
This review is from: Japan Style: Architecture Interiors Design (Hardcover)
Traditional form meets modern life in "Japan Style: Architecture Interiors Design". This well-illustrated book focuses on 20 homes, from a 70-year-old house made of Japanese hemlock in Osaka to a tastefully lit home in Hadano City. Principles of design, such as "eliminating the inessential," minimalism and simplicity, and integration of the interior with the exterior, are explained and shown in practice. The text is informative but what really makes this book stand out is the excellent, rich photos that show these homes in their simplicity and natural beauty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, June 6, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Japan Style: Architecture Interiors Design (Hardcover)
This book is full of great color photos taken in and around 20 spectacular homes in Japan. The emphasis is on the traditional timberframe style, but many of the homes are designed for modern living. The book briefly explains the Japanese design theory, and uses the magnificent Zan Yu So villa as an example, complete with a good floorplan. There is a brief description preceding each home, but the book is more visual than wordy. I also recommend Lenny Brackett's "Building the Japanese House Today", which is my personal favorite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 10, 2014
This review is from: Japan Style: Architecture Interiors Design (Hardcover)
great book lots of pics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of My Favorites, March 20, 2014
By 
G3 Systems, Inc. (Blacksburg, VA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was a good book on the subject, one of several that I recently purchased. Not as much on traditional architecture as others, but I did like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Japanese Homes, October 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Japan Style: Architecture Interiors Design (Hardcover)
If you love Japanese design, you will find some really outstanding dwellings. Beautifully photographed and arranged. It ts truly inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of nice photos to "get the imagination" going, August 22, 2013
By 
A. Chen (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Japan Style: Architecture Interiors Design (Hardcover)
I bought this as a gift of a friend who loves Japanese interiors. This book did not disappoint! It gave him plenty of ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Japan Style: Architecture Interiors Design
Japan Style: Architecture Interiors Design by Kimie Tada (Hardcover - January 15, 2005)
Used & New from: $22.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.