Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it PME Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars19
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 25, 2006
Among our collection of a dozen or more illustrated books about Japanese architecture and design, this is by far the best. The exquisite photographs are accompanied by a thorough yet interesting explanation of the various traditional styles found in Japanese architecture.

Although the emphasis is upon traditional homes, the volume also includes examples of the adaptation of these styles to elegant homes in Japan today. Be forewarned, however, many of the homes illustrated, both very old and modern, are far more spacious than middle-class Japanese are able to enjoy, even those living in rural Japan.

When our present home, blending Japanese and Craftsman influences, is finished, we will give this book to our architects and contractor as tokens of our appreciation.

(By the way, this reviewer lived in Japan for ten years.)
33 comments|45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2006
Beautifully illustrated with tons of large pictures of houses and gardens on every page with notes on each one. Very tastefully put together. Great style which epicts beautiful Japanese living in a more contemporary way. An excellent book for anyone wanting ideas on how to decorate their home or garden in the typical Japanese or Asian style. Also makes a wonderful coffee table book. Very pleased that I bought this.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2005
Beautiful photos of great interiors. Mostly traditional Japanese homes as they are currently lived in. Features homes with collections of traditional Japanese crafts. Also, some modern homes designed with Japanese aesthetic. I would also recommend the book "Japanese Style".
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2007
Like one of the other reviewers, I own quite a few books on Japanese houses and architecture. This is an outstanding example, with very beautiful high quality photography and printing, as well as a great selection of houses I have not seen before. Most are traditional, but a few are modern. I am glad I bought this book.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2010
Traditional form meets modern life in "Japan Style: Architecture Interiors Design". This well-illustrated book focuses on 20 homes, from a 70-year-old house made of Japanese hemlock in Osaka to a tastefully lit home in Hadano City. Principles of design, such as "eliminating the inessential," minimalism and simplicity, and integration of the interior with the exterior, are explained and shown in practice. The text is informative but what really makes this book stand out is the excellent, rich photos that show these homes in their simplicity and natural beauty.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2009
This book is full of great color photos taken in and around 20 spectacular homes in Japan. The emphasis is on the traditional timberframe style, but many of the homes are designed for modern living. The book briefly explains the Japanese design theory, and uses the magnificent Zan Yu So villa as an example, complete with a good floorplan. There is a brief description preceding each home, but the book is more visual than wordy. I also recommend Lenny Brackett's "Building the Japanese House Today", which is my personal favorite.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2013
I would recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a way to decorate a house with Japanese style. Filled with high quality illustrations, this book definitely helps you understand just what 'Japan Style' look like.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2012
This book is drop dead gorgeous and extremely informative, read it cover to cover in one sitting. Highly recommended to anyone interested in Japanese culture!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2011
I found this book wonderful. An overview of Japanese decor with a wealth of great photos. I got a hell of a lot of ideas from happily going through it again and again and again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2015
Excellent book showcasing a variety of Japanese interiors. Many of the ideas are easily adaptable to the American way of life. Quality of book is superior.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.