Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Japanese Gardens: Tranquility, Simplicity, Harmony
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars18
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$26.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 13, 2009
Japanes Gardens may be only a mid-size book, but it has some of the best examples of Japanese gardens that I have seen. The examples vary from temple to residential, from relatively grand to quite modest, but they are all outstanding in one way or another. They are very well photographed, and the images are large enough to really 'look around' in. I have quite a few 'picture' books on this subject, and Japanese Gardens is one of the most enjoyable to return to. For the last few weeks it's always been out, and often open... and I find myself frequently pausing to turn pages and ponder the beautiful images. The text is easy to read, and informative as well. This is a lovely book.
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2009
For me, the important thing to learn about Japanese gardens is the spirit behind them. Thus, I am not much interested in books of the "how to" type here. I believe you need to understand this subject at a deeper level.
Therefore, I find this book to be a most excellent guide to Japanese gardening. The pictures are simply stunning. The photographer is extremely skilled and has an almost magical ability to use the play of light and shadow to best advantage when portraying the gardens. Overall, the effect of looking at the pictures is almost like actually being there!
The accompanying texts are also well written and tells about the history of each garden.
Read this book, get yourself immersed in the pictures, to get some true intuitive understanding of the Japanese garden.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2008
Japanese gardens are legendary for their natural tranquility and artistically elegant use of space and topography. Co-compiled and written by Geeta K. Mehta and Kimie Tada, "Japanese Gardens: Tranquility, Simplicity, Harmony" visually showcases an impressive and memorable series of Japanese temple gardens, private gardens, and public gardens. Profusely illustrated throughout in full color photography by Noboru Murata, "Japanese Gardens" is an informed and informative tour through the best examples of Japanese gardening techniques and philosophy extant today. An elegant, beautiful, inspired and inspiring compilation, "Japanese Gardens" is a welcome and enthusiastically recommended addition to personal, professional, academic, and community library Gardening & Landscape Design reference collections and supplemental reading lists.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2013
I was disappointed by this book.
Lavish praise from others, but if you want a coffee table book, this isn't it. Many of the photographs are overly processed in a '70s style, whitening the shadows. Also the resolution for many of these is simply not adequate.
If on the other hand you want analytic or practical insight into Japanese gardens, this is also not for you. Accompanying text is brief, descriptive and much too general:

"A good view of the entire garden can be seen from the building. The pond is fed by a man-made mountain stream. The miniaturized suhama pebble beach in the foreground seeks to mimic nature. The large stones were brought here from a mountain valley. The stone lantern called yukimi doro, seen on the left, is situated on the water's edge, as is usual at garden ponds."

Who will it suit?
People who want a broadbrush introduction to a variety of Japanese gardens.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2013
There isn't a ton of text in this book, but what's there is perfect. Between the pictures and the text, the book really decodes what makes a Japanese garden a Japanese garden. It also tells the story behind many of the elements in traditional Japanese gardens, and the photos are simply drop-dead gorgeous. It gave me lots of ideas for my blank-slate backyard, and tons of inspiration to get started on my own Japanese garden.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2013
This book is filled with beautiful illustrations and very informative writings. I was able to take information presented in this book and incorporate it into my own garden. Overall, it was a very helpful guide as well as an interesting read. I would recommend this book to those who want to incorporate Japanese style garden into their own, or those who simply want to learn more about Japanese garden.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2013
This book is full of wonderful views of amazing gardens. It is a picture book.
The Japanese refuse latin making it difficult to identify plants and trees. I. E all spruces are ezo spruce. Great to look at not much else
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2013
This is a lovely book which provides a very zen balance of well chosen words and images. Even just browsing through it has brought me tranquility, simplicity and harmony.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2014
As the heading says...looking at the gardens pictured here in this book can make me feel almost as good as I would there in those gardens and I have been, there, in some of those gardens.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2013
Japanese gardens are for the soul.
Makes one feel so at one with nature.
Excellent book in words and photographic content.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse