Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One Helluva Ride!
What happens when you take a handful of guys, mix them with thousands of well built, extremely attractive men, throw in some glamour drugs, sex and add a pulsating soundtrack? One helluva ride!
In this latest release to dvd, "When Boys Fly", takes you along a journey into the underground world of the circuit party and follows a group of guys ala " MTV's Real World"...
Published on November 17, 2002

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Didn't fly close enough to the sun
It was easy to get through this entire movie, don't get me wrong. It is just definitely not worth a second viewing because you know you didn't miss anything. This is a documentary focusing on boys going to the be-all end-all circuit party, the White Party (or is it White Ball?). They got a group of three guys (Scott, Jason and Todd) who, while interesting, really don't...
Published on April 25, 2005 by BDT


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One Helluva Ride!, November 17, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: When Boys Fly (DVD)
What happens when you take a handful of guys, mix them with thousands of well built, extremely attractive men, throw in some glamour drugs, sex and add a pulsating soundtrack? One helluva ride!
In this latest release to dvd, "When Boys Fly", takes you along a journey into the underground world of the circuit party and follows a group of guys ala " MTV's Real World" into this scene of buff bods, heavy duty drugs, and all night partying. It's probably a world many of us have never seen and after watching this I'm really not sure I want to. It's captivating and saddening watching all these gorgeous men party the night away reaching for something most of them will never find. Escaping from their problems and or lives most resort to drugs like ecstacy, "g", and alcohol. And we get to see it all.
Directors Stewart Halpern and Lenid Rolov began the project by posting a website [and]requesting applicants. After receiving thousands of entries they handpicked a select group to be filmed while attending the "White Party" in Miami. And thus the adventure begins....
These are real guys, with real problems and they never hesitate at sharing their thoughts and emotions. The cameras follow these guys from their homes, to Miami, the pool party and into the evening at this infamous world that not everyone has or will experience. But "When Boys Fly" takes you there you really become immersed in the event and I found myself completely drawn in. At times I felt like I wanted to be there and at others sad and sickened by what these guys were doing to themselves. Jeffrey Sanker, a promoter of such events, says at one point, "these guys work hard, and they deserve to play hard". You be the judge. "When Boys Fly" is an excellent, intimate and intriguing look into the world of the underground party circuit.
The dvd runs also includes interviews with Tone and Brandon two years later, audition tapes, over 20 minutes of deleted scenes, interview with director Kevin Weiler, running commentary with the director and Brandon, biographies and four trailers for other TLA releases...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Didn't fly close enough to the sun, April 25, 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: When Boys Fly (DVD)
It was easy to get through this entire movie, don't get me wrong. It is just definitely not worth a second viewing because you know you didn't miss anything. This is a documentary focusing on boys going to the be-all end-all circuit party, the White Party (or is it White Ball?). They got a group of three guys (Scott, Jason and Todd) who, while interesting, really don't add much to the overall point of the movie. The Jason has and Scott IS dating Todd when the movie is filmed. If anything they show us the most average experience one might have at a circuit party. Their personal drama is what makes their segments interesting but in the end does nothing more than prove something that could have happened at any club or watering hole anywhere.

The next boy is Tone (prounounced Tony and hereafter spelled Tony cuz spelling Tony as Tone is just stupid). He is the junkie of the experimental grouping. We have all heard tales of how bad the drugs are at these parties and he is supposed to be the posterboy for that addiction. If he is the worst of it, I am not nearly as worried as I was. He was, at best, a part-time junkie. Don't get me wrong, Tony does have a drug problem, but did not seem nearly as profound as we are led to believe.

The last boy is Brandon, who is the one who has never been to one of these circuit parties before. Again, nothing profound. His segment does show how even a straight lace like Brandon can easily give into the "atmosphere" of those parties which was interesting.

Overall, this movies does not offer anything about circuit parties that you do not already know. I am saying that as someone who has never even thought about going to one. But, as someone who has never gone it was interesting to see some of the inner-workings and what not. The non-stop scenes full of shirtless hotties does help this movie's case. All of the five main boys are pretty cute, too.

One thing about this movie is the selection of those five main boys. It introduces more guys but does not go into their 'characters' too much, which is a shame. I wanted to know more about all the second class characters as the main boys I had figured out early on. The movie limited itself far too much, it should have been longer and more indulgent on the ugly side of circuit parties.

If you have been to a circuit party (even a minor one, I am guessing) you don't need to see this movie. You already know. If not, it is worth a look but just don't go out of your way to see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is no network-TV reality series, November 6, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: When Boys Fly (DVD)
I saw this movie at a film festival and I must say the story it documents is spellbinding, eye-opening, encapsulating, funny, and sad all at the same time.
By no means does this documentary insinuate that all gay men are lured into the hard-partying yet sometimes dark world of "circuit parties"; on the contrary, it chronicles the exploits of a neophyte to the circuit party scene who really feels that he doesn't have anything in common with these other guys, questions why he is there, yet is intrigued nonetheless.
With the benefit of the omnipresent camera, we watch in true reality TV form as this person discovers the circuit party cultural phenomenon for the first time. He parties like he never has before, meets some interesting characters, experiences individual growth, discovers a sense of belonging, yet never loses his individuality, sense of grounding, and self control.
This story is familiar to some of us that have been to a few circuit parties, had fun, but by no means would be considered "circuit boys".
I would recommend this to anyone who has been to a circuit party, never been to but would like to attend a circuit party, knows someone that goes to circuit parties, or is just plain interested in the cultural phenomenon in a segment of the gay world of the drugs, the boys, and the partying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Confusing. Film wants to warn and arouse., August 11, 2006
This review is from: When Boys Fly (DVD)
Some pretty blatant manipulation and staging of events (roommate Scott's kitchen confrontation with Tone) in the film lead me to be more than a bit cynical after viewing When Boys Fly last night. On one hand, it does a very good job in capturing the intense and sometimes overwhelming atmosphere of the circuit scene - pretty, buff, often very high boys everywhere you look. I know from experience just how seductive that can be. I also applaud the fact that the film does not shy away from showing how the initial excitement almost always devolves into sad, desperate, strung-out souls searching for something more. It's definitely a cautionary tale BUT at the same time it blatantly fetishizes the scene and the men who attend the parties. Is the nudity in the film truly serving any other purpose than to excite the viewer? Do we absolutely need scenes of naked men together in the shower or rolling around on the bed post-party? C'mon. I don't believe for a moment that footage is there for any other reason than to arouse. Arousal is awesome. I'm all for it. But in this film I feel it screams hypocrisy. Take a look at these sad, drug-addled souls living this empty experience. Hey! Aren't they hot?!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly watchable, July 30, 2006
This review is from: When Boys Fly (DVD)
I was not remotely interested in seeing a documentary about pretty party boys, but as a result of circumstances beyond my control see it I did. I was quite surprised to find a rather watchable film which provided a skimming-the-surface view into a world that I am quite unfamiliar with.

The not very deep nature of the investigation is entirely appropriate given the topic and the utterly vague and vacuuos nature of the people that the filmmaker chose to focus on. You can't help but watch this sometimes bizarre, always self-absorbed and yet compellingly vacant group of people talking earnestly to the camera as though they are providing important anthropological insights - and, ironically, perhaps they are.

It does not make the people or the parties look particularly appealing, and it generated a lot of laughs from the audience that I saw it with, but I do think that many young gay men will identify with the topics of the film. Those topics may be a turn-off, but they are kind of interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flying High With "Boys", November 23, 2002
This review is from: When Boys Fly (DVD)
WHEN BOYS FLY is an intriguing and entertaining look into the sub-culture of the Circuit Party scene. The film pulls no punches as it follows various young(and some not-so-young) men as they delve into the fun, the danger, and the debauchery that is all-too prevalent in the annual bacchanal held in Miami Beach. Like most parties, the merriment comes with a price, and in the case of the party-hearty revellers presented here, it is a price they are all-too willing to pay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eye candy galore!, August 6, 2006
By 
This review is from: When Boys Fly (DVD)
Very hot guys and lots of good dance music. Only 61 minutes but well worth the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening first-hand perspective on circuit party culture, November 15, 2002
By 
Sammy Sanchez (Brooklyn, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: When Boys Fly (DVD)
This film pushes the envelope and gives viewers a full access pass to the circuit party scene. It is enlightening to hear and see and meet the people who are part of this world. The documentary unfolds in a way that does not judge or disparage the main characters; it's a very honest, tragic and sometimes hysterical portrayal of their lives and the thrill or high they aspire to achieve. I highly recommend this film for those who have gone to a circuit party, are curious, or just want to experience something unlike anything they have ever experienced before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great documentary!, June 26, 2007
By 
Stevie D "SD" (Scottsdale, Arizona United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: When Boys Fly (DVD)
What a great look into the dark side of pleasureland for grown up boys who get caught up in the drama of the circuit world. Though not all agree that its always a true case with everyone that loves to go to the dance parties for the love of the music and the scenery. It can be said that for a few that get caught up of the mystery of addiction, drugs, and sex when all get mixed up in one setting, that it can take a toll of friendships, relationships and the human body. I loved the followup of the main characters and hope they can make a continuation of how they have changed since the making of the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Afraid to Show Both Sides, May 22, 2007
This review is from: When Boys Fly (DVD)
I was quite suprised with this documentary. For someone who has never been to a circuit party, I was quite impressed to see why different people choose to go, to see the different guys who attend and to show a glimpse into some of the things that happen at a circuit party. While there are some sexy parts, well-defined shirtless guys make up about half of the film. They also did a great job with the follow-up. Overall, if you're looking to find out a little more about the circuit life and find out what GHB is, then you'll most certainly like this documentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

When Boys Fly
When Boys Fly by Stewart Halpern-Fingerhut (DVD - 2003)
$14.99 $6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.