Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Starts with a clean sheet of paper for the complete beginner.
This is a book oriented to the complete beginner. It basically starts with a blank sheet of paper and begins with a simple applet that just outputs a single line of text to the screen.

From here he goes on to provide a very simply step by step tutorial to cover the fundamental rules of Java. In this book he doesn't get everything there is to know about Java...
Published on July 3, 2006 by John Matlock

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful--Misses the point!
This book misses the entire point of the "... for the Absolute Beginner" series. The premise is to ease beginners into a programming language by using games and game-programming. Dring the course of programming increasingly complex games, the reader gets masters the basics of the language. The book fails to deliver on that promise.

The games featured on the...
Published on December 2, 2008 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Starts with a clean sheet of paper for the complete beginner., July 3, 2006
This review is from: Java Programming for the Absolute Beginner (Paperback)
This is a book oriented to the complete beginner. It basically starts with a blank sheet of paper and begins with a simple applet that just outputs a single line of text to the screen.

From here he goes on to provide a very simply step by step tutorial to cover the fundamental rules of Java. In this book he doesn't get everything there is to know about Java. It's an introductory book, it covers the bases of the language well enough to get you started. You will probably want an additional book before you become the local master.

If I have one complaint about the book it is one that I complain about a lot on Java books. On page 5 he starts talking about object oriented programming. And he talks on for two or three pages. Then he skips saying anything more about object oriented programming for about 160 pages. By then the reader has completely forgotten about the few pages on page 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful--Misses the point!, December 2, 2008
By 
This review is from: Java Programming for the Absolute Beginner (Paperback)
This book misses the entire point of the "... for the Absolute Beginner" series. The premise is to ease beginners into a programming language by using games and game-programming. Dring the course of programming increasingly complex games, the reader gets masters the basics of the language. The book fails to deliver on that promise.

The games featured on the cover aren't programmed. In fact, the book teaches a very small subset of of the Java language.

Instead, the author wastes the reader's time, including a completely inapproriate introduction to UML, which does NOT help readers at this introductory level; to me it just came across as self-important.

If you want a gentle introduction to Java, I'd recommend "Java for Dummies" by Burd for a nice on-ramp to the language, or "Head First Java" by Sierra and Bates if you plan to do more serious work (I know, it sounds bizarre, but it's true).

If you want to see what this book should have been, compare it to another title in the series, "Python for the Absolute Beginners (2nd ed)." That book keeps the game-focus while doing a marvelous job of teaching the language. It also contains one of the best discussions of references/aliasing I've read.

I usually donate my sub-par books to the library. I trashed this one to spare any others the pain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poorly organized and not geared towards the aspiring professional, July 3, 2006
This review is from: Java Programming for the Absolute Beginner (Paperback)
When this book says it is aimed at the absolute beginner it means beginner to programming rather than a programmer with no experience of Java. The book's format of making the topic interesting by gradually building up examples that are games is a good concept but the book does not execute the concept very well.

In practice the book launches into Java and programming in too complex a fashion for the total beginner, there are lots of abbreviations (often not explained) and it discusses terms and concepts that are not explained until a much later and do not need to be introduced this early. It seems odd to be using terms like how many bits a data type has without explaining the term, particularly considering the audience of this book. References to hex and octal are not explained, and as you go into chapter 3 the book covers methods of the random and math class before covering how to use "if" and even what classes are. The flow and structure of this book feels very awkward, covering try/catch and the basics of exception handling very early in the book before the total novice even knows WHAT you are trying to catch and why.

The general jokey examples such as snippets of song lyrics and how to add comments around them, or a fortune teller routine demonstrating random numbers that print text such as "You will talk to someone who has bad breath" seem aimed more at attracting kids that want to write simple games on their home computers rather than someone who wants to learn Java and computer programming for professional reasons. If you are serious about learning Java, try the latest editions of either "Head First Java" or "Core Java" and skip this book. If you have never programmed at all, first try "Sams Teach Yourself Beginning Programming in 24 Hours". The Sam's Teach Yourself series can be rather hit-or-miss, but that particular book is definitely a hit.

Since Amazon omits the table of contents I show that next:
1. Getting Started
2. Variables, Data Types, and Simple I/O
3. The Fortune Teller: Random Numbers, Conditionals, and Arrays
4. The Number Guesser: Using Loops and Exception Handling
5. Blackjack: Object Oriented Programming
6. Making Your Life Easier: The java.util Package and Generics
7. Learning to Read and Write: The java.io Package
8. Creating a GUI Using the Abstract Windowing Toolkit
9. Advanced GUI, Layout Managers, and Event Handling
10. Writing Applets
11. Rendering 2D Graphics
12. Animation, Sounds, and Threads
13. Putting it All Together: The Block Game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad choice at all..., May 23, 2010
This review is from: Java Programming for the Absolute Beginner (Paperback)
I liked this book. It's easy to read, most of it anyway. There are some parts more complex. This book builds upon knowledge with each chapter. The screen shots are impossible to read,... but if you try the programs out yourself, this should not be a problem. Besides that's the best way to learn any programming language anyway. Chapter 5 is where the real OO starts. If you already know someother programming language you'd probably skip very fast through chapters 1 to 4. But you'd probably still need to read through them. This is just one of the manny many programming books out there. Which one do you choose? If you just have to read, go through this book, because you 'have' to for 'some' programming course/class, then you might not like this book. But if you are new to java, and REALY are interested in learning it, then this book is not a bad choice at all.

Learning C as a basis for programming is also a good idea. It my even make going through this book a (lot) easier. Besides you then have annother language to add to your list of know programming languages. C Programming for the Absolute Beginner, 2nd Editionis good book for learning the basic of C.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Java for Beginners, June 29, 2012
This review is from: Java Programming for the Absolute Beginner (Paperback)
I'm about half way through the book at the time of writing this review and I was an absolute Java beginner when I started. I am by no means an expert yet, but I am now able to write my own basic programs and understand most Java code that I come across online. As for some of the reviewers who criticize the simplicity of the book, I would remind them that this is written for absolute beginners and not experts. Other books like Head First Java clearly state in the intro that their book is only for people who have experience in coding languages like C++ or C# (not even HTML).
Overall I'm very satisfied with the knowledge I've gained so far and would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for beginners, June 23, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Java Programming for the Absolute Beginner (Paperback)
This book helped me get my foot in the door for Java programming. Before this book, I was getting "stonewalled" trying to get started into Java programming. This book is aimed at people who want to start computer programming and is making Java their first language. May not be adaquate for experienced programmers who want to learn Java and already know programming conventions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Beginner Java book by far, May 27, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Java Programming for the Absolute Beginner (Paperback)
I am a teacher of Programming languages for 20 years. This is a good way of learning Java, because it has practical examples as a basis. The SAMS 24 hours book by Rogers Calderwood looks good from the outside because it covers a lot of topics, but in pratice it does not allow the poor student to get a grip on problem solving like this Absolute Beginners Guide. Especially, I found that to teach a student OO you need to do quite a few varied practical examples, before the penny drops. This is an excellent beginner book - remember if you can teach a student the most important thing in Java - classes and objects, you can build confidence and the rest is easy. The other books mentioned by the bad reviewer does not do that - especially the SAMS (In 24 hours) by Rogers Calderwood - that one misses the boat completely .

I requested the code samples from the publishers and they emailed it to me right away - it was not on their website yet, but they are in the process. Contact I requested the code samples from the publishers and they emailed it to me right away - it was not on their website yet, but they are in the process. You can get it from Mitzi.Koontz@cengage.com .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY THIS BOOK!, September 22, 2009
This review is from: Java Programming for the Absolute Beginner (Paperback)
I bought this book about a week ago and finally had the time to start reading it, using it. As I went to the specified web site they direct you to download the programs and all the supporting code that accompanies the book, THEY ARE NO LONGER THERE! And the company does not support it any longer.

I feel cheated and misled by this action and you should NOT get this book at all.

Don't waste your money and time (x2) since you'll have to return it!

What a joke!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Java Programming for the Absolute Beginner
Java Programming for the Absolute Beginner by John P. Flynt (Paperback - June 16, 2006)
Used & New from: $7.63
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.