Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good book on the details of Java and SOA
This book is intended for experienced Java developers and architects who need to know the details of SOA development with the Java programming language and associated technologies. It is not a very good big picture book on SOA. For that I recommend Service Oriented Architecture with Java: Using SOA and web services to build powerful Java applications, which was published...
Published on March 28, 2009 by calvinnme

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for Java tinkerers
Kind of a dense read. Even for somebody who works around Java but is not a pure Java developer. Kind of turned me of to Java in general realizing that the nomenclature is so obfusticated compared to other languages.
Published 21 months ago by C. Harper


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good book on the details of Java and SOA, March 28, 2009
This review is from: Java SOA Cookbook (Paperback)
This book is intended for experienced Java developers and architects who need to know the details of SOA development with the Java programming language and associated technologies. It is not a very good big picture book on SOA. For that I recommend Service Oriented Architecture with Java: Using SOA and web services to build powerful Java applications, which was published in 2008, so it is still current in its approach.

To get the most out of this book the author assumes specifically that you are familiar with Java SE 5 or 6, servlets, JSP Enterprise Edition containers such as Glassfish, Enterprise JavaBeans, as well as JDBC, JNDI, EARs and WARs, and XML. In short, the author assumes that you have been involved in enterprise development using the Java technologies and APIs mentioned. If you have used web services but not recently, this book does help you get your feet back in the water. It is those that are complete novices that will get truly lost.

Parts of the book address strategy, design, and patterns, but largely it is a book that stays at a low level. A really good book on SOA design patterns is SOA Design Patterns (The Prentice Hall Service-Oriented Computing Series from Thomas Erl). The author also talks about SOA and Ruby, Python, and .NET. However, it is not necessary to have a background in these languages since Java is specifically the language and environment that the author addresses.

Currently, the table of contents is not included in the product description, so I include that next:

Part 1: SOA Fundamentals
Chapter 1. Introduction to SOA
Chapter 2. XML Schema and the SOA Data Model
Chapter 3. Working with XML and Java
Part 2: Web Services
Chapter 4. Getting Started
Chapter 5. Web Services with SAAJ
Chapter 6. Creating Web Service Applications with JAX-WS
Chapter 7. Providing SOAP-Based Web Services
Chapter 8. RESTful Web Services
Part 3: Business Processes
Chapter 9. Service Orchestrations with BPEL
Chapter 10. Advanced Orchestrations with BPEL
Chapter 11. SOA Governance
Part 4: Interoperability and Quality of Service
Chapter 12. Web Service Interoperability
Chapter 13. Quality of Service
Chapter 14. Enterprise Service Bus

I would say that between this book and the other two that I mentioned, you should have a pretty good starting point on SOA/Java reading material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The BEST you find on this subject, September 16, 2009
By 
Abu al-Sous "Abu al-Sous" (Arlington Heights, IL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Java SOA Cookbook (Paperback)
I was really impressed how thorough this book is, it covered lots of materials. I was always looking for such a book that covers all sorts of topics in ONE SINGLE book, and this is the one. There are lots of books in the market about SOA, however, lots of them are pure talk, and they just fill pages to sell books and helps you very little in real life. This book is straight to the point; of course it does not give you everything, however, it is the best you will currently find in the market.

For the designers and architects, it gives you good introductions with examples showing how to apply SOA in real life. It touches on most subjects: such as Schema/Contract Designs, Governance, ESB, BMPL, and more.

From the programming prospective, this is a very rich book with lots of examples and discussions about the code. However, this book is written in a biased way to SUN's Glassfish & NetBeans, which I do not like. I hope in the next release he will normalize to eclipse and Tomcat. If you expect this book to cover AXIS2 or CXF, you are out of luck. This book assumes Java5+ and JAX-WS 2.1+ with lots of annotations.

I wish if there was sections about security in details, such as SAML, and integration with Spring Framework. I guess this will go in the next release years down the road.

I have just read this great book Again, I like add that one major shorting coming of this book that the examples do not exists online? Only snippet of code; not working example. I hope the author will do that soon because this is really a good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars java web services complete, August 14, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Java SOA Cookbook (Paperback)
This is a hands-on web services book. The title is a bit misleading. SOA gives the impression that you are going to learn about best practices and principles for designing an SOA at a relatively high level. It is really a cookbook for implementing java web services. There are some good (and some not so good) hints on high level SOA but there are many SOA theory and design books that will meet that need.

It's unbelievable how complete and detailed this book is. A solid foundation is given for the sake of thorough understanding and then the how-to for JAX-WS, JAX-RS. There is no fluff in this book. The author provides every alternative implementation, including XML over http if you care to go that route, and usually an explanation of advantages and disadvantages of each approach. You decide what works best for you. I benefited tremendously from the thorough XML coverage, including XPath, XSD, JAXB. I frequently would wonder while reading if I could simplify something to the point of triviality in Java and sure enough the solution is in the book. There's nothing you can't do.

I'm an experienced Java developer but you don't have to be to create or web service enable applications using this book. The author provides many alternative examples for every solution. You are bound to get one or two ways of doing any particular task to work. You should know some Java and be able to deploy a java web app in at least one web/app server. I prefer CXF and the book is geared toward the Sun implementation (you don't even need to add any web service jars to Glassfish) but if you are fairly comfortable with CXF now you will have little trouble doing anything in the book. I got almost everything working in Tomcat and Jetty using both Sun and CXF implementations.

I'm not a big fan of JAX-RS and Single Page Interface web apps but the one chapter on JAX-RS will give you all the information you need to implement it using JAX-RS or as XML over http or by implementing your own provider to use JAXB to simply treat it as a Java object in and Java object out if you want to treat it just like regular JAX-WS.

The author lets you decide whether you want to generate WSDL from Java or Java from WSDL (contract first) or something in between. I prefer Java first, and the book does give best practices for interoperability between Java and .NET and sample code for implementing .NET web services and .NET web service clients. I'm not a .NET developer but I had little trouble sending complex objects and collections (no maps) between my .NET and Java apps.

You can read the book end to end or you can jump right to the short chapters telling you how to get it done right now. It is an excellent book for both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awe-inspiring, February 23, 2010
By 
Eli Lato (Ganey Tikvah, ISRAEL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Java SOA Cookbook (Paperback)
The author's knowledge is unbelievable. I can't imagine how one person could know a subject so deeply.

The tough part of SOA is that there are so many ways to do it: the tip of the iceberg is rpc or document, literal or encoded, wrapped or bare. And the deeper you get, the more architectural decisions there are e.g., java first or contract first, or "in the middle." Hewitt gives you exactly the perspective you need to make these decisions.

He writes beautifully, too.

Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent pathfinder..., October 11, 2009
This review is from: Java SOA Cookbook (Paperback)
I stumbled upon this book while looking for another and am quite happy I picked it up. Its an excellent book for helping you tackle those particular problems you encounter during service development and integration. The other reviews are correct when they state that the book is not a comprehensive tutorial on the topic. However, you will not only find enough details on any particular topic of service design to get you started, but also a reference to those current tools and solutions that are available for tackling the problems which you can investigate further on your own. For example, when evaluating the options for marshaling XML, the author provides several popular alternatives, each with its own special nuances which can be handy when no one tool does it all.

In short, this is an excellent launching point, especially for bottom-up thinkers who are feeling their way through the forest. You will find the recipes that get you where you need to be - all organized exactly how you would want them: as you would ask them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars don't think twice, July 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Java SOA Cookbook (Paperback)
If you're about to architect/build a SOA, or just need learn more about how to develop/maintain web services in Java, then just buy this book. It contains both theoretical/conceptual/historical information and implementation-level details that you'd need to know during the process. It provides recipes for both low-level (SAAJ) and high-level (JAX-WS) implementations - so you can pick your level, which is very rare in technical books of this sort. Of course you'll do lots of google'ing to get more details on specific products you'll use - such as business process server, SOAP framework of your choice, integration platform, etc. - but trust me this book will help you a LOT. Writing style is very witty and far from dry. Only downside to this book is some typos here and there, which I don't mind at all.

Thanks Mr. Hewitt. Loving your book to bits. You are a hero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A handy book for web service starter, January 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Java SOA Cookbook (Paperback)
I am working on my very first web service project and am using WebLogic 10.3. The Oracle site has good tutorial on how to use the wsdlc, wsgen, clientgen to generate web service. But I need someone/something to guide me when I have some little questions. Like how to write wsdl so the operation throws exception; what tools to monitor SOAP traffic...etc. And this book has already answered several of my questions and has already paid for itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How-to and what-to in Java Web Services, May 25, 2009
By 
R. Yang (Charlotte, NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Java SOA Cookbook (Paperback)
This book answers the how-to and what-to questions that architects and developers have during the course of architecting and developing Web Services with SOA in mind. Each question starts with a problem and then solution. Solution may follow by discussion and others depending on the nature of the problem.

The questions are categorized into 14 chapters as follow:

1. Introduction to SOA - 9 questions
2. XML Schema and the SOA Data Model - 17 questions
3. Working with XML and Java - 12 questions
4. Web Services - Getting Started - 10 questions
5. Web Services with SAAJ - 21 questions
6. Creating Web Service Applications with JAX-WS - 19 questions
7. Providing SOAP-Based Web Services - 24 questions
8. RESTful Web Services - 23 questions
9. Service Orchestrations with BPEL - 21 questions
10. Advanced Orchestrations with BPEL - 15 questions
11. SOA Governance - 12 questions
12. Web Service Interoperability - 16 questions
13. Quality of Service - 5 questions
14. Enterprise Service Bus - 5 questions

I am happy to have 2 copies of the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Reference For SOA, March 29, 2013
By 
Michael Mitlitsky (Milford, New Jersey, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Java SOA Cookbook (Kindle Edition)
This s a good SOA with regards to Java. The topics are generic SOA rather than tied to specific products. This book is for advanced users not beginners. A possible handbook for working with oracle middleware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SOA must have..., November 17, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Java SOA Cookbook (Paperback)
I don't write product reviews often but this book is as good as it gets. It's almost oracular. Ask a question and there the answer is. It aims to be broad but practical and it succeeds in that aim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Java SOA Cookbook
Java SOA Cookbook by Eben Hewitt (Paperback - April 5, 2009)
$49.99 $33.84
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.