Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite JavaScript books
I've bought almost every JavaScript book on the market (and I've also co-authored one: "Plug-n-Play JavaScript"). This is definitely one of the best unless you are looking for an advanced level book. This book is ideal for someone who knows the basics already but is looking to learn a little more. It's one of the few books that covers all of the most important...
Published on September 8, 2001 by Paul Vachier

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Make sure you get second (or greater) printing
Updated:
The publisher has now provided me with a corrected copy so I would like to update on my negative remarks made previously. This an excellent book for beginning JavaScript programmers and it also makes a good reference (or cookbook) for experienced programmers. If you need a jumpstart into the world of clientside scripting this is the book I recommend. Give it...
Published on November 4, 2004 by NoJunkMail


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite JavaScript books, September 8, 2001
By 
I've bought almost every JavaScript book on the market (and I've also co-authored one: "Plug-n-Play JavaScript"). This is definitely one of the best unless you are looking for an advanced level book. This book is ideal for someone who knows the basics already but is looking to learn a little more. It's one of the few books that covers all of the most important basic concepts in JavaScript (eg. using variables, strings, loops, arrays, operators, expressions, timers, etc.) without giving you fluff. It gives you the basic building blocks to you need to get into JavaScript in a productive way. Very easy to follow and understand. I also recommend Danny Goodman's JavaScript Bible (more advanced) or the O'Reilly JavaScript book (more of a reference, but indispensable). I wish I could recommend my book but it is hopelessly outdated...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Make sure you get second (or greater) printing, November 4, 2004
This review is from: JavaScript: Your Visual Blueprintfor Building Dynamic Web Pages (Paperback)
Updated:
The publisher has now provided me with a corrected copy so I would like to update on my negative remarks made previously. This an excellent book for beginning JavaScript programmers and it also makes a good reference (or cookbook) for experienced programmers. If you need a jumpstart into the world of clientside scripting this is the book I recommend. Give it 5 stars now.

[Old review: I have just received this book in its first printing of the 2nd edition.
Unfortunately the publishers have let the author down badly.
This book would have rated 5 stars from me if it did not contain bad printing errors which cause most of example code in the diagrams to be invisible.
Hold off on this one until the next corrected printing.]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice building-block book for beginners, June 16, 2001
I wish this had been my first Javascript book. If you're a visual learner and you're examples-oriented, then this is the book to get. (If you're not this type of learner, then I would suggest perhaps the Javascript book from Visual Quickstart.)
This book provides basic scripts that you can build (or copy) and add to your web pages. The nice visual layout makes it easy to see and grasp the syntax, and understand how principles are being applied.
The script examples cover such fundamentals as adding timers, building arrays, responding to events, and retaining page history (e.g., scripting to go back to a page that had been previously loaded). These examples make great building blocks for continuing on later to build larger scripts.
As other reviewers have commented, this book is also useful as a quick 'look-up' for the casual user. I hesitate to give the book a 5, only because it may not be the best beginner book for other types of learning styles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for experienced programmers trying to learn Javascript, June 28, 2001
If you are an experienced programmer who is a javascript beginner, this would be a good place to start. The book is clearly organized and explaines a large number of basic javascript concepts in quick concise language. The examples are short but focused on the concept being explained, and are very easy to follow. And their are plenty of them. The only drawback is that the book doesn't spend any time on programming fundamentals, so if you have never programmed before you probably will want to try something else. If you have programmed before, you probably don't want that stuff any. It only gets in the way.
Word up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Probably better as a reference then a beginner's guide., June 13, 2005
By 
Akm (San Diego, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: JavaScript: Your Visual Blueprintfor Building Dynamic Web Pages (Paperback)
This is a decent book on JavaScript. The format consists of a detailed explanation of a concept or technique then example code. It's filled with many useful examples both large and small. This book has a lot of good information and probably could have benefited from being a bit longer. Many areas were covered including event handling, debugging and objects. There was also a great chapter on cascading style sheets (Probably just a setup for the next chapter on DHTML).

The code is displayed using screens shots of the code in a notepad window on the author's computer. At times it was difficult getting the whole picture of the code across multiple screen shots. It was sometimes difficult reading and typing code from these screen shots as well. I had a lot of errors because I couldn't tell the difference between a single and double quote or between a comma and period. This was more of a problem with the lengthier scripts. Also, the order of the chapters wasn't very helpful either since many concepts were used in early chapters but not explained until a later chapter.

This book is definitely more of a reference than a book on actually teaching the fundamentals of the language. Though as a reference it has far fewer pages compared to a code bible or cookbook. It's probably better for someone who wants to cut and paste code or is already fairly fluent in another programming/scripting language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reference for the novice, October 23, 2003
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
JavaScript seems to drive everything these days, so you cannot create good webpages without knowing what it is and how it works. I really love these Read Less - Learn More books, for they are constructed so intelligently. They gives simply, clear instuctions that have sceenshots to show precisely what they are detailing. In a matter of a few minutes you will see the world of JavaScript in much simplier terms. Cannot recommend this book enough for novices webdesigners. A Must.
Comes with CD Rom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reference especially for casual javascript users, July 8, 2003
By 
Yannick Salgleda "Yannick" (Charlotte, NC United States) - See all my reviews
If you are not a hardcore javascript programmer and you find yourself in need of a snippet of code, you can find it easily with a simple working example in this book. I am primarily an Visual Basic/ASP/ASP.NET programmer and use javascript from time to time to do simple things on the client that reduce unnecessary hits to the web server. When you don't program in a language every day you often forget many of the nuances of the language and this books effectively helps fill that gap for me. Many books fall short of being good programming references by not giving clear concise and short examples like this book does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent 5 star guide to Javascript, November 25, 2001
By 
bluepeace "bluepeace" (Baltimore, Maryland USA) - See all my reviews
I bought this book after reading Joe Burns's pitiful interpretation of Javascript in his book Javascript Goodies and was very impressed. The examples are clear and easy to see. Kelly Murdock shows you the order that code should be in and you get well written working codes accompanied by good to the point explanations about what you are doing. Very well written book. A beginner could get along with it, but I must admit it to be a little advanced in some places. Still you get what you pay for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Publisher fixed problem, November 19, 2004
By 
Cam (San Fran) - See all my reviews
This review is from: JavaScript: Your Visual Blueprintfor Building Dynamic Web Pages (Paperback)
I bought this book and it had some printing errors, but I contacted the publisher and got a new copy overnight. They have fixed the problem since so I don't believe you will find the same issue. If you like learning step-by-step, this is the book for you. Easy to follow and great for some new to Javascript. The book is well organized and explaines javascript concepts in quick concise explainations. All of the examples are easy to follow and focus on one topic at a time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From the Publisher, November 23, 2004
By 
This review is from: JavaScript: Your Visual Blueprintfor Building Dynamic Web Pages (Paperback)
Please note that the printing issue has been fixed in all available product. Any future books shipped will have correct text and code.

Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

JavaScript: Your Visual Blueprintfor Building Dynamic Web Pages
JavaScript: Your Visual Blueprintfor Building Dynamic Web Pages by Kelly Murdock (Paperback - October 15, 2004)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.