Customer Reviews


192 Reviews
5 star:
 (99)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars deliciously creepy
Occasionally some brilliant movie makers slip in without fanfare what should become a classic in a genre critics love to hate. Critics probably didn't even have to watch this to decide to trash it, but if so they missed a real gem! Rose McGowan is a most tauntingly intirguing villain in a role she was born to play. And Rebecca Gayheart really shines as a major supporting...
Published on January 19, 2002 by faith star

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pam Grier......What were you thinking?!?
The only justifiable and redeemable quality of this movie that is worth mentioning is that Pam Grier has a supporting role in it. Although her character was written as 2 dimentional and left no room for any depth or development, she did give an almost "oscar-worthy" performance when she slammed the jawbreaker on the table while trying to intimidate one of...
Published on July 20, 1999 by thomas angelo zunich


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars deliciously creepy, January 19, 2002
By 
faith star (slick rock, SC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jawbreaker (DVD)
Occasionally some brilliant movie makers slip in without fanfare what should become a classic in a genre critics love to hate. Critics probably didn't even have to watch this to decide to trash it, but if so they missed a real gem! Rose McGowan is a most tauntingly intirguing villain in a role she was born to play. And Rebecca Gayheart really shines as a major supporting character. Too bad she's so entrenched in TV acting and hence movies are mostly robbed of a wonderful talent. Were it not for the Academy's bias against this kind of movie, those two could have been shoo-ins for Best Actress and Best Supporting Actress.
Get yourself a video of this, avoid an excessively creepy night, don't eat to much, hold on to your chair and prepare to be thrilled!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delightfully Bad Flick, and That's a Good Thing!, February 6, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jawbreaker (DVD)
Most might look at this film and see it as a total bomb, but I see it as sinfully delightful in it's badness! It has a style and attitude all it's own within the overbearing genre aimed at teenage/20-somethings.

Quick Synopsis: The coolest girls in school, ruled by Courtney (the Queen Bee) decide to play a harmless prank on one of their girlfriends, Liz, for her birthday. Sadly, the prank turned tragic when it resulted in Liz's death -- an occurence that was accidentally witnessed by the nerdiest girl in school, Fern Mayo. Now Courtney and company must strike a deal with Fern (they give her a makeover and help her become beautiful and popular...like them) in order to keep her quiet.

This film has a dark comedy quality to it, much like the movie Heathers (THX Version) did. The characters have an odd and quirky manner of speaking, and it makes the dialogue somewhat broken and fascinating at the same time. Rose McGowan shines as the 'Satan-in-heels' Courtney Shayne. The wardrobe and filming sequences are captivating (as usual with teen flicks, there are plenty of slow motion hot chicks strutting down the school hallways). The music fits perfectly with each scene, and compliments the edgy attitude of the movie.

Still...one can't help but notice that this movie is certainly not Oscar material. It's appeal is to a very general, young (I'd say about 15-25 age range) female audience. Men might be entertained briefly by it's gorgeous leading ladies in revealing clothing (honesly though, what high schoolers actually dress that way?), but their interest might quickly fade as the thin plot and bizarre story starts to unfold.

I have to say that I love this movie. It's fun and twisted at the same time, and even though it's never going to rank high on many "must see" movie lists, it will always have a place on mine.

Bottom line, watch it and enjoy it for the somewhat unique film it is...even if you end up thinking it was kind of bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not funny, but way entertaining, August 13, 2002
By 
Kristy Marie (tampa, fl United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jawbreaker [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This movie rocks!! So entertaining! best quote:
Julie- our best friend is dead! do you have any idea what that means?
Marcie- that your shoe in for prom queen?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horrifyingly hilarious!, September 23, 2008
This review is from: Jawbreaker (DVD)
Jawbreaker is a film about teen angst, popularity, deception and manipulation. It is utterly horrifying in that it portrays the desperation of the popular to stay popular and the need of the outcasts to enter their fashionable ranks. But is their delicious perfection all that it seems? How far are they willing to go to stay on top? And what happens when one of those so-called outcasts has to be grudgingly groomed to become one of them -- because she knows that they are covering up the (accidental) murder of a friend?

Jawbreaker is a joyride of a bitchy, biting comedy that will strike a note with everyone who ever attended high school -- no matter what group you found yourself in!

Don't miss Jawbreaker! I'ts an absolute delight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A highly entertaining dark comedy, March 28, 2003
This review is from: Jawbreaker (DVD)
I can understand why some people don't particularly like this movie, but I enjoyed it immensely. Of course, I enjoy anything featuring Rose McGowan, but the movie itself is actually a lot of fun. If you tend to take movies seriously and have trouble suspending your disbelief, this movie isn't for you, and a short description of the movie should easily convince you to take your cinematic interests elsewhere. I happen to like over the top movies about high school life, and Jawbreaker takes the stratification of high school society, something we are all acquainted with in one form or another, and runs with it. Rose McGowan plays Courtney Shane, considered by some to be "Satan-in-heels." She is your ultimate clique queen, operating the controls of high school popularity and approachability with the help of faithful and reliable henchbabe Marcie Fox (Julie Benz) and two goody-goodies who somehow manage to stay cool despite hobnobbing with their social inferiors from time to time. Rebecca Gayheart (who finds herself in the odd situation of being rather invisible whenever McGowan shares the screen with her) plays Julie Freedman, and she is in fact complicit in the unusual death of Elizabeth Purr, sweet little angel and fourth member of the ruling babes of Reagan High School. Courtney, Marcie, and Julie celebrate Liz's 17th birthday by disguising themselves, sneaking into her room, tying her up and gagging her, throwing her into the trunk of their car, and eventually releasing her to enjoy the hilarity of their innocent little prank. Wouldn't you know it, something goes awry. The insanely large jawbreaker that Courtney stuffs in her mouth before taping it closed manages to work its way down Liz's throat. With their friend dead, the three girls must take action quickly to avoid detection; Courtney is a natural at evil plotting and quickly enacts a plan. Unfortunately, class geek Fern Mayo happens along and overhears the big secret, prompting Courtney to take drastic action; in return for Fern's silence, she will transform Fern into the beautiful, popular girl she has always wanted to be. Julie wants no part of it, but her own guilt and complicity leads her to do little more than go schoolmarm and reject her evil friends.
This movie does raise issues about high school life, but it does not attempt to make some meaningful statement . The common stereotypes are presented but not dwelt on. Those who would not understand how nice, sweet Fern could be enticed into going over to the dark side were obviously not among the nerds and geeks of their own graduating class. Even though Courtney was hated as much as she was loved, the vast majority of her peers wanted to be like her, immensely popular, beautiful, intimidating, and awe-inspiring. Sure, she is selfish, evil, and uncaring, but that's part of her charm. I personally prefer her to Julie, who pretends to be something she is not and blames Courtney alone for an act she herself played a large part in.
Don't even try to think about this movie; you're not supposed to learn anything here. This is entertainment and nothing more, and I for one was greatly entertained. The ending leaves a little something to be desired, but all in all this is a marvelous dark comedy. Rose McGowan makes this movie cool all by herself, but the kicking soundtrack is more than ready to assist in this endeavor whenever called upon, which is quite often. The music is almost a character in and of itself, beautifully assisting in the creation of whatever atmosphere is required for each scene, and its incessant energy never allows for a moment of drag as the story works itself out. There is quite a bit of profanity in the script, and it is this much more than Rose McGowan's all-too-brief yet sizzling nude scene that earns this one its R rating. I seem to take delight in praising movies of this type, and I take great delight in praising this one. Jawbreakers is a very entertaining dark comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is Such a Good Movie, December 15, 2006
By 
game-dude (Illinois, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jawbreaker (DVD)
I watched this at my friend's house and it was hilarious. Not only were the girls extremely hot, but the story was hilarious.

Courtney in particular was cool. My brother says I'd be her if I was a girl. But, since I'm not, I'll settle with marrying her. I feel bad for Julie though. Her life took a bad turn, but so does Courtney's at the end. I like the ending of the movie, it was good.

Even Marcy turns away from Courtney in the end. Too bad for Courtney. When she's talking to Vylette at one point on the phone, she says "Courtney Shane is priority number 1". That was hilarious.

No clue who that band is at the prom, but their music is cool.

All in all, good movie. Don't watch if you're offended by sex, cussing, smoking, drinking, or teenage infatuation, though. For everyone else, GET IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars EYE CANDY, July 8, 2004
By 
This review is from: Jawbreaker (DVD)
There's a demonic undertone to this black comedy that delineates the cruelty of teenagers; and also, their lack of self-understanding, and their commitment to only please themselves. For instance, the scene where hunky Ethan Erickson is waiting for his beloved Rose McGowan to arrive, he tries several different poses on the bed; resorts to stripping to his underwear, and then when she arrives, she baits him with a popsicle. You can tell he's uncomfortable in licking the popsicle, but you can also see the delight in McGowan's eyes in making him suck the popsicle. When she uses this to bait him as to what he would like done, we can see the cruelty in McGowan's character.
The idea of having someone die from choking on a humongous jawbreaker is original, but at the same time, the coolness and nonchalance the girls display in their friend's death is frighteningly realistic ... to a point. Not one to bash teenagers, we do need them after all?, the movie still makes us see all the things we hated about high school.
While McGowan is excellent in her bitch queen role, her destruction at the prom is almost as devastating as Carrie's in the well known horror book/flick. Rebecca Gayheart as the tried and true Julie sinks to McGowan's level in this destruction. Julie Benz is appropriately ditzy as Foxy and Judy Greer as Fern Mayo/Vylette also well cast. Erickson is a perfect choice for the self-absorbed and hedonistic Dane. Chad Christ as Julie's dramatic boyfriend does well, and once again shows how in high school, if you are a drama freak, you're probably homosexual.
The movie falls apart in several places, but does have some good cameos from Pam Grier as Det. Vera Cruz; Jeff Conaway as Foxy's dad, who does a cute Tiffany impersonation; and wastes William Katt and PJ Soles as the victim's parents. (Ironic, they both appeared in the original CARRIE).
Not a classic, but does pack some punch in what it's trying to say, it's just afraid to come out and say it: teenagers are cruel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite purrfect, but close, March 27, 2006
By 
Bryan Foster (Petoskey, MI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jawbreaker (DVD)
This is one of those movies that you think to yourself - "This wacked out stuff could entirely happen." Because honestly, this wacked out stuff could entirely happen.

Where this movie misses is that when they are going for the serious, they are really kinda funny. However, when they are going for the funny, they end up just kind of lame. And honestly, the whole Fern/Violette subtext...waaay to over the top. They could have simply bribed her by putting her in the spotlight, not redirecting the spotlight toward her and then marveling at the monster that they created.

Great cameo from Marilyn Manson as the greaser in the bar. And the Donna's playing the prom...I went to see them in concert and they are almost worth picking up this movie all on their own!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Learn it, Live it, Love it!", February 21, 2002
This review is from: Jawbreaker (DVD)
What are three beautiful teen queens to do when they accidentily kill their best friend (by choking her with a JAWBREAKER) as a birthday prank? Well what they end up doing will be having you question how much your friends actually care about you.
Rose McGowan has an uncanny knack for playing evil parts. Her role as "satan in heels" Courtney is very entertaining. Julie Benz cracked me up with her portrayal of the dumb blonde Marcy Fox, or "Foxy" for short. Rebecca Gayheart is the goody-goody (believe me she fits the stereotype) Julie who beleives in doing everything right! Other than getting a little old in the middle, this movie certainly delievers. Again, believe me the plot gets a little repetitve but the dialouge makes up for it big time!
There are some details that if you haven't seen the movie (what's wrong with you?)that shouldn't be revealed, so I'll just keep them to myself. All in all this movie was great and I really appricated it. One last note, if you're looking to laugh you won't find many here (why, think of the classic "Heathers" it's like that). If you're looking for an entertaing film with a good plot, this is for you!! I enjoyed it and i hope you do too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart, Sassy, and Wicked!, May 27, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jawbreaker (DVD)
Smart AND sassy, this movie is a classic! The plot is wicked, and the actresses definitely "bring it". I'm 32 and I LOVE this movie. I originally caught the last half on a New Year's Eve on T.V. many years ago and several years later I was STILL curious about the rest of the story. So I finally bought it on Amazon and watched it last night with my husband. This movie DELIVERS! It is NOT a typical main-stream movie and even has a bit of an Indie-feel to it. The story and the characters will draw you in. I love "The Donnas" live performance at the end. I definitely recommend picking up this film. ~Nicole
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Jawbreaker
Jawbreaker by Darren Stein
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.