Customer Reviews


1,354 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,102)
4 star:
 (150)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (23)
1 star:
 (42)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


96 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars and the dvd is a bargain
Well, I bought the DVD dts and I think you'll like the extras such as the outtakes, deleted scenes, and especially an excellent documentary. You'll get the behind the scenes from Spielberg, the actors, photographers, and the producers. In today's film world this movie could be made rather easily, but back then you'll see the tremendous undertaking that went into this...
Published on July 13, 2000 by Musicfan

versus
21 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Jaws, But Not Much Else
"Jaws" is definitely one of the great summer movies of all time. Though the shark looks fake, there is character development and genuine thrills in this film that most modern-day movies lack.

I have the 25th anniversary edition, but unfortunately, like many other reviewers, I was disappointed and infuriated when I bought the 30th anniversary DVD only to find...
Published on October 7, 2005 by J. Stillman


‹ Previous | 1 2136 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

96 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars and the dvd is a bargain, July 13, 2000
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Well, I bought the DVD dts and I think you'll like the extras such as the outtakes, deleted scenes, and especially an excellent documentary. You'll get the behind the scenes from Spielberg, the actors, photographers, and the producers. In today's film world this movie could be made rather easily, but back then you'll see the tremendous undertaking that went into this production. The movie itself, of course, is just amazing. At one point Spielberg says that the shark is the star, but the scenes on the boat will show you 3 stars at the top of their game. The sound quality is outstanding and exact, but I do have one complaint.... on the 5.1 DTS their isn't much activity from the back 2 speakers. The sound coming from the front 3 is great, but they could have done more. This movie is just as suspenseful as when I saw it in the mid-seventies. I hadn't really watched it in awhile and I had forgotten the outstanding acting performances by Scheider, Dreyfuss, and Shaw. Shaw's USS Indianapolis speech is about as good as it gets, while Scheider's everyman performance really rings true. You'll enjoy this DVD and it's at a good price. A good bargain. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JAWS Dazzles on Blu-Ray, August 2, 2012
This review is from: Jaws (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + UltraViolet) (Blu-ray)
The original summer blockbuster, Steven Spielberg's JAWS quickly became my favorite film growing up, having devoured it on VHS and on ABC's Sunday Night Movie presentation (the one with the added footage) so many times I could recite dialogue before I was out of grade school. Over the years I've been able to see it on the big screen (thanks to a visit with Lukas on Martha's Vineyard back in `96 or so), but despite that - and having reviewed numerous laserdisc and DVD releases over the years - only now with Universal's Blu-Ray edition do I feel like I've really, completely seen "Jaws." This is a spectacular HD presentation on every level and is sure to thrill fans of this classic 1975 screen adaptation of Peter Benchley's bestseller.

There's not much I can say about the movie that hasn't been written or documented - from behind-the-scenes books to countless documentaries - since the film's 1975 release date. Spielberg's miraculous direction took advantage of every difficult production situation to create an all-time film masterwork that's always been as satisfying for its unforgettable characterizations, surprising humor and memorable atmosphere as it is a white-knuckle thriller about a great white marauding swimmers off the shores of Amity Island. As I write in my review of the terrific "Jaws: Memories From Martha's Vineyard" book a year ago, "Jaws" itself was a collaborative success, one that saw actors from Roy Scheider, Richard Dreyfuss and Robert Shaw down to extras improvising their lines, giving the film a real, human center that we seldom see in modern filmmaking. The daily shooting schedule couldn't be mapped out all that far in advance since screenwriter Carl Gottlieb spent most nights working on the script with Spielberg - combined with our unpredictable and ever-changing weather here in southern New England, "Jaws" relied on the people making it so much that it's because of their efforts - as well as Spielberg who marshaled them all together - that the movie overcame its physical production struggles. In fact, had the movie not endured such a tumultous shoot, it's likely that "Jaws" never would've become the classic it did.

Universal has produced a number of "100th Anniversary" Blu-Rays this year with remastered transfers - the results have ranged from superb to mediocre, but none have looked as brilliantly detailed as "Jaws." Restored from high-res 35mm original film elements, this is one of the most satisfying catalog releases the studio has produced on Blu-Ray to date: Bill Butler's cinematography is richly textured down to the finest detail, with warm colors and just a dazzling appearance that, even though I've watched the movie dozens of times, brings new background details to light with a clarity that I've never seen before in any format (there's also, thankfully, been no attempt here at "tweaking" the movie's color scheme like we've seen on too many BD releases over the years). The water has more depth, the Martha's Vineyard locations come into sharper focus, and just the faintest hint of some filtering is apparent on a transfer that is content to let the movie's natural cinematography speak for itself. It just looks phenomenal. On the audio side, viewers can select from the movie's original mono soundtrack as well as another, "rethought" 7.1 DTS MA stereo remix, both of which are more full-bodied than their DVD counterparts, though purists may still object to some of the alterations in the latter (i.e. the "new" gunshots at the end still sound closer to the controversial 5.1 DVD remix from a decade ago than they do the original mono recording; in other instances, though, the newer effects are much closer to the mono mix than the 2001 version. It's at least a noticeable improvement in that regard).

Extra features are something of a letdown, mainly because they're almost all in non-anamorphic, 4:3 standard-definition and suffer from low bit-rates. The "Jaws Archives," for example, is comprised of direct screen captures from the laserdisc, many of which look blurry and should've been cleaned up for high-def. Ditto for the deleted scenes, which appear to be filtered and ported straight off the LD (and the DVD). The eight-minute "From The Set" segment includes candid footage of the production's first few days on-location in Martha's Vineyard. Included here is priceless footage of Carl Gottlieb falling overboard and into the icy, early May waters of the Atlantic -- all for the abandoned first attempt Spielberg made at showing the discovery of Ben Gardner's boat. It's a wonderful segment and it's a shame it doesn't go on longer than it does.

Laurent Bouzereau's dry but essential two-hour documentary from the `90s Signature Collection laserdisc is back, and it's been complemented by "The Shark is Still Working," a 2007 labor of love doc from James Gelet, Jake Gove, Erik Hollander, and James-Michael Roddy that treads over ground previously traveled by numerous other behind-the-scenes docs, as well as profiles other aspects glossed over by them (such as an interview with Percy Rodriguez, who performed the voice over for the film's classic theatrical trailer). Unfortunately, the inferior visual presentation does no favors to the program, with heavy compression and "jaggies" present throughout its 103 minutes. Finally, the movie's original, primary theatrical trailer is also on-hand here, in a likewise poor, non-anamorphic standard-def presentation that's worse than its laserdisc appearance from years ago. Of course, given that the prior DVD didn't have trailers of any kind, it's at least an improvement in that regard (the movie's original teaser is a regrettable omission yet again).

The sole new addition is an eight-minute look at Universal's restoration efforts on the picture, presented in HD, plus a digital copy and Ultraviolet copy. The disc is housed in a standard two-disc Elite case with one of Universal's nice 100 Years slipcovers; fans looking for more deluxe packaging ought to check out Best Buy's exclusive (though pricier) Digibook release, or the UK's Steelbook edition, which arrives in early September.

Ultimately, Universal has done one of their crown jewels proud with a Blu-Ray that boasts one of the format's finest catalog transfers - not just from Universal, but any label. Spectacular! (
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally On DVD, July 12, 2000
Jaws was Stephen Spielberg's first hit and after his initial reluctance to release his movies on DVD, it finally makes its DVD debut. We all know the story, a great white shark terrorizes the waters off of Amity Island. The movie is based on Peter Benchey's best-selling novel. This is one of the rare instances where a movie is actually better than the book it was based on. In Mr. Benchey's novel, there is are some extraneous sections such as an affair between Ellen Brody and Hooper that really don't add to the story. The movie streamlines the book and the changes made bringing it to the screen actually improve on the book. The performances of three stars are superb. Roy Scheider plays Chief Brody as an everyman. We can all relate with him as he is just trying do his job and the right thing but is caught in the middle. He wants to close the beaches to catch the shark, but the people he is protecting want them opened as the water is the source of their livelihoods. Richard Dreyfus adds some comic relief to the film as the wise-cracking oceanographer, Matt Hooper. The late Robert Shaw takes what could have been a cartoonish role of the shark boat captain Quint and turns him into an obessive, vengeful man in the mold of Captain Ahab. The real star of the film could be its score by John Williams. The music adds tension and fear to the suspense much like the music from Psycho. The DVD contains some extra material including deleted scences, trailers and best of all a documentary on the making of the movie. This is a must see for all fans of the film. We learn of all the problems the crew experienced while filming on Martha's Vineyard, some original casting choices and other behind-the-scences tidbits. These are nice bonuses, but the movie's first appearance on the DVD format is reason enough to buy it. After 25 years, this movie remains a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Modern Adventure Classic!, May 25, 2000
By 
Barron Laycock "Labradorman" (Temple, New Hampshire United States) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This movie is a credit to everyone associated with it, from the stellar cast of actors and actresses to the direction by Steven Speilberg to the original story (a novel) and screenwriting by Peter Benchley. This is a riviting tale superbly told, with excellent cinematography and special effects, and a scary soundtrack that builds the edge of mystery to a crescendo each time it musically announces the shark's appearence.
The idea for the movie is deceptively simple; a great white shark with a fond taste for the sweet taste of human flesh is patrolling the water off Amity Island (read Nantucket or Martha's Vineyard)and terrorizing the summer tourist population. Inject into this some interesting and novel subplots regarding a burned-out city cop and unlikely undersung hero, a brainy, affable but basically misunderstood young marine biologist, and a wonderfully crusty old mariner turned professional shark fisherman and you have the recipe for an entertaining rollercoaster ride.
This movie is a modern classic, one with a young Roy Scheider, Richard Dreyfuss, and the late Robert Shaw. Watching their characters interact is an afternoon's entertainment well deserved, one that is durable and repeatable. It also is one that translates very well into the DVD mode. One caution; don't view it anytime before going for your summer vacation. You may really be afraid to go back into the water!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most frightening films ever made., February 14, 2001
By 
David Grant (Lancaster, PA USA) - See all my reviews
Steven Spielberg's ultimate shocker still holds up great after all these years for the exact same reasons it was a huge box-office hit back in 1975: amazing score, powerful performances from an extremely talented cast, great special effects, and perfect direction. It's simple story of a shark terrorizing the waters of a small beach may not be the most compelling material ever to come out of Hollywood, but the attention to character and the sheer terror of the shark attacks more then makes up for it. There is something undeniably terrifying about the thought of being dragged underwater by something huge, something you can't even hope to escape from, and the very first attack scene is true nightmare fuel. As is the most memorable scene in the film, Robert Shaw's speech about his experiences after surviving the sinking of the USS Indianapolis, a World War II cruiser that sank and left hundreds of sailors floating in shark-infested waters for more than four days. Shaw's delivery of the scene still chills to the bone and stands as one of the greatest moments in film history. The DVD edition of JAWS has been long-awaited and fails to live up to it's potential. The lack of audio commentary by the director and a handful of out-of-context deleted scenes are major let-downs. But a superb 'making-of' documentary and an extensive art and design gallery are nice additions. Still, this is the definitive version of a classic film, one that deserves to be viewed multiple times both on the screen and in your darkest nightmares. Have fun swimming in the ocean after this one!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We need a bigger boat, September 15, 2004
Have you seen the film? If so, you'll recognize that line. This guy is scooping chum into the water to attract the shark, talking over his shoulder, and when he turns back to face the sea, the open maw of a giant white shark is all he sees, and the critter is about to take his arm off. He gives it that significant silent pause, then says, "Hey, guys? We're gonna need a bigger boat."

It's SO PERFECT.

I loved this film when I first saw it a billion yrs ago, back when the earth was cooling, and I love it still. It's about a big shark that these guys are stalking so their peaceful little tourist town can resume business as usual. But then things turn hairy and scary when they realize that, actually, the shark is stalking them. Benchley's original book is pretty faithfully rendered in Spielberg's screen version. Especially well done are the scenes that pit the scientists and level headed sheriff against the politicians who just want all this nonsense downplayed so they can start making money again.

I slept just fine after watching it, but my husband had nightmares about sharks coming thru the bedroom walls all night for the next several nights, so...viewing discretion advised for those of tender sensibilities. It IS a little gory in a few spots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jaws on blu-ray: WOW!, August 19, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jaws (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + UltraViolet) (Blu-ray)
The picture looks BETTER than any theatrical 35mm print I'd ever seen in a theater, with blacker blacks and richer color! I'm so glad Universal went back to the ORIGINAL NEGATIVE and restored it before striking a first-generation print for this beautiful transfer, as this is truly one of their landmark, groundbreaking, legacy releases. There's a REASON this film scored record-breaking box-office, Oscar accolades and critical reviews. It is a timeless classic!

The 7.1 surround sound is expansive. There are now 360-degree splashes happening all around you during the 4th of July Amity beach panic scene (YES!!!), something that was sorely absent from the previous, overall excellent, 5.1 surround re-mix for DVD. Several "legacy" sound-FX, from the original 1975 mono mix that were sorely absent in the previous 5.1 surround DVD mix, including the original whale sound behind the guys at the dinner table in the Orca at night, and the final rifle bullet ricochet off the scuba tank in the shark's mouth at the end, have, happily, been reinstated!

For purists, like myself, the original 1975 mono soundtrack is also included (it is English 2, 2.0 Mono, in Settings, from the Main Menu, under Audio)! John Williams' "Da-dum..." music is MUCH LOUDER, CLEARER, MORE PREVALENT OVER SOUND-EFFECTS, in the mono mix than in the 7.1 surround mix! In the 7.1 surround mix, while expansive and atmospheric, John Williams' music, which is so much a part of the impact of Jaws, has been way too artificially reverbed, sounds thin, and tends to get drowned out by sound-effects. It's still a great-sounding mix overall, but many Jaws fans, like myself, will actually PREFER the mono track, for really hearing John Williams' music, and for restoring Jaws to its classic, legendary, "nightmarish summer of 1975 horror film" status.

All the extras (except the "teaser" trailer, with animated "teeth" chomping down on bathers legs in several underwater shots over John Williams' tell-tale "thump thump" music, and text saying "This summer...when the beaches are open...and the water is warmer...you will be taken by...JAWS") are included from the 25th and 30th Anniversary DVDs.

There is a new and delightful documentary, "The Shark is Still Working", which was apparently compiled over many, many years, and which includes new interviews with the entire cast and crew, many of whom (Roy Scheider, Peter Benchley, David Brown, and now, Richard D. Zanuck) are, sadly, deceased. None of us are going to live forever, and these guys have collectively created a classic that IS immortal, that WILL live on, as long as there are sharks in the water!

The Shark is Still Working documentary chronicles many, many new facets about the plagued production and the Jaws phenomenon never-before-seen. Especially amusing is JawsFest, a reunion at Martha's Vineyard, where fans got to meet cast members, touch the mechanical shark in its original mold, and see Jaws projected on a giant screen right in front of the water, the docks of "Amity", where Jaws was filmed! Hearing die-hard fans recite their favorite lines with the film, Rocky Horror Picture-style, is a real treat! JawsFest is the Star Trek convention for die-hard Jaws fans!

Pump it out, Chief, and throw some chum in the water. Just drop that rope, Hooper, or you'll lose your hands!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Standard Has Been Set, June 16, 2000
By 
Robert M. Collette "rcollette" (Falls Church, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jaws [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Let me get right to the point. "Jaws" is a classic, a masterpiece, the standard by which all modern horror and action thrillers are measured. Spielberg's 1975 adaptation of Peter Benchley's celebrated novel may well have ignited a new era for the movie industry at that time: the era of the "Summer Blockbuster." Sadly, it's an era that seems more intent upon marketing commercial products and visual effects over substance and innovation, as many of Hollywood's bigwigs (Spielberg included) have sold out to produce brainless, demographically inspired trash like "Con Air," and "Wild Wild West." Remember when going to the movies was fun? Remember when you could expect a healthy blend of crisp and original storytelling, attention to character development, and a plot that didn't insult your intelligence? "Jaws" manifests each of these essential ingredients to a quality movie-going experience, and the result is one of the greatest films of all time.
The residents of Amity Island, Massachusetts have one thing going for their livelihoods: summer tourists and beach goers. So what do you do when a great white shark threatens to bring an untimely end to the summer season, not to mention the lives of several unfortunate bathers? This is the dilemma that's brilliantly played out between the rational-minded sheriff (Roy Scheider) and the politically motivated town mayor (Murray Hamilton). The quarrel is finished when a series of tragic events compel that the shark be killed by any means necessary. Enter the best shark-hunting trio ever assembled. Scheider, Richard Dreyfuss, and Robert Shaw formulate such perfect chemistry that we can't peel our attention away for even a moment. In fact, the movie's final hour may be one of the finest ever filmed in terms of drama, suspense, and sheer horror. All performances are commendable, the dialogue at times is brilliant, and the mechanical shark (Bruce) is as terrifying as any "computer generated" effect from that moronic film "Deep Blue Sea." John William's score ranks among the best ever composed, on a par in terms of ground-breaking significance with the themes from "Star Wars," "Gone With the Wind," and "West Side Story." The movie was followed by three sequels, each increasing exponentially in banality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You definitely want the DVD widescreen version, August 9, 2000
A lot of people I know criticize widescreen format videos and DVDs. They say it looks like part of the movie is cut off. JAWS is the film I use to convert them. I show them the video I own in pan-and-scan mode, usually a scene where the shark pops out of the water when Brody, Hooper, and Quint are on the boat. Then I show them the DVD widescreen version.
What a difference! In the first version, you can only see most of the shark's head and one of the people on board. In the widescreen, you see everyone. Spielberg has a terrific eye and knows how to compose a frame. And the widescreen format is the only way to do justice to this fun and scary film.
The new DVD also has terrific and rich color. The sound is great and will remind you why John William's soundtrack is famous 25 years later. But you can also hear other sound effects Spielberg stuck in, like a muted dinosaur roar when the shark is sinking at the end. This, along with many other interesting tidbits, was revealed to me with a behind-the-scenes featurette that comes with the extras on the DVD. There's interviews with the cast members today, as well as a fun trivia game. I also found the deleted scenes interesting, although I'm glad Spielberg didn't use them. The extras gave me a glimpse on how a film is made. When I rewatched the film, I had a new outlook to what went into it. The outtakes and the photo gallery were useless, but don't let that stop you from buying this. If you're a fan of the film, you will want to own this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spielberg's Monster Shark!, February 9, 2003
By 
George Guzman (El Toro, CA United States) - See all my reviews
There probably hasn't been a single movie in the last 30 years that has changed the psyche of moviegoers more than JAWS. As I recall, people literally did not want to go back into the water! Speilberg tapped into this fear and tapped into it rather well.
As someone who had a certain fear of water, watching this movie on the big screen as a kid, you bet I was horrified! Today, JAWS still remains a classic.
To those who say that the shark looks fake and that a CGI one would've looked superior, well, I wish they would stop looking at movies through CGI-colored glasses. Personally, I think Speilberg's Great White (though mechanical in close-ups) was truly interesting. It had a certainly personality. IMO, many computer-animated creatures today are rather uninspired creations.
Besides, JAWS is much more than just about a shark. The story of greed at the expense of human life is truly interesting to see. It also boasts some great characters as well, namely, Roy Scheider, Richard Dreyfuss and especially Robert Shaw as Quint, the old shark hunter with a Captain Ahab syndrome. And what can I say that hasn't been said already about John Williams now timeless score. It's just magnificent!
Yes, JAWS does contain its fair share of frights, but Speilberg was wise in inserting genuine moments of humor as well to relieve that certain tension. A movie shouldn't be all fright, all of the time. Certainly, that scene with Chief Brody at the dinner table with his young son copying his every move was both humorous and quite touching. It gave the movie heart.
JAWS was the first movie to crack the one hundred million dollar mark. Today, many movies seem to crack that mark with ease. Yet, many of them are nowhere near as good as JAWS. Has the movie-going public been dumbed-down as to watch anything and make profits for these lesser movies?
With all of this success, there was a downside. JAWS did to sharks what another great monster movie, KING KONG did to gorillas - it gave these poor creatures a bad image and thus many were slaughtered. Like I said, this movie really changed the psyche of people, in terms of fear of the water and a huge dislike for sharks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2136 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Jaws (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + UltraViolet)
Jaws (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + UltraViolet) by Steven Spielberg (Blu-ray - 2012)
$19.98 $11.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.