Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


252 of 257 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valuable Learning Resource for the Aspiring Jazz Pianist ! !
Before Mark Levine's Jazz Piano book came out, choosing a book on how to play piano was a lot like selecting a presidential candidate - - you may not have been crazy about the choices but... (blah blah blah) What makes this book different is that it walks a fine and brilliant line between theory, application and stylistics and it is never dry, and further it is...
Published on October 31, 2000 by Eddie Landsberg

versus
36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not the right book for a beginner
This book is not for a beginner who wants to learn how to improvise. The book is written for a more advanced, experienced musician. It mostly provides voicings for chords. This is useful for people who already know how to play and improvise jazz, but it is not helpful to someone starting out. It does not go much into exercises or practice routines. It consists of several...
Published on October 17, 2011 by ArtFan


‹ Previous | 14 5 610 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Requires a lot of study, August 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Jazz Piano Book (Spiral-bound)
I believe the author when he said that the book is to be used in conjunction with a teacher. I am trying to learn this on my own, but it's difficult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get serious about jazz piano!, May 11, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Jazz Piano Book (Spiral-bound)
Lots and lots of good information here that illustrates the basics of making your piano playing sound more like the pros. Many rules of thumb are given and then an actual example of those rules in a short section of sheet music. If used exactly as the author instructs you to use it, this book will make you into a really competent pianist. However, it may take several years to really do everthing as the author has intended it to be done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A jazz classroom in a book, March 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Jazz Piano Book (Spiral-bound)
Mark Levine is both jazz piano talent and interesting writer--his quips make the study easier. No wonder jazz pianist & composer Tyrone Jackson at Kennesaw State U. (Atlanta) chose it. Our class was fingering each new chord, sounding one altered note at a time--carefully!--while the book connects to what comes next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good explanation, September 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good explanation about subjects.

Step-by-step practices, going in a smooth knowledge curve.

I only miss some audio files to listen the exemples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teach you What and Why, July 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book covers the essential knowledge of scales, modes, chords very well. It gives the "What" and "Why" of jazz piano, or any instrument as a matter of fact. It does not teach you "How" to improvise as much, but the content is very essential. You need to know What and Why about improvisation. The greatest benefit I have from this book is about various scales and modes. The scale or mode gives the choice of notes to play, the most important for improvisation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, June 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Jazz Piano Book (Spiral-bound)
One of the jazz bibles for pianists. You could use it if you're beginner or if you have a moderate/advanced level. In any case, it's a very good reference for the jazz piano theory as well as the songs suggested by the author in order to strengthen the theory. You won't never regret purchasing it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, but the impression could be improved., September 17, 2009
By 
This review is from: The Jazz Piano Book (Spiral-bound)
Every student interested on Jazz must have this book. Very clear explanation of every chapter, full of examples (essential!).

The thing I like the most is the 'Listen' part in the last chapter. Mark Levine give us a extended list of discs to listen that takes from solo piano style to Trio and Vocal. Lots of examples given comes with a footnote telling the recordings in which you can listen clearly them.

The only negative point (if I have to point anyone) is the print edition. I think the paper used is too thin, and it's easy that the ink pass from one side of the page to the other if you take notes on them. Anyway, the spiral bound is the most confortable presentation of a very 'playable' book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My interest in Jazz music, August 24, 2009
By 
George P. Alexa (Fairfax Station, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Jazz Piano Book (Spiral-bound)
This book was recommended by a Jazz teacher from London, Paul Abrahams who offers free tips on I-tunes. I am an amateur when it comes to playing the piano and need all the help I can get. This book is a bit over my head but if Paul recommended it, I would invest in getting this book and hopefully you are beyond my skills. I regret that I didn't listen to my mother when she asked me to practice. I would also check Paul's website as he recommends some other books sold here on Amazon. [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Levine's book has become an essential even for non-pianists, February 10, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Jazz Piano Book (Spiral-bound)
Play a (fill in the blank) instrument? You will likely find Levine's Jazz Piano book, based on usable chord structures, harmony, and voicings to be an original source of ideas no matter what you play.

This book is less about black dots and more about ideas. Insights you'd only get after hanging out with people who play real music. Inside stuff.

I have had my copy for many years and buy them for others. The response is always the same: What a fantastic book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good on Theory; No treatment of rhythm skills or melodic improvisation, March 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I ordered this as a Kindle Book - my mistake; you cant read a "how-to" music theory book on a computer screen. You need the hard copy open when working through the examples. It took me a while to find this book deals mainly with scale and harmonic theory. There is little to help a first year jazz novice to develop essential skills for rhythmic, melodic improvisation, and no chapter on blues technique. However the chapters on stride, block chords, comping and Latin styles are very helpful. I use Bert Ligon's "Connecting Chords with Linear Harmony" book to fill the improvisation gap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 610 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Jazz Piano Book
The Jazz Piano Book by Mark Levine (Spiral-bound - June 1, 2005)
$34.00 $24.46
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.