Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It will haunt you forever.
'Jazz Samba Encore' is a more muted affair than its predecessors 'Jazz Samba' and 'Big Band'. Although featuring both men, the emphasis is more on Luiz Bonfa than Antonio Carlos Jobim, and Bonfa's songs 'lack' Jobim's pop instincts, favouring a restrained, more groove-based effect, which can be quietly intoxicating, Getz's melancholy sax contributing to the mood. Even...
Published on July 19, 2001 by darragh o'donoghue

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great music but poor quality
I don't know why this remaster isn't any good; I find I have to keep my volume up real loud to get the sound right. This is a shame because this is really great music.
Published 13 months ago by jpha01


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It will haunt you forever., July 19, 2001
This review is from: Jazz Samba Encore (Audio CD)
'Jazz Samba Encore' is a more muted affair than its predecessors 'Jazz Samba' and 'Big Band'. Although featuring both men, the emphasis is more on Luiz Bonfa than Antonio Carlos Jobim, and Bonfa's songs 'lack' Jobim's pop instincts, favouring a restrained, more groove-based effect, which can be quietly intoxicating, Getz's melancholy sax contributing to the mood. Even more upbeat songs like 'So Danco Samba', despite its title, are more of a late night shuffle than a beach monster.
The effect can be largely attributed to singer Maria Toledo, whose strangely disembodied voice haunts the songs. She is rarely the focus, floating in and out of the background like a presiding ghost. Even in a song she clearly dominates, such as 'Insensatez', a phantosmagoric quality makes her vanish into the precious sadness of this song which, with Jobim's understated, unbearably poignant piano, is surely the most beautiful ever written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Greatest Albums Ever Created ie. a masterpiece, August 28, 2000
By 
"marcel195" (Victoria Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jazz Samba Encore (Audio CD)
Luiz Bonfa's playing is as beautiful as Stan Getz's playing is as good as Maria Toledo's singing. After several years I still can't get over how good these three are, and how beautiful each arrangement is - Antonio Carlos Jobim lent a hand with the arrangements and also appears on several tracks playing the piano in his distinct and most singinglike way. There are upbeat sambas as well as some incredibly moving slower tracks. Their version of "Insensatez" is, without doubt, the most beautiful ever recorded.
It's such a treat to hear such wonderful music!
Both Stan Getz and Luiz Bonfa as masterful "singers" of their instruments. Everything they play on this album is singable; and I give you my personal guarantee that they will give you goose bumps, make your eyes water, spine tingle. Maria Toledo's voice is one of a kind - powerful, with a dark but sensitive tone.
Writing these things now as I ponder the effect "Jazz Samba Encore" has had on me, I realise that I am in love with the album. Everything I could and would say about it will be written from the perspective of one dizzy and confused by his emotions. It is impossible for me to retain a cool, unaffected tone in my writing because of my feelings for the album. As a result, I risk hyperbole and sickly attempts to poeticize upon what really speaks for itself - sample the music, keeping in mind that the initial beauty that strikes you will continue as you come to know the album better and the subtleties reveal themselves. Everyone who hears this album loves this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of suinge!, May 12, 2002
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jazz Samba Encore (Audio CD)
Though I am very fond of the previous album, Jazz Samba, over time this one has edged it out. The first venture sometimes seems like disconnected pieces assembled into an album, whereas this Jazz Samba Encore has a sustained swing and drive that give it an overall all sense of direction and unity that Jazz Samba now lacks for me.
Also there is, in my estimation, more artistic balance on this album - Bonfa's playing and Toledo's singing are right there at Getz's level all the time, every time.
This is a superb effort, there isn't a slice of turkey on the entire album. Pure pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST have Master Piece, August 19, 2002
By 
Serp Zi "serpzi" (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jazz Samba Encore (Audio CD)
This album should get a rating of 6 in the scale of 5. Is incredible how a guitar, a saxophone can make exquisite harmony with the addition of just percussion and a bass. Master Bossa Nova masters Luiz Bonfa and Stan Getz leave a great legacy no other instrumental album in the history of Bossa Nova has done.
If you are a Bossa Nova, Jazz or guitar afficionado, this is a must have album. Luiz Bonfa, the one and only player that "makes a guitar sound like and orchetra by itself", proves to the world that he is indeed has earned the respect of his peers as the "one and only". I guarantee you, once you listen to this album, you will be looking for Luiz Bonfa music all over. I did.
And for Stan Getz, can someone else make a sax create moods of happiness, melancoly, sadness etc...
The combo of Getz and Bonfa is an incredible harmony of one master speaking to the other via their instruments.
I have heard nearly all Bossa Nova music and others alike. I highly recommend this album. Once you listen to it, you will be listening to it over and over. The guitar improvisation will make you think, "how in the world can someone play like this". And you will then be writing the next review like me in here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another strong bossa nova release from Getz, January 6, 2007
This review is from: Jazz Samba Encore (Audio CD)
Jazz Samba Encore was the third album in a series of four releases of bossa nova music on the Verve label, all of them featuring Stan Getz playing the songs of Antonio Carlos Jobim and Luiz Bonfa. This album is mainly a collaboration between Getz and Bonfa, and although the latter composer dominates proceedings, three of Jobim's songs are included, as well as his accompaniment on both guitar and piano on some of the tracks.

Not only is Bonfa a great songwriter, he is also an accomplished guitarist as he demonstrates on so many of the tracks here. His playing has a crisp and at times urgent feel on the faster numbers. Surprisingly, his most famous composition, Manha De Carnival was not included on the album. Also, Jobim's song Corcovado was present on the original LP as an instrumental, but is omitted from the CD. Instead we get a double take of Ebony Samba, one of the highlights of the album, so all is not lost.

As for the music, as one would expect it is just wonderful. It is rather different in feel and presentation to its purely instrumental predecessor, Jazz Samba, with JSE generally having a lighter and more joyous tone overall, but no less captivating. There is also the presence of Brazilian vocalist Maria Toledo. She tends to use her voice more as an instrument rather than the singing of lyrics. And with a slight echo added this gives an unusual haunting quality to some of these tracks. However, she does get to sing at least a full verse on one or 2 tracks, and one such example is Insensatez, one of the few melancholic songs included. The way this is performed is simply sublime, and worth the money of the CD alone. The great Stan Getz, of course is in excellent form as he was on Jazz Samba, and his sense of timing and use of phrasing is as immaculate as ever.

Although there were no huge hits from this album, unlike the case with Jazz Samba (Desifinado) and Getz/Gilberto (Girl From Ipenema), that does not render Jazz Samba Encore any less substantial as a musical project. If you liked the other two albums mentioned, you should certainly enjoy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking Album, January 25, 2007
This review is from: Jazz Samba Encore (Audio CD)
This'll probably be one of my shorter reviews mainly because I love this album, and there's little more that I can add to that. This is Jazz Samba Encore, this time featuring Stan Getz and Luiz Bonfa (Orfeu Negro, Luiz Bonfa Sings & Plays, etc.). Also featured here is Maria Toledo, Luiz Bonfa's then wife (I'm not sure if they are still married).

This is an amazing album, and a must have. The music is wonderful... very gentle, extremely clear, and very sincere. Featured here is a haunting version of "Sambalero" to open up the gentle adventure followed by 10 more incredible tracks. Gentle sax, perfect marriage between his tone and Luiz Bonfa's guitar. The music evokes an image, and the timing and musicianship grabs me every time I listen to this. While I loved every song on this, there were others that are absolute staples to me: "Insensatez", "Samba De Duas Notas", "Menina Flor", "Um Abraco No Getz", and "Ebony Samba".

If you are a bossa nova fan, you will certainly want to get this if you don't already own it. It's stunning. And if you do like this, you also want to check out "Getz/Gilberto", "Jazz Samba", "Getz/Almeida" to name but a few. You may also like music by Bud Shank with Laurindo Almeida.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The absolute Jazz Samba companion., March 17, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Jazz Samba Encore (Audio CD)
Excellent follow-up to Jazz Samba. Stan uses different musicians and adds a vocalist and still produces incredible music. Some of the soaring vocals by Maria Toledo are absolutely haunting. I read somewhere that Louis Bonfa and Maria Toledo were later married. You can hear the subtext love story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A collection of romantic, relaxing, beautiful music, February 12, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Jazz Samba Encore (Audio CD)
This CD is a great addition to a Brazilian music collection. I have the three Gilberto compositions on some Gilberto CDs, but it's good to hear some different interpretations. The Bonfa compositions are great. Some of the arrangements and vocals have shades of Esquivel, giving it more of a "space age" feel than the Stan Getz-Gilberto collection. This CD is full of romantic, relaxing music, and is perfect for a party.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These songs are also included on another CD, December 30, 2012
This review is from: Jazz Samba Encore (Audio CD)
FYI, these 11 songs are included on a 4 CD set by Stan Getz. The box set is called: The Bossa Nova Years (The Girl from Ipanema). They are on CD number 2. The 4 CD set is on the Verve label.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saudade Vem Correndo, August 7, 2008
This review is from: Jazz Samba Encore (Audio CD)
I have been searching for this album for 5 years. 5 years ago, I was on Semester at Sea and was spending one of the many long nights at sea (between ports) exchanging music with friends. My friend from Japan gave me several of her favorite Bossa Nova cds, most of them compilations. Of course we didnt have any internet so all the albums that i ripped to my pc said " various artists, track 1 ect.." Well one compilation which is one of my favorites to this day contatined my favorite that I now know is from this album "Saudade Vem Correndo" Wow Maria Toledo's vocals are so... indescribably saudade.

If anyone knows where I can find more Maria Toledo please let me know. For others who want to hear the other songs on the mystery compilation from Japan go here:
[...]

You will know them because I made up my own song titles and there is no Artist name. If you want to go above and beyond and know Who and What the Songs are, please share! All i know is that the sax is very very Stan Getz, but the legend has made so many songs, its so hard for me to find them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Jazz Samba Encore
Jazz Samba Encore by Stan Getz (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.