Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


112 of 116 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BUY THIS ALBUM IF...
Buy this album if...

...you go for anything Jeff Bridges does cuz The Dude can do no wrong - and if that's the case, why stop now?

...you loved Crazy Heart, you've been wanting a full-length Jeff Bridges album to remind you of how much you loved Crazy Heart, and you're okay with half a full-length Jeff Bridges album that reminds you of Crazy Heart...
Published on August 16, 2011 by Andrew H. Lee

versus
32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overshoots the target, but not bad...
Having seen Crazy Heart, this seems like a natural extension of the music and to some small degree the character Jeff Bridges played, Bad Blake. Jeff's down to earth approach makes this a very listenable album on one level. He is working with good material that includes his own, and he seems comfortable enough with things overall to present himself as a competent if not...
Published on August 20, 2011 by Mark Gatzke


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

112 of 116 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BUY THIS ALBUM IF..., August 16, 2011
This review is from: Jeff Bridges (Audio CD)
Buy this album if...

...you go for anything Jeff Bridges does cuz The Dude can do no wrong - and if that's the case, why stop now?

...you loved Crazy Heart, you've been wanting a full-length Jeff Bridges album to remind you of how much you loved Crazy Heart, and you're okay with half a full-length Jeff Bridges album that reminds you of Crazy Heart (arguably tracks 1, 3, 5, 7, and 10).

...you don't mind a little dark/jazzy/nightclubbish upright bass action or dark, churning, desert-highway-at-night rock guitar with your "country" music.

...you aren't overly concerned with musical genre labels like "country music."

...you sometimes play the "sound-alike" game when you listen to an album (especially an album by a well-known actor) - as in, "Wow, ____ kind of sounds like ____ on this song.

...you'd be interested to note that The Dude kind of sounds like Kenny Rogers (5, 9), Gordon Lightfoot (1), Neil Diamond (2), Mark Lanegan (8), and Ray's Vast Basement (4).

...you've never heard of Ray's Vast Basement but are the type to look them up - The Dude would probably approve of expanding your musical horizons like that.

...you enjoy a good summary song at the end of an album - you, know the kind of song that says "Now that we've spent this time together, let's sweep everything off the table and put it all in a nutshell for you - an inspiring little nutshell that will put a little kick back in your step as you turn off your record player and mosey on down the rest of this road that we're all walkin' together - a little road called LIFE."

I know I enjoy a good summary song, so if you'll excuse me, it's time for me "to get back to the quest..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overshoots the target, but not bad..., August 20, 2011
By 
Mark Gatzke (Plant City, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having seen Crazy Heart, this seems like a natural extension of the music and to some small degree the character Jeff Bridges played, Bad Blake. Jeff's down to earth approach makes this a very listenable album on one level. He is working with good material that includes his own, and he seems comfortable enough with things overall to present himself as a competent if not entirely serious artist. The opening song, What a Little Bit of Love Can Do, is a great start and a catchy tune, but things get a little weird after that.
After listening to it a few times, it occurs to me that production is the culprit here. T-Bone Burnett's signature is all over it, and that's what seems to overshadow what I hoped to hear - a close up and personal portrait of Jeff Bridges. What I do hear is Burnett stepping on Jeff's natural talent to make it sound, ironically enough, more natural. Too much earthiness for this fan. I like the music, but I don't like being beat over the head with how Americana it is. I hope Jeff's next album takes its cue from Johnny Cash's American Recordings. Jeff and a guitar... Now that would be a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good songs from a good singer/actor, August 16, 2011
This review is from: Jeff Bridges (Audio CD)
Most people know Jeff Bridges as the actor who played a country music star in the 2009 movie "Crazy Heart." But he is also a talented musician and song writer, as one listen to his self titled major label debut album will attest. Bridges was smart enough to surround himself with an all star line up of song writers. This includes T Bone Burnett (Bridges' Crazy Heart collaborator and winner of several Grammy Awards), Stephen Bruton (Bridges' guitar coach on Crazy Heart), John Goodwin, Greg Brown and Bo Ramsay. Bridges has also recruited a list of top notch musicians to play on the album: keyboardist Keefus Ciancia, guitarist Mark Ribot, bassist Dennis Crouch, pedal-steel guitarist Russ Pahl, and drummer Jay Bellerose, as well as guest vocalists Rosanne Cash, Ryan Bingham, Sam Phillips, and Benji Hughes. The resulting sounds are amazing. "What A Little Bit of Love Can Do" is the album's opening track and the perfect way to start things off. This song features amazing vocals that shows Bridges is the real deal. "Maybe I Missed the Point" is a country-ish tune with deep meaningful lyrics. Bridges absolutely nails the chorus which is both catchy and melodic. "Nothing Yet" has the feel of someone who is later in life (Bridges is in his 60's) who is taking an introspective look at his life. Roseanne Cash contributes some incredible harmonies which are simply angelic. "Blue Car" is a slower song featuring a twanging piano and a nice back beat rhythm. "Slow Boat" picks up the pace with some strong, straight ahead, rock and roll style guitars driving the song forward. "Everything But Love" is a romantic love ballad filled with passion and emotion. Overall the album features a set of songs that are crisp and fresh, well written, and sound awesome. The best part of Bridges' vocals is his sincerity: you can tell he really means it. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, August 16, 2011
By 
Karen (Juction City, US, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Just a great album. The first great full album I've heard in a long time. His message is powerful, but not forceful. Made me dance, made me laugh and even made me cry. The musicmanship is fantastic. Wouldn't expect any less from TBone Burnett, Marc Ribot, Rosanne Cash. I'm not familiar with Jay Bellerose, but man, what a great drummer. Thank you all for a most enjoyable listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Meaningful Album--Thank you, Mr. Bridges!, March 19, 2012
This review is from: Jeff Bridges (Audio CD)
First, I would like to say that it saddens that many do not enjoy this album as much as I have. It truly is one that is underappreciated. Jeff Bridges is an album from an extraordinary man that can amazingly act and sing. This album touches upon the thoughts that all can relate to: self-criticism and doubt, the mysteries of life, and most of all the gift of love.

Many expect Crazy Heart again, when it really is an extension of that music. The mindset of the listener should truly be open to the creative genius that is Jeff Bridges and his collaborative team. These songs are not only meaningful, but they also soothe the soul in an age of uncertainty. This entire album is a unique and eclectic collection that should forever be a staple in American music. It is hard to truly label what genre this would be because it is set all in its own.

This album will make you smile, and most of all, it will make you think and question about the priorities in life, such as in the songs "Maybe I Missed The Point" and "The Quest". This album has become a classic in my eyes, and a true favorite for any occasion. Each song builds upon the last into a crescendo of art.

Being a musician myself, I appreciate when quality work has been made, especially with a high caliber of talent. Much of the music today is electronic songs about pointless issues. Here though is the complete opposite. Bridges' vocals are comforting and pure, along with skilled guitar playing. Bridges has a genuine passion for music, and this album speaks for it. The musicians he works with are also brilliantly talented, with everything spot on. With names like Jeff Bridges, T-Bone Burnett, Stephen Bruton, Roseanne Cash, John Goodwin, Ryan Bingham, and Benji Hughes, this album is certainly terrific. This album has true heart that cannot be surpassed.

I strongly recommend it to all, to at least try it and listen to the whole album twice. Initially I was unsure of it too, but now the album has grown on me to be something that I truly admire. Please get it today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, September 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jeff Bridges (Audio CD)
I first heard bits and pieces on AOL and wanted to hear the rest of the album. I'm glad I ordered it. He can really sing and sing well. The CD is easy to listen to and very relaxing. Some songs I like better that others, but all in all it's really a good album. Kind of a mix of Kris Kristofferson and Gordon Lightfoot. Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, September 8, 2011
By 
Steve Dossey (Somewhere just beyond or before the crossroads) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jeff Bridges (Audio CD)
I was expecting vocals at least as strong as those in Crazy Heart. Instead what we have is muted, at times muffled vocals as if they were being sung in Jeff's private studio, late at night so as not to wake anyone sleeping. Perhaps part of the problem is the mix. The vocals are submerged in tasteful musical wrappings. Or perhaps the intent was to make these songs sound very personal (and there are some good songs here). However they come off as tepid and uninspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jeff Bridges CD, September 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jeff Bridges (Audio CD)
I saw Jeff in Santa Barbara last summer at an outdoor festival - he was great. Only played 3-4 songs (mostly with a broken high E string), but was quite nice. The album is a good soft rock/Americana thing. Not one that I have to hear over and over, but certainly a nice contribution from a great actor and good egg (I believe).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jeff Bridges, October 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jeff Bridges (Audio CD)
It is a good CD. His voice is very soft,but music & lyrics are good. So far I have enjoyed it. I would have expected a little more from this after seeing him in "Crazy Heart", which was a great movie and great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awsummmm, September 25, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jeff Bridges (Vinyl)
this album is quite a surprise,and then not so much considering who the artist is. He has a treasure trove of spectacular screen performances,So the conclusion could be drawn that he's great @ this too. Not so fast. Many stars have been great but,put them on a record and Look out. Eddie Murphy comes to mind. But, the "Big Lebowski" doesn't disappoint.Its country,and cross over and just delightful. Give it a listen!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Jeff Bridges
Jeff Bridges by Jeff Bridges (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.