Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Before Time...when this comes out BUY IT!
I remember watching this as a 10 year old and being absolutely spellbound. Although much of the class structure of those years I obviously didn't understand, the acting of the wonderful, and criminally underrated Lee Remick (sadly no longer with us)in the title role, and the remarkable perforance of Ronald Pickup as Churchill's syphillitic father Randolph were...
Published on March 4, 2010 by F

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Buccaneer
Lee Remick was one of the finest American actresses to emerge in the late 50s and 60s, and this well-known 70s seven-part miniseries based on the life of Jennie Jerome Churchill, the heiress wife of Lord Randolph and the mother to Winston, at first really promises to give her enough elbow room to show her abilities at their best. The first few episodes, where the...
Published on July 23, 2010 by Jay Dickson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Before Time...when this comes out BUY IT!, March 4, 2010
This review is from: Jennie: Lady Randolph Churchill (DVD)
I remember watching this as a 10 year old and being absolutely spellbound. Although much of the class structure of those years I obviously didn't understand, the acting of the wonderful, and criminally underrated Lee Remick (sadly no longer with us)in the title role, and the remarkable perforance of Ronald Pickup as Churchill's syphillitic father Randolph were enough.

I remember having a heartbreaking crush on Lee Remick for years after and often looking for the DVD version, which I've only just found out is now available. Thank you Network for finally releasing what I believe to be the finest costume drama of the 70s.

Also, this is beautifully scored by Andre Previn. Bravo all round!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the wait., July 2, 2010
By 
Joy "JS" (San Diego, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jennie: Lady Randolph Churchill (DVD)
I remember seeing this when it first came out...on a tiny black and white portable set. In the typical Masterpiece Theatre way, it was exquisite...almost fairytale in style. I was entranced by Lee Remick...the most beautiful "princess" I'd ever seen. A woman with brains as well as beauty, combined with cunning and attitude. It was also a joy to see an American woman navigating the shoals of British politics as if she'd been born to it.

I was so upset when it seemed to disappear after the initial showing...wondering if it would ever turn up. I also wondered if it would be as grand as I remembered. It was well worth the wait.

One final thing: If any viewers ever get to London, head to the American Embassy. You will see a statue of Sir Winston Churchill on the grounds.

I think Sir Winston's mother Jennie would be proud...don't you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Period Biography of the Lady Churchill, May 11, 2010
By 
Harold Wolf "Doc" (Wells, IN United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Jennie: Lady Randolph Churchill (DVD)
Historical PLUS a look a strong woman behind successful men. Jennie pushes two prominent British politicians. Jennie was Sir Winston Churchill's mother. Jennie's DVD bio explains where Sir Winston got his own spunk and tenacity. The teenager-to-death lead role is a magnificent performance by a young Lee Remick. She was a star before she played Lady Randolph, but this is quite a tribute to her ability. She is the only cast member to be in all 7 episodes of "Jennie", thus almost single-handed pulling off the series' accolades, including winning BAFTA Best Actress.

A young Winston Churchill is played by Warren Clarke so well, you can see and hear the real Churchill, though the time span for this biography does not take Winston to his world prominence of WWII.

For Historical Drama, this DVD 2-disc series ranks a solid 5 stars. If you're after just romance, Victorian drama, and sordid aristocratic lives, then this might disappoint. Even so, 'Jennie' is a strong 4 stars for that type of entertainment too. There is a good bit of British politics involved in the Churchill family, of course, and it's included in this series along with the private life side. My wife declared this worthy of 5 stars only part-way into episode 2. Perhaps it's best described as a documentary-drama that's very hard to wait for between episodes. Originally airing late 1974, this period series is timeless, educational, romantic, entertaining, Victorian, award-winning costumes, performance perfection, and beautifully costumed Lee Remick through it all.

Subtitles ARE available. 371 minutes series total plus some bonus stuff.

Episode details:
1 JENNIE JEROME-Paris, 1873. American Jennie lives in Paris but holiday's in Cowes, England, meets young Randolph Churchill, and we know from history they say 'I DO.' Intimate details are quite enlightening.

2 LADY RANDOLPH-Entering the Churchill estate, Blenheim Palace, via a poem recollection, Jennie must try to settle into this aristocratic life including bearing a future generation and political scandal.

3 RECOVERY-Jennie encourages husband Randolph to speak up for Irish needs and make himself noticed. Jennie becomes quite powerful through guiding Randolph.

4 TRIUMPH AND TRAGEDY-Randolph resigns his political position plus the Churchill home front less than solid. Jennie is confused about Randolph but flirts on.

5 A PERFECT DARLING-Lady Randolph is now alone, Winston off in the military, and Jack in school. Winston wants parliament. What should Jennie do now?

6 HIS BORROWED PLUMES-Mr. & Mrs (Jennie) West see the Churchill boys succeed and even wed. Jennie continues to struggle for financial security.

7 A PAST AND A FUTURE-Lady Randolph 'Churchill' name is used again after a life change. WWI is underway & the boys are off to the front to Jennie's dismay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Buccaneer, July 23, 2010
By 
This review is from: Jennie: Lady Randolph Churchill (DVD)
Lee Remick was one of the finest American actresses to emerge in the late 50s and 60s, and this well-known 70s seven-part miniseries based on the life of Jennie Jerome Churchill, the heiress wife of Lord Randolph and the mother to Winston, at first really promises to give her enough elbow room to show her abilities at their best. The first few episodes, where the mercurial Jennie is rapidly courted by the Byronic Lord Randolph and then has to cope with his strange family at Blenheim Palace, are terrific, and show you what a superb actress Remick really could be, especially when paired with an actor as fine as Ronald Pickup (later so memorable in the 80s miniseries FORTUNES OF WAR). The other actors that surround Remick are superlative, particularly Warren Clarke who seems to nail Jennie's eldest son Winston both physically and vocally; it's the screenplay by Julian Mitchell that really lets her down.

Jennie Jerome was the original for Lizzie Elmsworth in Edith Wharton's unfinished THE BUCCANEERS; her beauty and wealth made her acceptable to marry into one of England's most famous ducal families, the Spenser-Churchills, and her intelligence and wit made her a terrific political hostess, the champion of both her husband's and son's distinguished political careers. But Mitchell's screenplay doesn't really shape her life adequately to make it consistently interesting. The early episodes, showcasing her volatile first marriage to Lord Randolph, are the best; yet even here Mitchell often does not adequately explain why she so wholeheartedly supports her husband when he makes dreadful mistakes (such as blackmailing the Prince of Wales about his extramarital affairs through his wife. Then things take a further downturn after Lord Randolph dies of syphilis and Jennie marries a handsome vapid boytoy (Christopher Cazenove) the same age as her eldest son: when the latter and his brother constantly complain to one another about what a drip their new stepfather is, you can't help but echo their feelings. Things pick up when Jennie marries an even younger--and much smarter--third husband in the last episode, but by this point Remick is so weighed down by aging makeup and prosthetics that her performance seems muffled, and her character seems to have turned into a caricature of a fun-loving forever-young Auntie Mame. These later episodes so slow things down that you're not left with the kind of memory of Remick's abilites that she deserves. She misses entering into the pantheon of the really great performances from the golden age of the British miniseries (e.g. Derek Jacobi as Claudius, Glenda Jackson as Elizabeth I, Annette Crosbie as Queen Victoria, Susan Hampshire as Lady Glencora Palliser). This production remains of interest if only because the then-current Duke of Marlborough gave Thames television use of Blenheim Palace for the scenes set there, which is a vast improvement over the pokier sets used in THE PALLISERS, which also detailed the political/high society doings of late 19th-century Britain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 361 spellbinding minutes, November 12, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jennie: Lady Randolph Churchill (DVD)
Acorn Media has provided the DVD with english subtitles which are helpful not only to people who have hearing impediments but to foreigners (specially when politician explain very quickly intricate schemes, with names of men we know nothing about). The story is very interesting from an historical point of view. It begins with Napoleon III being dismissed and ends some times after the Second World War is over. Politics are not seen from Sirius, but through magnifying glasses: dayly and often cynical calculations, fights against political ennemies or so-called friends. Randolph's every days life is a sort of thrilling gambling. For instance, he resigns his charge, thinking the government will become aware it can't do without him; in case it doesn't Randolph will found a new Tory group, modern, kenner on social issues, and overcome the old Tory party. We see how times are changing: at the beginning of the story, upper classes are extremely conservative, préjudiced with birth, wealth, morals, etc and at the end, one of Jennie's niece, an artist, goes to Russia on her own to see what communism is like.Lady Churchill is a fascinating woman! Clever, brave, ambitious, free, quite different from the other women of her time. With such "political beasts" as his father and mother were, we understand why Winston Churchill (remarkably played by Warren Clark) was so outstanding a stateman. Love stories don't lack in the movie; I found particularly moving the love affair between Jennie and the long-suffering Count Kinsky (embodied by the wonderful Jeremy Brett; if you like him, look at "posthumous Bafta for Jeremy Brett" on facebook).Though many tragic events occur (Randolph illness and demise, wars...), the dialogues, always brilliant, are often amusing: clever, cynical, sparkling with wit. People of the high society are depicted in a satirical way. Everything is beautiful: houses, costumes, music, actors: Lee Remick, Jeremy Brett...I find 361 minutes were hardly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I thoroughly enjoyed this., July 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I had just read a biography of Lady Randolph Churchill and was so peased to be able to download this miniseries. It was beautifully done with lots of scenes filmed in the historic places she lived and gorgeous period costumes. Because it's a period piece, the fact that it's forty years old didn't matter at all. I loved it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jennie was something else., December 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jennie: Lady Randolph Churchill (DVD)
I wasn't prepared for the type of life she led but thinking about it , I don't think she was either.Very fascinating about Winston Churchill's history as a child and young adult. I had read that because Winston was constantly getting expelled from school , finally she said to him "ok Winston you'll have to come along with me and he did. He was educated in diplomatic circles and learned a lot from his Mom as she was very popular in those circles. I understood why his Dad hated him so too, and was mean toward him. I won't say why here . The dvds worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real period comedy/drama, June 1, 2012
My wife is very fond of series like "Pride and Prejudice", "Sense and Sensibility" etc, but I find them exasperating because of their unreality.

This one, however, has period costumes, scenes, drama, comedy, character, and documentary all tied up into a superb program.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Mini-series, August 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jennie: Lady Randolph Churchill (DVD)
I have always loved Lee Remick as well as Barbara Parkins (whose career was much too short). I knew of the book JENNIE and that she was the American mother of Winston Churchhill, but never got around to reading it. So when I saw this mini-series, I ordered it right away.

The DVD was in excellent condition and came to me in quick time. I enjoyed this British play very much and keeping it in my movie collection. I would recommend it to anyone who loves historical drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Woman With Courage and Determination, February 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jennie: Lady Randolph Churchill (DVD)
The story begins, as Jenny a socialite, living in France with her mother and sisters. Her father was a stock broker in New York City, who commuted to France to be with his family in between deals.

I enjoyed her spirited veiw on life and foresight to help her husband, with his political ambition by campaigning for him.

It shows her life as a widower, her courage with her charity work, and marriage to two younger men.

She was a woman before her time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Jennie: Lady Randolph Churchill
Jennie: Lady Randolph Churchill by Lee Remick (DVD - 2010)
$49.99 $28.01
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.