Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great insight, but this is an interview, not comedy
A wonderful look into the wit of Jerry Seinfeld. If you have an interest in standup, this CD is a special treat as he talks about how he prepared for his first Tonight Show appearance, what classes he might recommend for those interested in comedy, and running from club to club in New York constantly honing his set...for 18 months, completely unaware of what he was really...
Published on January 11, 2002 by Shawn Kresal

versus
19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Annoying Interviewer
The interviewer is very annoying. At times he interrupted Jerry's answers, finished Jerry's sentences and blabbed on about his own ideas.
Published on August 15, 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great insight, but this is an interview, not comedy, January 11, 2002
By 
Shawn Kresal (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jerry Seinfeld on Comedy (Audio CD)
A wonderful look into the wit of Jerry Seinfeld. If you have an interest in standup, this CD is a special treat as he talks about how he prepared for his first Tonight Show appearance, what classes he might recommend for those interested in comedy, and running from club to club in New York constantly honing his set...for 18 months, completely unaware of what he was really getting himself ready for. If you're looking for material more like the Seinfeld TV show (which this is definitely not), check out Seinfeld's "I'm Telling You For the Last Time" CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very memorable!, September 4, 2001
By 
Pete Holmes (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jerry Seinfeld on Comedy (Audio CD)
This CD is a must have for the aspiring stand-up or the Seinfeld (the man, not the show necessarily) fan. The interviewer is fair, but Seinfeld's answers and insights are what make this CD worth listening to again and again. Not a disappointment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Annoying Interviewer, August 15, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Jerry Seinfeld on Comedy (Audio CD)
The interviewer is very annoying. At times he interrupted Jerry's answers, finished Jerry's sentences and blabbed on about his own ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 51 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Jerry Seinfeld On Comedy, April 29, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Jerry Seinfeld on Comedy (Audio CD)
Please be aware! This is not a stand up routine of Jerry Seinfeld. This is a copy of an interview done with him. Simply a question and answer interview. If that is what you want, than get it. If you are looking to laugh a lot, don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for everybody, August 30, 2005
By 
Mark Louis (Fort Worth, Tx) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jerry Seinfeld on Comedy (Audio CD)
This album is really meant for comedians or possible comedy writers. It's not meant to be funny, but rather offer insight into Seinfeld's work. Particularly interesting is his discourse on preparing for The Tonight Show and on comedy timing.

A must for anybody involved in the comedy business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sienfield Album, March 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jerry Seinfeld on Comedy (Audio CD)
Not his best but very good to fill long drives down the highways. It is an acceptable album and is clean
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seinfeld Great at Explaining His Craft, February 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you like understanding how great artists and performers approach their craft, you will enjoy this thoughtful interview on technical aspects of comedy like timing and setup to Jerry's own philosophy on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of my time and money!!!, November 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jerry Seinfeld on Comedy (Audio CD)
Horrible!!! Waste of money!!! How can I get my money back???
I ordered three comedy CD's. This was the worst by far. It's a shame that this great comedian's name was affixed to this junk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good material is hard to find as it is, October 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jerry Seinfeld on Comedy (Audio CD)
I bought this CD along with other comedian's CDs on the topic of comedy, as I write and perform comedy with the hopes of making a living at it someday. I've been a writer in other genres such as science fiction, historical macabre fantasy, contemporary drama and game designs, so I enjoy learning the nuances of the craft of comedy writing.

I can tell you there is a reason comedy is king. It's hard to write funny. What I like about Jerry Seinfeld, past all the acclaim he has had for his hit series "Seinfeld", is he knows the importance of writing to the presentation and ultimately audience response.

In this CD, he speaks about the topics of stand up, writing, audience and character qualities of comedians he advocates. It is part of a series of CD from Laugh.com, and I have many other greats in my collection. He talks about the importance of working clean, and some of the top comedy consultants echo the importance of this. He talks about how the schedule and working life of a comedian is.

If you aspire to write comedy, learn stagecraft, presentation and timing insights, become more aware how a working comic lives the life, then this is a great CD for you. I was so inspired by Jerry Seinfeld, I wrote a film treatment based on his acting the lead, though I am small potatoes, and would have to be pretty savvy to just get to him to pitch it. Even though it is outstanding, hehe!

I hope you find this review helpful, for Jerry Seinfeld is a real professional, and there is a lot to learn in this CD if you listen closely. I have listened several times, but then, I need to..

Reviewerly yours,
Art Hermansen
The Lone Comic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, February 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jerry Seinfeld on Comedy (Audio CD)
As a new comic, I found this CD extremely helpful. Seinfeld communicated so much about the craft in short segments. He gave me some tools to polish my act. However, this cd is not meant to be funny. It is an interview with a comic genius about his craft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Jerry Seinfeld on Comedy
Jerry Seinfeld on Comedy by Jerry Seinfeld (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.