Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Caution
Facts:
This book IS NOT for the weak or the weary!
This book IS for those of you who feel like solving a lot puzzles.
(Finding a way to make these recipes today is quite difficult)
This book IS NOT an interesting read.
This book IS incredibly interesting.
This book IS NOT for those of you just starting out... PERIOD!

If you simply...
Published on September 23, 2011 by Alexander

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bad scan. but good drinks
I'd give 3 1/3 stars if I could -- pretty much all deduction coming from the fact that the scanning/printing of this edition is rather poor quality. The text and images look fuzzy and print in a gray tone, and some pages (example 108 and 109) have shadows from the scanning process printed in. Still, the text is legible -- and presumably anyone's reasons for buying this...
Published on September 21, 2011 by Talia


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bad scan. but good drinks, September 21, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jerry Thomas Bartenders Guide 1887 Reprint (Paperback)
I'd give 3 1/3 stars if I could -- pretty much all deduction coming from the fact that the scanning/printing of this edition is rather poor quality. The text and images look fuzzy and print in a gray tone, and some pages (example 108 and 109) have shadows from the scanning process printed in. Still, the text is legible -- and presumably anyone's reasons for buying this book are out of interest in the recipes.

Myself, I'm a fan of old-fashioned cocktails, using simple hard liquors fancied up with spices, sugars and bitters. Brandy Toddy, for example, is brandy, sugar and hot water with nutmeg. Interestingly, all the Mint Julep recipes in this book seem to be brandy-based, rather than using bourbon like nowadays. Anyway, I am happy to have easy access to these old recipe. My father is working as a bartender and got a kick out of the advice the book offers for men of that profession -- always remember to wash your ice before you cut it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "Reprint" Means Xerox Copy, March 16, 2012
By 
DMM (Houston, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jerry Thomas Bartenders Guide 1887 Reprint (Paperback)
I was disappointed to see that "reprint" literally meant a bad xerox copy of the original book with a poortly scanned cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the "book" I thought it would be., October 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jerry Thomas Bartenders Guide 1887 Reprint (Paperback)
Would not have purchased this if I had known it was a poorly put together set of terrible photocopies, scanned into book format. The cover is thin, laminated card stock. There is no type on the spine at all, to help pick it out on a shelf. Very disappointing. I feel like content as cool as this deserves better treatment in terms of paper stock, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Caution, September 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jerry Thomas Bartenders Guide 1887 Reprint (Paperback)
Facts:
This book IS NOT for the weak or the weary!
This book IS for those of you who feel like solving a lot puzzles.
(Finding a way to make these recipes today is quite difficult)
This book IS NOT an interesting read.
This book IS incredibly interesting.
This book IS NOT for those of you just starting out... PERIOD!

If you simply keep hearing Jerry Thomas, Jerry Thomas and want to learn more... READ:
Imbibe!: From Absinthe Cocktail to Whiskey Smash, a Salute in Stories and Drinks to ''Professor'' Jerry Thomas, Pioneer of the American Bar.
David Wondrich does all the work for you and he does it incredibly, incredibly well.
*I do recommend keeping a dictionary handy and learning Latin.

Either way, it's nice to have it on your shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Good book but bad shipping., May 13, 2014
By 
Myrna Perez (Pasadena, CA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jerry Thomas Bartenders Guide 1887 Reprint (Paperback)
I ordered this book for my husband and he was upset because it was just thrown in the box with the other items i had purchased. The book was therefore bent. He takes really good care of his books and thought they should have at least bubble wrapped it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jerry knows best!, December 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great drinks from yesteryear. Not the typical, cheesy cocktail. A little stronger and better tasting when you try them at home. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great history of cocktails, July 3, 2013
By 
Thomas Ufer (Tampa Bay, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jerry Thomas Bartenders Guide 1887 Reprint (Paperback)
I've wanted a copy of this book for a long time. I'm looking forward to re-creating all of these cocktails.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Informative !!!, April 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jerry Thomas Bartenders Guide 1887 Reprint (Paperback)
If you are interested in the history of drinkology, you will love this reprint. It offers the reader the historical insight to alcoholic beverages of it's time. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Strange recipes, October 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book has recipes that make multiple gallons. I thought it was for cocktails. Seems very strange to have recipes this size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars School for bartenders, December 20, 2008
This review is from: Jerry Thomas Bartenders Guide 1887 Reprint (Paperback)
Awesome litterature...For all made or wannabe bartenders. Tremendous ideas for the era written, very good cocktails and bartender tips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Jerry Thomas Bartenders Guide 1887 Reprint
Jerry Thomas Bartenders Guide 1887 Reprint by Jerry Thomas (Paperback - July 11, 2008)
$9.94 $8.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.