Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He saved the best point of view for last
This book was incredible. I am getting it for gifts for family. I find it amazing that he wrote this in the time period he did. It's very prophetic, it seems to be in line with a more modern understanding of Jesus that readers of The Course in Miracles and Marianne Williamson are a large part of vocalizing. But even fundamentalists would enjoy this book, if they...
Published on July 21, 1999 by Richard Swartz(vls3@erols.com)

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars inspirational
The product is as advertised-an older book in good condition. It was recommended to me by a priest friend. I'm finding it more inspirational than I had expected.
Published 16 months ago by Melinda Burke


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He saved the best point of view for last, July 21, 1999
This book was incredible. I am getting it for gifts for family. I find it amazing that he wrote this in the time period he did. It's very prophetic, it seems to be in line with a more modern understanding of Jesus that readers of The Course in Miracles and Marianne Williamson are a large part of vocalizing. But even fundamentalists would enjoy this book, if they were not so threatened by opposing opinions which this book is, being how it is written from the opinion of @80 different points of view, many of which do proclaim him the Son of God. Ultimately, any view can be thoughtfully stimulating because the people of any opinion have personalities and background given that support why they view Jesus with their perspective. The overall impression I received from this beautiful prose is the beauty and message of Jesus, the devotion, admiration, gratitude and love inspired by him, and the grace which he exuded with confident compassion. And whether he was God, man, a combination of both that we all are potentially, or a combination we can only idolize with an envious self-debasing distorted form of humility, this book shows him to be nothing less than relevant to our comprehension.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jesus, the Son of Man, A poetic masterpiece, July 28, 2008
While Kahlil Gibran's The Prophet is most beautiful and true, his treatise
on Jesus is poetic and is written as though he interviewed each one of the people who knew and loved the man, as well as though who feared and hated him. The words he quotes are as new and expressive as though they had been said yesterday. Gibran loved Jesus and understood what loves and hates and angers Jesus had to deal with in his short thirty years of miraculous living
on this earth. This is a book to keep and treasure and to renew an appreciation of this Son of Man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gibran's description of the life of Jesus., March 16, 1999
By 
Through his book, Gibran suceeds in providing a truly unique and totally believable perspective of Jesus "the man", through the eyes and emotions of those who knew, loved and betrayed him during his ministry on earth. Like the broadway play "Jesus Christ Superstar", this perspective is at times divergent from the more traditional Biblical personna of Jesus. But therein lies the charm and intrigue of this book.
The story consists of a series of short chapters, each offering a vision of this man-God by individuals who would have observed him conducting various aspects of his public and private life. Each story is a gem in and of itself that leaves the reader pondering their own relationship with "The Son of Man" and the impact his short life on earth must have had for those who lived within the region of Jesus's ministry.
This is a book that should be on the shelf of every introspective seeker of truth and inner peace, regardless of one's particular religion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An insightful look at Jesus' life from many viewpoints., January 24, 1999
By A Customer
Gibran has masterfully rendered, through vignettes, the impact Christ had on the many people he touched during his life on earth. This book captures Jesus' charisma for attracting followers, as well as the fear his "new" ideas instilled in those not receptive to his message of love. Although this is a work of fiction, the book seemed very authentic in tone and content. I felt as if I was in Jerusalem and Galilee 2,000 years ago! Very highly recommended to anyone wanting to know more about the life and times of the Christ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 360 Degrees of Jesus, June 16, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jesus the Son of Man (Hardcover)
Gibran's reputation as a poet and profound thinker is confirmed in this book.

He employs history, Biblical text and his imagination to conjure 'interviews' with folks who may have been intimate with Jesus or affected by His presence from a distance.

His insight is exceptionally believable and he takes you on a journey that is both mystical and practical with the varying points of view. The positives are for believers primarily, and one will be filled with a sense of awe and intimacy toward Jesus. Nevertheless the voice of skeptics is heard, though in the minority, but it is given due attention.

The downside may be for those who are not so poetically inclined. Khalil's voice through those who admire Jesus is extremely metaphoric and it may be lost on those who need a more 'down to earth' description of feelings, emotions and attitudes. I felt at times that the discourses were perhaps too symbolic, though one understood the implication of the experience of encountering Jesus as beyond words.

In the end one is left understanding Jesus' impact more but hungering to know Him in a way that is more understandable than the sometimes amorphous descriptions by Gibran's characters. The interviews are fairly short and this makes it a manageable read for the most 'unbookish' of us.

All the same a great read and a classic anyone should have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A soul companion of a book., June 25, 2003
This book warms your soul, as you read about aspects of Jesus' life heretofore unknown as seen through the visionary and prophet, Khalil Gibran. Khalil Gibran takes us through a miraculous collection of stories of the life of Jesus as seen through the eyes of the various people who knew him, including his enemies. It's a noble perspective of an ancient time, and helps to put Jesus into our hearts and minds. It can be read in a day, but never forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, May 1, 2010
Gibran is mystical, poetic with a truly wonderous way of expressing. How can anyone know Jesus and yet Gibran surely did? I see Gibran as a mystic who had the ability to tap into Universe and bring us and bring us thoughts that would otherwiase not be available to us. whether you believe in Jesus or not it is a beautiful book that has much to offer that is profound and deep.
Dr Gunta Krumins-Caldwell author of On Silver Wings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Read for Christians, July 11, 2006
Khalil Gibran's writing style is mind-blowing. He has such a way with language. Reading this book gave me goosebumps - you can really feel another perspective on the bible stories you already know. This book is filled with such passion and soul, it's an awesome read. Forget all this light mindless fluff, this book is a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful rendition of the life of Jesus by Kahlil Gibran, September 26, 2011
By 
Maria Jose Maranon (Irvine, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Kahlil gives us little vignettes of the life of Jesus through the words of those who knew him. There are his followers and his detractors, all of whom the Master touched in an indelible way. The poetry of Kahlil Gibran flows in its simple splendor and moving beauty. A book to keep at hand to read over and again; its words keep resonating inside of me long after read. The edition is beautifully crafted, filled with drawings of Gibran himself. Excellent read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric!, June 11, 2008
This review is from: Jesus the Son of Man (Hardcover)
it is so wonderful to read a book by a man who is not a christian in the literal sense of the word and yet so much a true christian in the spirit of things. this book was absolutely beautiful. i am very very sparing with my stars, but i have given this book four because it is absolutley beautiful... loved it so much i even gave my dad a copy. he enjoyed it too.

i guess that its in reading books such as this that ones belief in humanity is really boosted. a wonderful book. i do love Jesus and Gibran, clearly does too, though not a "Christian". this man does great honour to the name of Christ in writing this book.

i guess that in the Christian walk, a time comes where one begins to think and feel the importance of humanity... the importance of being one of the people, not just one of the material church... the value of love and openess to all men and women, whether 'good' or 'bad'. what has become a closed book, begins again to open up too all people, and ones faith moves downwards from the head and into the heart. (not always easy). its so easy to let life and culture, or experience to harden oneself towards others, especially people like 'publicans', 'prostitutes' and sinners and yet we are reminded in this book that jesus was a dear friend and lover of such people regardless of the spiritual pain they must have caused him.

this book portrays jesus as a true human, his humanity is what makes him so beautiful and the people he meets. sorrows, joys, pains, love, attraction, attachments, anger, deep caring... all the things that make us thoroughly human are found in Gibrans portrayal of jesus.

i have spoken with two or three people about the hardness of the western heart. people come from countries where emotionality is profoundly important and often find a lack of this in the west, but religious paths can also root out the delicate flowers of emotionality and caring too.
this book is full of emotion and atmosphere. it is my own prayer that i will share intense emotion with those that i love. sorrow with the sad, joy with the happy. bring back emotions!

i love this book!

Jesus the son of man, Gibran the friend/lover of Jesus.

love, flakey. xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.