Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it PME Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$19.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 16, 2004
***1/2 "Jet Lag" is a French romantic comedy that takes place almost entirely in an airport terminal and an airport hotel. Juliette Binoche and Jean Reno are two strangers who meet at the Paris airport and end up sharing a room when all flights are cancelled due to an air traffic controllers strike (think of how this affair would have been thwarted had Reagan been France's president at the time!). Rose and Felix are both riddled with insecurities and anxieties, having been largely unlucky in the ways of love. Yet, after some predictable initial tension between them, they somehow manage to find a mutual strength - and attraction - in their combined weaknesses.
"Jet Lag" is so simple and unassuming in its early stages that we are amazed to discover, about a third of the way through, just how completely it has managed to sneak up on us and win us over. Unlike most American romantic comedies, "Jet Lag" allows its characters to actually talk and get to know one another. It sure doesn't hurt, of course, that Binoche and Reno are such talented, attractive performers who establish an astonishing rapport in their scenes together. Sure, the plotting isn't exactly believable, but when is that ever the case in a film of this type anyway? The thing that matters is that we like the people we have become involved with and that we can accept, if only for just a moment, the possibility that they might be able to find happiness together. That is certainly the case in this film. (If there is a criticism to be leveled against the film, it is that it is simply too short, clocking in at barely over 80 minutes. How many films can one say THAT about?).
"Jet Lag" could have been a completely insubstantial little film; instead, it resonates with a joyfulness and charm that truly captivate the viewer. This is a winner well worth checking out.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
JET LAG is a rare treat. It is a smart, saucy film that takes two well known actors and gives then a chance to play different types and the result is very successful.
Juliette Binouche steps into the tacky clothes and glitzy makeup of a superficial loquacious beautician who needs her makeup, perfumes, and wacky clothes to complete her 'self', an unlucky-at-love waif on her way to Acapulco from the Charles DeGaulle airport. She encounters a neurotic, fastidious (except for his groungy hair and beard) chef play by the usually dark 'hitman' Jean Reno and because of strikes in the Paris airlines and trains preventing scheduled flights, she agrees to share a room wiht him for the night until their separate flights are available. Well, of course, the 'odd couple' find subtle but strong needs in the opposite persons and the way their rather bizarre cohabitation results in their mutual and individual awakenings is the source of the plot and the delight for the viewer. Both Binouche and Reno create indelible characters and their transformations are wise and wonderful.. A definite 'feel good' movie - and we certainly need films like this as warm entertainment. Kudos to director Danielle Thompson for uncovering other layers in these two fine actors' gifts.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 13, 2008
One of my perennial romantic comedy favorites, this French film is delightful. The sets, as well as the characters, are very colorful and the actors who play them (Jean Reno and Juliette Binoche) are marvelous. This movie is always a lovely rewatch. The only lamenting thing about rewatching it is realizing how pitifully and dully Hollywood makes romantic comedies.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2013
I love the movie, but hate the voice over kills the originality. I would prefer the original voice with subtitle.
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2007
Two people with nothing in common stuck at an airport? I know it might sound kinda boring, but this film has much more going on under the surface, much like our 2 main characters.

Don't be fooled by the "oh we're having so much fun" (which I am assuming is an American-ized) dvd cover, and if you've seen the American/English preview, it is just as misleading.

Juliette Binoche and Jean Reno serve wonderful performances as two people who are struggling with their very livestyles and personal problems. Initially they are not impressed with the other person but as this story grows, so does their realization that a book cannot be judged by its cover.

It is exciting watching them challenge one another, and each character takes what they have learned in order to find the courage to take giant steps in improving their lives.

I would not call this a comedy, nor a drama. Its a "dramedy", more like. Funny at points, dramatic, sad, romantic, and real. If you dislike the rubbish that Hollywood churns out, please check out this film. C'est magnifique!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2015
(Spoilers) OK...so it's one of my favorite films! In the same vein as 'A Man and a Woman' no one knew this would also become a magical film! Although it may be difficult for some to identify with, this is a film for mature audiences. I've spent enough time in Paris airports and on Air France flights to feel the ambiance all over again (You can smell the chaos!). As happens time and again, producers/writers/directors don't know what they've got until it goes into circulation. You have to have traveled extensively internationally and understand the man-woman interaction to really understand this film. It is well understood that men and women really do meet by accident and rarely is anything planned. Juliette Binoche is a fox...there's no other way to describe her and Jean Reno puts in a rare performance. The screenplay utilizing airports to give us a background ambiance of total chaos discovers two lost people who's personal problems are unsolvable...to them. The male-female interactions bring out their worst...in frustration in their total disgust with the other person's lame lifestyles and how they are dealing with their lives. It takes a while, but eventually they discover that they are just people...people in trouble who need help from each other and the human condition begins to melt into perception and care. As in all airports and travel eventually they are forced to part, creating the ultimate loss that they will never see each other again and realizing too late that they just lost their soul mate! Is their situation unsolvable? You'll just have to see the film to find out. It gives us all hope that perhaps love between the genders may not be dead after all!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2007
"Décalage horaire" (2002) aka Jet Lag was the third film written/directed by Daniele Thompson that I've seen. It may not be as marvelous as La Bûche (1999), her directorial debut or charming and delightful as Fauteuils d'orchestre (2006), her latest film but it is definitely worth seeing for the wonderful acting by two fine French actors, Juliette Binoche and Jean Reno who both played against their types. Binoche does not appear often in the comedies and Reno is not well known as a romantic lead but they were pleasure to watch in the light romantic dramedy that takes place in the famous Paris Charles de Gaulle airport one long rainy night when all flights were grounded by weather and a baggage strike. Two strangers meet by chance, when Rose (Binoche) who had accidentally flushed her cell phone in a toilet, asks a perfect stranger, Felix (Reno), to use his phone. They are both professionally successful. He is a chef who made a fortune in the frozen-food business, and she has won a golden brush, the equivalent of Pulitzer Prize for the make-up artists. Their personal lives are the mess. Each has the problems, disappointments, unsatisfying or unfinished relationships by the time of their first encounter. She flees from her abusive boyfriend of 12 years (Sergio Lopes is memorably scary in a tiny cameo). He still can't recover from his previous relationship and suffers from anxiety attacks. Perhaps, 81 minutes is not enough to convince us that these two flawed and insecure individuals will overcome their past and live happily ever after but Binoche and Reno masterfully and elegantly created on the screen the possibility of love and readiness to accept it.

3.5/5
33 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2013
One of my favorite films. We saw it in a non mainstream movie theatre when it came out and it's just as fresh today as it was then. A splendid relationship between father and son is a side story that shines. And, it's in France so the setting is great. Don't let subtitles bother you. Jean Reno can do romantic comedy and this film proves it. May God bless the beauty we get to enjoy of France from this film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2014
The only reason I give it 3 stars is because this rental was dubbed and not English subtitles. I LOVE LISTENING TO THESE TWO SPEAK FRENCH. I was so disappointed that I didn't even watch it. I believe that it was Jean Reno speaking his English parts but it didn't even sound like Juliette Binoche. :(

The movie itself is one of my top ten movies and I'd give it 5 Stars - so if you prefer dubbed over subtitles - RENT THIS! You'll really enjoy it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2004
A fast paced almost American-like movie in French. Jean Reno who I'm not familiar with and Juliette Binoche (she looks great without makeup), play travelers who meet at an airport when Binoche's character, Rose, somehow loses her cell phone in a toilet. Reno is Felix, a chef with his own frozen food company and a cell phone he's kind enought to let Rose continually borrow. Both their flights become delayed and what follows isn't surprising. They eventually spend enough time together that they develop a romantic relationship.
What keeps this movie alive are Reno & Binoche, two professionals at their craft who kept this viewer involved every step of the way. I've read the mixed reviews from so called mainstream critics, and now that I've seen this funny, yes (I chuckled a lot), I can say those critics are wrong. I grade Jet Lag, a B (I would've preferred a happy ending kiss). Jet Lag is a pleasant romantic comedy.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$13.57

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.