Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Profusely illustrated, step-by-step instructions for more than seventy-five original projects
Once reserved for experienced and seasoned professionals, the making of colorful and creative jewelry is now accessible for everyone thanks to "Jewelry & Beading Designs For Dummies" by Heather H. Dismore and Tammy Powley. Aspiring jewelry makers are provided with profusely illustrated, step-by-step instructions for more than seventy-five original projects and taught how...
Published on October 9, 2008 by Midwest Book Review

versus
18 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh how I wish I could rate this book higher
I got this book from the library, and am almost disapointed I wasted a queue spot for it! There are no projects in this book I am interested in. Nearly everything in the book is tired, uninspired, and easily made by the average 10-year-old. I would have outgrown the designs by age 12.

There is only a small section of color pictures, four double-sided pages...
Published on February 9, 2009 by Beading by the Lake


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Profusely illustrated, step-by-step instructions for more than seventy-five original projects, October 9, 2008
This review is from: Jewelry and Beading Designs For Dummies (Paperback)
Once reserved for experienced and seasoned professionals, the making of colorful and creative jewelry is now accessible for everyone thanks to "Jewelry & Beading Designs For Dummies" by Heather H. Dismore and Tammy Powley. Aspiring jewelry makers are provided with profusely illustrated, step-by-step instructions for more than seventy-five original projects and taught how to work with silver, leather, glass beads and crystals. There are design projects for making rings, bracelets, phone covers, wine charms and so many more crafts projects that will enable the aspiring craftsmen to stretch their skills through acquiring proficiency in new techniques including working with polymer clay and nontraditional materials. "Jewelry & Beading Designs For Dummies" is an ideal addition to personal and community library reference collections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have Title for Bead and Jewelry Designers, July 13, 2009
This review is from: Jewelry and Beading Designs For Dummies (Paperback)
Ms. Powley and Ms. Dismore have created a thorough and thoroughly delightful tome on the basics of jewelry making that is a must have for any novice. They cover absolutely everything you need to know to get started and to ensure continued success. This book is designed for the beginner and the projects are totally appropriate for someone ready to dip their toes into the jewelry and beading pool, but there is plenty of information for the more advanced beaded jewelry maker as well.

The illustrations are clear and the directions meticulous and concise. My only wish is that there were more color pictures because the designs are so lovely, but there's a several page glossy color gallery of designs that helps immensely. It begins with the basics and progresses to intermediate and even advanced techniques. You get a taste of mixed media, bead weaving, poly clay, wire work and even learn how to make your own findings. They give good, solid information and show you how to do things properly which will ensure good results. That's the key component to a good how to book.

As a professional designer and a jewelry book author, I have a discerning eye and a high level of expectation. I wholeheartedly recommend this book for every bead lover's library. Ms. Dismore and Ms. Powley are both competent and respected experts and together they've created an indispensable guide to the many facets of jewelry making and beading.

Margot Potter
Author and Freelance Designer
The Impatient Beader Series
Bead and Wire Jewelry Exposed
Beyond the Bead
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh how I wish I could rate this book higher, February 9, 2009
By 
Beading by the Lake (South Salt Lake, UT USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jewelry and Beading Designs For Dummies (Paperback)
I got this book from the library, and am almost disapointed I wasted a queue spot for it! There are no projects in this book I am interested in. Nearly everything in the book is tired, uninspired, and easily made by the average 10-year-old. I would have outgrown the designs by age 12.

There is only a small section of color pictures, four double-sided pages of poorly photographed projects. There are only 25 color photos, and the few photos on the covor show the same projects seen in this color section.

The necklace on the cover of the book is very much the kind of thing you can expect to learn to make from this book.

Though the book is nearly 300 pages long, it is filled by such things as half a page used to illustrate and describe how to make an overhand knot, and another half page on how to make a square knot. Every step is seemingly over-explained. There is a lot of filler in the book, and it could have easily been edited down to a much smaller book, for all the information it contains. But then it wouldn't fit the For Dummies format.

There are many other much better beginning bead books out there, and they all look better, have more photographs, and more intelligent instructions than this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jewelry and Beading Designs For Dummies (Paperback)
Used when I first started to bead. Helpful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Purchase, March 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jewelry and Beading Designs For Dummies (Paperback)
This is a great book. Especially useful for making jewelry and how to utilize your beads and the tools you need to make the jewelry. Great overall experience with this purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recomend this to any one starting out, December 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jewelry and Beading Designs For Dummies (Paperback)
If you are thinking of starting to make jewellery then get this book. I have made several of the items, the instructions are easy to follow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just as it says..., October 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jewelry and Beading Designs For Dummies (Paperback)
Love it, even for a dummie like me, explained well enough for me to understand.
You will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "for dummies is great", June 5, 2013
By 
Lori March (Gurnee, IL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jewelry and Beading Designs For Dummies (Paperback)
i love the "for dummies" books. sometimes they do give you info that is not completely accurate, but they DO respond to inquiries & make suggestions about finding expert advice on topics related to, but not part of the topic. on the topic being discussed, they do give you lots of info & pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I was very happy with the description, handeling of, and speed this sale received., May 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am quite pleased with this book. I am just starting to make jewelry and liked the basic information I haven't found anywhere else.I liked the feature of "look Inside" allowing me to get an idea of the book. I need basic knowledge to shop for supplies and how to use them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars jewelry making for dummies, September 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jewelry and Beading Designs For Dummies (Paperback)
Arrived in almost new condition. Easy to follow basics. Wish there were more projects shown with seed beads and an estimate of how long it should take to complete each. A reference of where you could buy in bulk wholesale would be nice. Also a dictionary and picture of bead types and sizes would be helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Jewelry and Beading Designs For Dummies
Jewelry and Beading Designs For Dummies by Heather Heath Dismore (Paperback - August 25, 2008)
$19.99 $15.16
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.