Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Jewels from Imperial St Petersburg
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Jake Owen Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 25, 2013
This is an extraordinary book -- there have been a number of books on Russian jewels (Faberge, etc.) in past years, but this one, in my opinion, surpasses the rest -- for one thing, it chronologically examines jewelry by the various Tsarist reigns, which helps immensely. For another, the photography is superb -- in fact, it is one of the few books on jewels which shows extreme closeups of how some of the pieces are made and fit together. Very fine book.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2013
I have bought several of the Imperial jewelry books over the years and have loved each one. But this book stands out for the scope of not just the Imperial family's jewelry but also for the items given to family, friends and associates. The stories are wonderful but the paintings in the book are spectacular. Many are new to me and I would love to see a book from this author on the pictures of the Imperial court. They are that wonderful. I am thrilled with this purchase.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2013
Lots of details about how jewelry was make, why it was made and for whom it was made -- a little bit of where is is now. All intermingled with historic details about the rules, their families and their court.
I'm particularly glad it's not the same old re-hash of the same old Faberge items and imperial jewelry from the museums.
But knowing Ulla, I knew it wouldn't be!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2013
The book is a revelation for me as I didn't know the ties of Finland with Russia. So many new examples of the magnificent Russian jewelry, and we are not talking Faberge exclusively. A must for jewelry lovers.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2013
I highly recommend this book. The discussion of the history of the various jewelers and the purchasers of the bijoux are fascinating. The photographs, both archival and modern, are very clear and the jewels themselves are breathtaking.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2014
You can't go wrong with this beautiful book - - if you are interested in Imperial St. Petersburg and its long gone splendor, its jewels, its history. Even just glancing through it brings pleasure to your mind.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2014
this book give you a very great insight into the jewelry that the royal Russian family had and good explination about there history
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2014
great book, many previously unseen photos and pieces outside the romonov collection
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2015
Interesting book, with great pictures, especially for lovers of jewelry (many will eat their hearts out).

Helps make clear, however, why there was a Russian revolution.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2014
LOVED IT...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.