Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5-Star photos, 5-star words of wisdom
Award-winning photographer Michael Cunningham collaborated with New York Times bestselling novelist Connie Brisco to bring us a beautiful photo essay book about women over 50.

Jewels profiles 50 women who are African-American. Cunningham's photos, as in his fabulous Crowns: Portraits of Black Women in Church Hats, captures their strength and spirit, their...
Published on March 26, 2007 by Armchair Interviews

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Be careful what your buying!!
My mother thought the book was a great read. What was not great is that I purchased a book that was supposed to be in "like new" condition. The book was a library discard from a St.Louis library. Is it even legal to sell those and make a profit off of them? Real nice seller....kudos.
Published on February 6, 2012 by Curlzgalore


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5-Star photos, 5-star words of wisdom, March 26, 2007
By 
Award-winning photographer Michael Cunningham collaborated with New York Times bestselling novelist Connie Brisco to bring us a beautiful photo essay book about women over 50.

Jewels profiles 50 women who are African-American. Cunningham's photos, as in his fabulous Crowns: Portraits of Black Women in Church Hats, captures their strength and spirit, their energy and enthusiasm, and their pride and confidence.

Connie Briscoe adds her crisp prose from interviewing the women to show why each one is a "jewel."

Some names I recognized--people in the public eye like actors, poets, public leaders such as actress Ruby Dee, S. Epatha Merkerson (the detective on Law and Order), Hattie Winston (the snappy nurse on TV's Becker) and of course, Marian Wright Edelman, founder and president of Children's Defense Fund. Some others are company presidents and leaders in business, education and the community.

Most of the women gave a lot of credit for their upbringing for making them who they are. They received love and stability--and were made to believe they could shoot for the stars. These women seized opportunity, while others created it.

Many overcame humble beginnings, early death of parent, divorce, and disability. The key for many seemed to be the unwavering expectation that they do well--regardless.

"My life is proof that you never know what you have inside you until it's called upon. I know I didn't." -- Patricia Banks, age 71.

Just imagine the changes someone like Billie Allen, 81, actor and director, has experienced as a black person--and as a black woman in her years.

One of the 50 is Faith Childs, 55, a literary agent who deemed that much of what is written does not represent her African-American experience--and plays more on the negative stereotypes. She represents authors, not just black writers--and looks for more good writers to tell good and accurate stories.

This is a wonderful book for black families to encourage their children and understand what others have done who have gone before. This is a stunning book for its photographs complemented by heartfelt stories. This is an important read for all women over 50. It's a book you can learn from -- I did.

Armchair Interview says: Winners of hard-won battles, these 50 women tell stories of achievement on all levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic book, April 29, 2007
this Book truly showcases Black women in full detail. this Book captures Black Women over and 50 and Beyond with there words,Wisdom and uplift. Connie Briscoe does a fantastic job at interviewing. all 50 women. Michael Cunningham does a Great Job here as well. you hear stories of overcoming so many obstacles and maintaining a level of still striving for more. you learn that a strong upbringing and Love along with family made these Women strive for more than what was said or expected. Ruby Dee looks fantastic and is timeless as are the other African-American Women Profiled in this Book. very enlightening and detailed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Diverse Book, January 17, 2008
It was so wonderful to see so many strong African American women who are in so many fields. I gave it as a gift to a family member for Christmas and it was passed around so much, everyone wants a copy! Kudos to the photographer for capturing the personalities of these remarkable women.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A jewel for book collection...., May 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I absolutely love this book! It's so inspiring not only for women, but anyone. It spotlights strong black women from diverse walks
of life, that are still fierce over 50. Highly recommend...a great read!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Black Women, June 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jewels: 50 Phenomenal Black Women Over 50 (Hardcover)
These women came from such varied backgrounds, and, still made their mark in history! This book sits on my coffee table, so, I can pick it up and just open to any page and be inspired at any time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jewels.............., November 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jewels: 50 Phenomenal Black Women Over 50 (Hardcover)
Highly enjoyed the book. Am familiar with most of the women, and their accomplishments, that was included in the book. However, loved seeing pictures of them and re-reading about them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely gift, March 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My special friend just turned 50, so I surprised her with this book. She was thrilled and gushed joy and excitement over getting such a remarkable gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Work!, June 21, 2014
Some of these phenomenal black women I had never heard their names before, but it was an honor and a pleasure to read of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jewels: 50 Phenomenal Women Over 50, June 22, 2009
I received this book in a very timely manner and it was in excellent condition. The book itself is a treasure trove of beautiful pictures and well written text of accomplished African American women aged 50 years and older. I gave this book as a birthday present to a woman turning 50 and it was a welcome gift. I own this book, it was given to me as a Mother's Day present. You can't go wrong with this item, it's perfect for women of all ages and all ethnic backgrounds!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jewels: Indeed they are!, May 9, 2008
What's not to love about 50 beautiful black women over the age of 50? I was sold on the cover alone. Ruby Dee is one the most beautiful women of all time and she does not get the recognition that she so richly deserves.
The book is my coffee table, do I need to say anything else?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Jewels: 50 Phenomenal Black Women Over 50
Jewels: 50 Phenomenal Black Women Over 50 by Connie Briscoe (Hardcover - April 11, 2007)
$29.99 $26.26
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.