Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intertestamental Judaism & History.
This is an excellent book on the subject of judaism in the period between the OT and the NT.
Dr. Julius Scott covers a lot of ground regarding religious beliefs and how they changed over time.
There were different branches of judaism with similarities as well as differences.The author also details some contrasts between Samaritans,Pharisees,and Sadducees...
Published on May 11, 2007 by J.L. Populist

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jewish Backgrounds of the New Testament, Kindle version
I purchased this required book as part of my Master's degree program, and as my first attempt to use my iPad as an eBook reader. Although I think the concept will have its place under certain circumstances, it's not working for this application. The content of the book is very good. It reads well and is very informative. The real problem comes in when your Professor tells...
Published on January 25, 2013 by donsdecodement


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intertestamental Judaism & History., May 11, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jewish Backgrounds of the New Testament (Paperback)
This is an excellent book on the subject of judaism in the period between the OT and the NT.
Dr. Julius Scott covers a lot of ground regarding religious beliefs and how they changed over time.
There were different branches of judaism with similarities as well as differences.The author also details some contrasts between Samaritans,Pharisees,and Sadducees.

There is some helpful information on the Septuagint,it's source,and difference of translation between the hebrew OT and the greek OT.

Dr.Scott looks at Josephus and Philo and the value of their writings in the study of intertestamental judaism,with some understandable scepticism of Josephus.

He also details the priesthood and rivalry between families-Zadokites and Tobiads.The pollution of the priesthood is also discussed.

He covers the start of rabbinical judaism and the circumstances that led to the percieved need for oral law/tradition as a hedge around Torah.
There was some interesting information about Simon bar Kosiba(Kochba).

There is an "Intertestamental Calendar and Festivals Table" that is an excellent resource about the Biblical feasts.This period also saw the addition and alteration of some OT feasts.

The use of the sacred name is discussed.
"The Talmud and other rabbinical sources indicate that by the time of Simon the Just(c.200BC)the divine name was no longer pronounced,except by the high priest on Yom Kippur".
He also had an interesting perspective on the sabbatical and Jubilee years.
"The sabbatical year,occuring every seventh year and the Jubilee,every fiftieth year,prevented the accumulation of too much wealth and oppression of the poor".

There is a very good list of general sources,frequent footnotes and quotes.
I found a few minor points that I think are debatable in the book.That doesn't lessen the value of the author's work.
While not as comprehensive as Edersheim's "The Life and Times of Jesus the Messiah", this book is a good choice for anyone interested in the diverse beliefs and Messianic expectations of the period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent intratestamental Information, July 17, 2007
This review is from: Jewish Backgrounds of the New Testament (Paperback)
Jewish Backgrounds is an excellent reference to introduce one to the History, culture, customs, polity, and theology that took place between the testaments. I am a Grad student and will definitely keep this book for my library. It is ideal for anyone interested in the nation of Israel and their influence and contribution to Christianity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Introduction...Good Place to Start, December 28, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jewish Backgrounds of the New Testament (Paperback)
I had to read this for a Intro to the New Testament class and I have to say that I really enjoyed this book. I contained a lot of information about the history just before the Birth of Christ and actually made me want to study the time period even more. It is organized well and is an easy read which is important because some of these books can be dry and difficult to follow. This book does a great job avoiding both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jewish Backgrounds of the New Testament, February 9, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jewish Backgrounds of the New Testament (Paperback)
Great information and well organized. Concise and easy to read due to large print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must for the Person Building a Serious Academic Library, August 16, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jewish Backgrounds of the New Testament (Paperback)
I purchased this book for a seminary class on the NT. It is very well organized and full of exciting and enlightening information. I have found it very practical in my preaching and teaching ministry. I have also recommended this book for lay-Chrisians who are serious Bible students and have given it as gifts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Between the Old and New Testament times, January 31, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jewish Backgrounds of the New Testament (Paperback)
Great book! easy to read! Reveals many historical facts that is brought to life.
Great for anyone who wants to learn more about the Jews of the Bible. Goes in great detail as to how the Jews was so eager to protect laws; they started making their own laws which made void the word of God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Detailed Work on the background of the New Testament, July 25, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jewish Backgrounds of the New Testament (Paperback)
Jewish Backgrounds of the New Testament is not light reading, but for the reader seeking a good understanding of the historical period from Alexander the Great to the time of the Herodian kings, this is an excellent overview.

As required reading for a course, I found it to be a bit dense, but good quality of research and interesting enough to not put me to sleep. If you want to understand the historical thinking and have a basic overview of the history of Jewish thinking, this is a good resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great resource, January 7, 2008
This review is from: Jewish Backgrounds of the New Testament (Paperback)
I purchased this book for a Seminary class. This book is a great resource for students of the Bible. The Scriptures have come more alive now that I better understand the politics and history of the time. It also strengthened my knowledge of the Old Testiment in general. I also knew very little about the intertestimental period until reading this. I highly recommend getting this resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read on NT background, August 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Authors give lots of helpful background and insights on the NT . It opens MY eyes at many places. Tasting it's pages is like tasting something original. You know it's not fake, and you feel satisfied after read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Background Information, December 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jewish Backgrounds of the New Testament (Paperback)
I used this book in a New Testament college class.
It gives the reader a thorough background on the Intertestamental Period,
which aids in understanding the Jewish background of the New Testament.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Jewish Backgrounds of the New Testament
Jewish Backgrounds of the New Testament by J. Julius Scott (Paperback - August 1, 2000)
$32.99 $24.12
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.