Customer Reviews


366 Reviews
5 star:
 (224)
4 star:
 (77)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


82 of 85 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Needs a homework companion!
Many of Jim Cramer's recommendations are nothing new -- diversify; know companies before you buy; keep up with your holdings; know when to get out. What's new is in his temperament. His take on evaluating risk, when to make a quick trade or a longer-term investments, what constitutes diversity. How to know when a company is over or undervalued. The "before buying" and...
Published on April 6, 2006 by Renee

versus
190 of 197 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great starting point, but not the endgame
I loved the book! I hated the book! And I have recommended it to many and continue to do so, but with caveats and frustrations.

First, if you haven't watched Cramer's `Mad Money' program at least once on CNBC, you need to do so. One show will give you more insight into Cramer's emotional make up and give you more of what to expect from his writings than any...
Published on September 5, 2005 by Michael A. Shoemaker


‹ Previous | 130 31 3237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical Advice for an Insane World, July 6, 2007
I was interested in this book because I wanted to learn from Cramer's experience. He'll be the first to tell you that he has made a lot of money in the market, but has also lost a lot of money in the market, and has tried to learn from it in the process. Given that I do not have much money to invest in equities, I was mostly interested in gleaming insights into what moves the market and learn what investing tips I could from Cramer. I have a busy life and am unable to keep up the research and time commitment required to make a living day trading. But I thought, hey, the more money I can make the better, right? And what I found in this book was entertaining and presented well. The advice is practical and the stories memorable. I am far from ready to quit my job, but I do feel that I understand the market better now, and for that, the book was well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stock selection, February 16, 2007
By 
Jim is an expert on selecting stocks that appreciate in value. But one should consider the data available to support this technique.Piscaqua Research in a study covering the period 1987-96 found that only 10 out of 145 major pension funds, or just seven percent, out performed a portfolio consisting of a simple 60%/40% mix of the S&P 500 index and the Lehman Bond index respectively.

Or is it logical I ask for you to believe that you can predict which actively managed funds will out perform, or are you overconfident of your skills? If you are trying to find the great fund managers who will out perform in the future ask yourself: what am I going to do differently in terms of identifying the future winning fund managers, than did the pension plans and their advisors? And if you are not going to something different what logic is there in playing a game at which others with superior resources have consistently failed?

If you a really serious in finding an investment technique that will provide you with reasonable return with less risk I suggest the following little book. This is a little book that I have written and contains the essential of how to invest. Just click on the title to find the book. How to Make Money in the Stock Market-Buy 2,500 Different Stocks-Pay no Commission
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars After you've read investing for dummies..., March 2, 2006
By 
A lot of times you finish some intro book and then still have that feeling there is more. There is more but you don't want some uber math filled book on trading. This book fills the gap and it is great. Cramer assumes you have base knowledge and then coaches you up on P = M x E. He interjects stories that are relevant, both winers and losers. He freely admits mistakes and tries to get across the point that you are going to make errors and that is okay. Just as long as you don't make blundering errors. It is a lively read that will keep you interested.

He does excellent justice to cyclical and sector investing. I mean I had a vague understanding before but he really drives it home in one chapter. For this reason alone it is almost worth the price of admission. He even includes a snazzy chart.

His 25 rules are quite handy. He explains rules for shorting, how to use options, and diversification. He covers how to build a portfolio and drives home the point about doing research.

Also, he is more of trader in this book than an investor. He discusses artifical tops and bottoms. How to correctly judge stocks. When to cut losses and what not. (If you get the subtley of that first sentence then the book is for you.)

Long story short, it is an excellent read for someone who already has a toe in the water. Newbies might want to read some more introductory stuff first.

Sean
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Cramer infomercial without the applause track., January 10, 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I read this book twice in as many days to see if I wasn't missing something? A rambling style and a confusing thesis, the only thing I got out of the book was that you better stay out of the market if you aren't an insider like Cramer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Readable, Plus Concrete Methodology, November 25, 2005
By 
C. A. Jones (Memhis, TN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Even though he's a Harvard grad with nearly three decades experience in the world of Wall Street, this book is written in very understandable language. Plus, unlike other books where they say "Start with a solid plan" and then don't elaborate on that theme, Cramer says "Start with a solid plan . . . " and gives some very concrete things to do to get started and maintain discipline. Not specific stocks to buy -- that's a moving target always, but more toward how to judge a stock both on its own merits and in the context of the larger market, and how to stay diversified, and how to speculate with discipline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cramer Book Review, February 23, 2006
This book is a great read (easy read). Cramer gets to the bottom leaving the run around out. Everyone who buys stocks start at the same place but those who don't do there homework lose. If your thinking about investing even $50.00 the best rate of return will come first and foremost with this book !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Capitalist Pig On Ritalin., August 7, 2006
By 
BigCityChicken (Citizen Of The World) - See all my reviews
Ritalin-Jim does his best to objectify his investing style and tells some interesting stories here and there with an overall difficult-to-read writing style, all while trying to maintain appeal to wannabee-rich suburbanites and frat-boys. Basically, Mr. Cramer performs better than he writes. If one were to condense the actual investing strategies and concrete advice provided within, this book would be about 15 pages in length.

It is interesting to note that Mr. Cramer goes out of his way to bash other Wall Street pundits for their "advice-only-to-line-my-pockets" logic while he himself exudes the same logic. Cramer's book is full of plugs for his other investing services (ActionAlertsPlus etc.) which lure you in with a short free trial period, then automatically charge your credit card afterward.

What you have here is a true-blue Yankee hustler. BOOOOYAAAAAAAAHHHH. Wanna bet who's making the most money off all this? One guess, not you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Real Money renews interest in stocks, March 3, 2006
I went into this book with some trepidation and cynism and came out feeling really relieved that it was not one of those with a lot of academic hype and tripe. Cramer has done a really good job of providing the basic tools in giving anyone a chance to be succesful in building a portfolio
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWSOME MUST READ - TWICE, October 5, 2006
This is the book that should be given to high school freshmen before they start earning and wasting money. This is an easy book to read and understand even if you don't like reading; I was at the end before I knew it and hearing Cramer's voice in my head the entire time. I read the first 100 pages on the first day! This book has given me the courage to invest with a realistic sense that I can be at least moderately successful and less worried about losing my shirt. THANK YOU CRAMER!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'm not completely convinced by the trading ideas, May 2, 2007
I decided to read this book after watching Jim Cramer on his show "Mad Money," which is entertaining, almost like watching a "yell and sell" infomercial for get-rich schemes or miracle mops.

Cramer comes off as one of these squirrelly investment advisers who has an answer for everything, especially if it's an opportunity to brag about his stock-picking genius. The pitfall is that if you follow some of his advice, such as "doubling down" on a stock that has gotten beaten down in the market (so much that even the company's CEO can't explain it), then you could end up the proud owner of shares in the next WorldCom collapse.

This book is oftentimes rambling in its basic explanations of stock valuation, but its message of "buy and homework" is important--basically, an investor needs to stay active in the market and keep abreast of breaking news to profit. Cramer recommends spending an hour a week of homework for each stock a person owns. That seems like a lot of work, especially when a person could devote the extra time to advancing in a profession or to starting a business, which is how most people become millionaires (according to the book "The Millionaire Next Door," anyway).

I'm not completely convinced with Cramer's method of investing in cyclical stocks, which involves trading in and out of different sectors during different stages of the Fed's rate easing and tightening cycles. If it's so easy to beat the market this way, why doesn't every hedge fund do it? The returns from such a method should dwindle (if they haven't already) as more people figure out how to time the market this way. Additionally, I've found it difficult to get clear opinions about what the Fed is going to do with rates, because such opinions are as varied as bearish and bullish chatter about the market's direction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 130 31 3237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Jim Cramer's Real Money: Sane Investing in an Insane World
Jim Cramer's Real Money: Sane Investing in an Insane World by Jim Cramer (Paperback - January 6, 2009)
$16.99 $12.32
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.