Facility Spring Cleaning Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Gifts for Mom to look and feel great Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars15
5 star
87%
4 star
13%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$17.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 8, 2000
A very informative book. It covers his childhood until his death. Mostly it covers his major league career of 20 years but covers his childhood in Maryland with lots of good details too. However, after his playing years (20+ years) is covered rarely quickly in about 20 pages. It was well written, but sometimes had too much game by game details and stats. Is this book worth the 40.00 price tag? No, and I'm a huge Foxx fan. Cut the price in half or wait for the softback edition to come out, and save yourself 25.00 bucks. A few pictures in the book that are average-nothing spectacular.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2012
A detailed and thorough account of the great Jimmy Foxx. Because of the detail, it is a slow read, but still very interesting. Lot of historical data generic to the story. A "purist" baseball fan would enjoy it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2010
Finally Mark Millikin's biography, "Jimmie Foxx: The pride of Sudlersville," brings Mr. Foxx the recognition he richly deserves as one of baseball's all-time greatest home run sluggers and one of baseball's best first basemen. This book makes the case that Foxx and Lou Gehrig who played against each other in the 1920's and 1930s were very similar in overall batting and playing ability. This fact is lost in most baseball books, especially the ones written about Gehrig. Some players who played against both Foxx and Gehrig told Millikin that they rated the two star sluggers about even, while others gave a slight nod to Foxx over Gehrig or Gehrig over Foxx.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I am sincerely grateful to Mark Millikin for writing this excellent book. As a baseball historian, I have long believed that Jimmie Foxx is the most underrated of all the players who can truly be regarded as superstars. By reading Millikin's well-researched and well-written treatise, modern fans will be able to remedy this oversight. Foxx was not only a vastly talented athlete, he was also an immensely likable human being. I enthusiastically recommend this book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2001
This book has detail about Foxx that has never appeared anywhere before except possibly contemporary newspapers. Foxx's minor league career, largely ignored by previous biographers, is treated extensively. A compelling treatment of the life of a Hall of Famer who hasn't received as much publicity as many players of lesser talent.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2014
I enjoyed reading this book. Love my kindle.Hope to find more books regarding baseball.
My favorite sport. Would purchases from you again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2013
Bought as a gift for my brother-in-law. His father played baseball with and grew up in the same town as Jimmie Foxx. Very satified with book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 1998
Mr. Millikin has done his homework on Mr. Foxx. This book is well researched and by far the most accurate book ever written on Mr. Foxx. Mr. Millikin goes to the extreme to inform the reader, not only on Foxx's baseball career, but on his entire life. Once you finish the book, you feel like you actually knew Mr. Foxx and appreciate his success on the diamond that much more. Thank you, Mr. Millikin for your hard work...your book is one I am proud to have on my bookself!!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2013
I bought this for my father who enjoyed it tremendously, I do not understand why it is so expensive though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2014
A well written story about a Maryland baseball legend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.